1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen Owners Zen Garden

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by the54thvoid, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,663 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,869
    Location:
    Houston
    I want to say it was all settings being set in the BIOS and not actually setting, plus the normal dumb issues I was having (semi-similar to Asus's board). Mind you I really didn't play with it more than an hour that board wasn't for me was a custom build that was already paid for and I quite honestly didn't want to kill it :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,188 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,342
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    OK, yeah, I did check that since it is a commonly reported issue, but is not present for me. Might be BIOS-version-related.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Loving this!!

    It's real people giving the answers we want!!
     
    RealNeil says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Aenra

    Aenra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    540 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Man, i would really appreciate that :D
    I'm not being lazy, i'd just prefer to avoid buying a mounting platform only to learn it's a no go either way.

    As to the 'you'd think it'd work fine', not so sure. Depends on the mobo's chip, doesn't it? Speaking of which, which AsRock are you currently using? Would like to go have a look at its specs, see if it states 2.0 x4 or 3.0 x4 support for NVMes.
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,188 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,342
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Aenra says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Aenra

    Aenra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    540 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Wait.. read this, your mobo, under Specification -> Storage:
    - 1 x M.2 Socket (M2_2), supports M Key type 2230/2242/2260/2280 M.2 PCI Express module up to Gen2 x4 (20 Gb/s)*

    This is exactly what the one i'm looking at states too (Gigabyte K7 or something, their current top tier).
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,188 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,342
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Yes, it has two slots; one is PCIe 3.0, the other is PCIe 2.0.

    o_O

    That's why I provided the link. You can also see that it supports Using a PCIe adapter card in all the x16 3.0 slots as boot device.

     
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Aenra

    Aenra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    540 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Oh, am i being dumb? :)
    I thought gen2 x4 means PCIe 2.0 x4? Way i read it is that it has one slot, running at said speed..

    (don't be shy to tell me i am, lol)
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,188 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,342
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta

    Yeah, you might want to read a bit more from the specification page. :p Or look at the picture of the board on the page I linked... you are reading the specs of the bottom M.2 port, which IS slower for sure, but the upper slot is a full speed PCIe 3.0 x4 slot.
     
    Dethroy, thebluebumblebee and Aenra say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Aenra

    Aenra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    540 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Aaah, yeah, it's different on AsRocks, i see it now. They differentiate between the Ultra (which they don't even list under /Storage) and the slower one, hence my confusion.

    ..why would they post them under separate categories.. hard drives are storage..

    But anyway, thanks. Now i can narrow it down at least, either the new AsRock, or the new top tier Gigabyte. Mounting notwithstanding :)
     
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,978 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    That's right. I am curious to see if this gives a AMD build an advantage. AMD stated anything developed in 2017 and beyond has Infinity Fabric.
    Runs at the speed of DDR4 Ram. AMD updating the memory multiplier in May I believe, to have Ryzen support faster Ram speeds in excess of 3200. I've heard 3400 to 4000.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    will be a busy week :cool:

    IMG_20170320_122459883.jpg
     
    T-Bob, Super XP, Recca29 and 2 others say thanks.
  13. Aenra

    Aenra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    540 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,763 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    Subbed :

    Going to watch and learn from you early adopters then maybe grab Ryzen in a few months.

    Hopefully in a laptop form factor :)


    Hopefully Ryzen will be as fun to overclock as my fx8150 :)
     
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,663 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,869
    Location:
    Houston
    I will give the board another shot at work. I mean it can't go any worse than any of the other boards I have played with. Here is top hoping I had one off problems.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,804 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,891
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    Normally, AMD does a pretty good job making the generation 2 cards better than the first generation. IIRC, those are just around the corner, so I would think that now would be a less than ideal time to buy a RX480.
     
    psyko12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    618 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    SATX
    I'm planning to upgrade with the launch of the R5 series. I've been looking everywhere for the ASRock AB350m, but it doesn't look like it's been released yet. I wish there were more mATX options aside from Gigabyte and MSi at the moment.
     
    Dethroy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,773 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    MSI boards are looking like the best clockers from random online blurbs
     
  19. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,663 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,869
    Location:
    Houston
    They haven't been the best clockers according to any of the records held right now...
     
    psyko12 and Aenra say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,094 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    I think he meant for current/recent Ryzen builds, that MSI has had a but more overall success (or less issues if your glass is half-full). Although I expect better boards and out-of-box BIOS's next quarter.
     
    psyko12 and phanbuey say thanks.
  21. m0nt3

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    586 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    My Corsair Vengence LPX 3200 arrived in today. with BIOS 1001 I am at least able to get 2666 to boot consistently with out to many issues thus far. No higher however.
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,188 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,342
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Next time, buy G.Skill. :p
     
    Aenra says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,978 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. m0nt3

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    586 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Thats what I had, just the cheaper stuff (rip jaws V), I just couldn't justify the extra $50 to get the trident z (and the heatspreaders are way to tall if I wanted to go with my Phanteks cooler) And the flare x is even more expensive and out of stock. Even the trident z would be a gamble on the alpa UEFI this board seems to be running.
     
    psyko12, Aenra and cadaveca say thanks.
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,188 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,342
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Yeah, for high-end sticks right now, the 14-14-14-34 3200 MHz sticks from G.Skill are about the only ones that seem to work, since they are the right IC, and single-sided. The RGB sticks I just got (review soon) @ 16-16-16-36 3600 MHz also work just fine too. Those straight timings (14-14-14 or 16-16-16) at high speeds seems to be a bit rare (most brands do not offer such timings).

    The unfortunate part about the Corsair sticks is that it seems they have two different versions, one has the right IC, the other does not. That sucks for Ryzen users, since there doesn't seem to be a way to know what ICs are present unless you can see the actual sticks in person and read the code on the stick itself.


    Its situations like this that have me favor G.Skill for high-end sticks, actually.


    But I have to say it now; X99, Intel's first DDR4 entry, had THE EXACT SAME PROBLEMS at launch, with broken memory dividers between 2666 and 3200. That is why although the problem with getting the right memory is a big one, it isn't that unexpected, and as such is relatively minor. Here's to hoping that AMD can get it sorted just like Intel did.
     
    R-T-B, infrared, DeathtoGnomes and 4 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)