• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI with different cards

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
i need some help getting this to work on a 1Gb GTX 460 and a 1Gb GTX 460 ver 2 i was dumb and figured that you could SLI 2 460s i never even knew that there was a ver 2 before i bought the damn thing
you can try, i think they refreshed the core, so it may not work at all!! :eek:

good luck
:toast:
 

Theoddis

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
well im gonna try it didnt work with the newer version on top so im gonna use the version 1 on top if that doesnt work i think im going with ATI cards from now on seriously if its a GTX 460 ver 2 it needs to say so somwhere
 

Theoddis

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
the version one on top works but its too unstable on higher graphics settings i think im just gonna go with the 2 and use the other for physX for now thatks tho thats pretty cool
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
i have a gtx550 ti and a gts250 but the mod does not seem to work any ideas?
here are my cards info
Won't work, this is for similar card, please read the OP and some of the comments. a lot of these simple questions can be answered fairly easily
 

Fihn

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Just stumbled upon this while I was looking to buy another gtx 470 to sli. I read through the whole thread but maybe I read to quickly. With this 'fix' if I went and bought a new 550ti 2gb it has a strong chance to SLI with my 470 1.28gb or should I go with a the 550ti 1gb version? Figured with the 2gb version having the extra .28gb wouldn't hurt since if I went with 1gb version I'd lose the .28gb.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
Just stumbled upon this while I was looking to buy another gtx 470 to sli. I read through the whole thread but maybe I read to quickly. With this 'fix' if I went and bought a new 550ti 2gb it has a strong chance to SLI with my 470 1.28gb or should I go with a the 550ti 1gb version? Figured with the 2gb version having the extra .28gb wouldn't hurt since if I went with 1gb version I'd lose the .28gb.
nahhh get a 470 for simplicity or a 480 if you are daring, it will work fine with that ;)
 

Fihn

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I was having trouble finding a 470 and all the 460s and 480s I found 'new' were more expensive than a 550.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
I was having trouble finding a 470 and all the 460s and 480s I found 'new' were more expensive than a 550.
they are faster than a 550, thats why, you'll be disapointed to be honest unless you get a 470
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
Ok last ?then. What about a 560ti?
You can try it, No garentees! author tried GTX460 and GTX560 and that worked, so your mileage may vary....
If you can GTX470 you won't have ANY issues as you have the official driver ;)
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
What will work with an Asus GTX 670 DirectCU II?

Could I SLI with any of the GTX 500 series cards?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
What will work with an Asus GTX 670 DirectCU II?

Could I SLI with any of the GTX 500 series cards?
nope, the Kepler core in the GTX6XX series is different from the Fermi in the GTX5XX series
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Just got a brilliant idea! Might try 2 gtx285s and one gtx260 in tri sli on a p6t mobo. If it doesn't work, I can always start using my x-fi titanium again!
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
990 (0.43/day)
Likes
473
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Just got a brilliant idea! Might try 2 gtx285s and one gtx260 in tri sli on a p6t mobo. If it doesn't work, I can always start using my x-fi titanium again!
Should work, all of the same core design family.

Though, you might be better off just using the 285s in SLI and the 260 as a dedicated PhysX processor.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
990 (0.43/day)
Likes
473
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
so if its possible for 5xx gpus to do this sli could i put a gtx550ti with a gtx580?
In theory yes!!! although benefits may not be optimal

Just got a brilliant idea! Might try 2 gtx285s and one gtx260 in tri sli on a p6t mobo. If it doesn't work, I can always start using my x-fi titanium again!
Should work, Although i'm not sure the author considered 3 way SLI
 

BURN0UT

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
3 & 4 Way Sli testing soon!

I just bought a ASUS p6t7 WS Supercomputer Board ( 7x PCIE x16 :cool: )

With this i´ll be able to do some 3 and 4-way Sli testing...


i´ll start with 9800gtx+ 9800gt 8800gt 512 and maby 8800gt 256

i sold the 570 so i wont be able to do GTX 580 480 570 ...


BUT: maybe in 1 or 2 month i´ll have acess to 1 680 2 580s and 2 480s :toast:

so, stay tuned for more crazy stuff :)
 

Moparman

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Is it in any way possible to run an evga GTX 460 2win an a normal gtx 460 1gb in tri sli? Or 2 2win cards in quad sli with this hack?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
990 (0.43/day)
Likes
473
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Don't think you can, the 460 was originally only offered for 2-way SLI.
 

Zolok

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Before I say anything else, this is already what I've done:

-I installed successfully and properly (found new hardware wizard, etc)
-Switched cards to try and get SLI to work
-Put in two cards of the same architecture
-Used the 570 by itself and it worked
-Used the 560 by iteslf and it worked

So I put in my EVGA 560Ti with my EVGA 570 HD. BSOD every time, so I switched my cards (560 on top, 570 on the bottom) now it works and SLI enables and I can start games. However, once the 'loading' is complete and I get in-game, I immediately get a black screen. It will do that a few times, until I ctrl+alt+del and whip out the task manager. When I do, I immediately get an info 'balloon' that says "the driver Nvidia 301.42 has stopped working, it was recovered successfully", or something along those lines. So I'm guessing that the driver is locking up and causing me to not be able to play games in SLI..? Both are the same architecture (I think?) so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. My mobo is a gigabyte 990x UD-3 so it's not like SLI isn't supported.....
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
Before I say anything else, this is already what I've done:

-I installed successfully and properly (found new hardware wizard, etc)
-Switched cards to try and get SLI to work
-Put in two cards of the same architecture
-Used the 570 by itself and it worked
-Used the 560 by iteslf and it worked
Try older drivers, this has been out of development a while... look at OP and start of thread for tops

Will this enable 4-Way SLI on a regular x58 board?
probably not. helps you mix cards not an SLI miracle

Does it will works with

nVidia GTX 560 Ti from Zotac
nVidia GTX 560 from Gigabyte
and with
nVidia GTX 460 from Gainward?
Possibly not, 3-way is untested. PM author OR try with 2 cards. READ OP please, the author doesn't state it does that!