• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI with different cards

SeeJ

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Tried to install the mod on the new 310.70 drivers, but when I reboot I get a low resolution display, as if no drivers are installed at all.

Gfx cards are:
1x GeForce 560Ti - GF110
1x MSI Twin Frozer II 560Ti OC - GF114

When I install the mod this is displayed:




Any ideas? The MSI (OC, more powerful) is in slot 2. I tried with it in slot 1 originally and the same happened. I'll try older drivers, but i would really like to get the newest ones working....
Using Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R 2.0 motherboard
 

tweaked

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Quad Core Q9550
Motherboard Nforce
Cooling 8 fans
Memory 8 GB
Video Card(s) 1 560 TI OC and 1 560 DCII OC = SLI
Storage WD Rapter 320 GB 10000 RPM and 500 GB SATA II
Audio Device(s) Built-in
Power Supply 750 watts
@SeeJ,

I have a MSI GTX ENGTX560 TI DCII/2DI/1GD5 and MSI GTX ENGTX560 DCII OC/2DI/1GD5 in SLI. They always worked with all geforce drivers I used including the new 310.70 drivers. The thing is, I always make sure I am running the newest motherboard bios and drivers.

The thing I note about your boards is the chip set is different (GF110 VS GF114). That is strange?? Should'nt they be the same GPU's?? Mine have the same chip sets GF114 even tho one is not a TI.

I must say that with the new drivers my boards perform about 17% better than before. I am surprised because my Dell XPS 630i has the 16x pciE locked at 8x but the gaming is still great.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Please Help me!!

I have 2 GTX 560 TIs, one is 2 gb and the other 1gb, I ran the modded 310.70 driver and it enabled SLI, I was thrilled! However my computer turned to a heap of garbage after that, not only can I run NO games as they all crash before the splash screen but my computer became so glitchy that the GPU driver would crash randomly, even while in idle. I noticed that my second card was running at 100 % all the time even with the cards defaulted to factory clocks and not synced! I finally performed a System Restore just to post on this forum, What can I do?
 

SeeJ

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
@SeeJ,

I have a MSI GTX ENGTX560 TI DCII/2DI/1GD5 and MSI GTX ENGTX560 DCII OC/2DI/1GD5 in SLI. They always worked with all geforce drivers I used including the new 310.70 drivers. The thing is, I always make sure I am running the newest motherboard bios and drivers.

The thing I note about your boards is the chip set is different (GF110 VS GF114). That is strange?? Should'nt they be the same GPU's?? Mine have the same chip sets GF114 even tho one is not a TI.

I must say that with the new drivers my boards perform about 17% better than before. I am surprised because my Dell XPS 630i has the 16x pciE locked at 8x but the gaming is still great.
It is strange, I can only imagine they revised the 560Ti somewhere down the line. Maybe to cut costs?

Surely these 2 cards should work together though? I have used Driver Sweeper and tried again from scratch, but the same thing still happens...

Would anatolymik care to comment? Or someone with better knowledge of this than me?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Thanks...Can't wait to test this out!

Excellent work. Thanks for posting/sharing.

I have a spare 250 GTX and 8800 Ultra to test this with.

One question, are there any plans for a 32-bit driver mod; or is it not even feasible?
 

JRdragon52

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
MSI GTX460 1GB with GTX470 successful!

I bought two MSI 460GTX Hawk Talon Attacks (HTA) for my rig. Unfortunately, one of them was bugged so I sent it for an RMA. MSI was nice enough to return not a 460GTX HTA, but a 470GTX upgrade. Score!..... I mean crap....... can't SLI now.

Until I found this site! Followed the instructions with the latest 310.70 drivers and no issues so far. What an awesome work anatolymik! Thanks! :respect:

Here's the pic showing the successful SLI:



I Ran Unigine Heaven's Benchmark on heavy settings and got almost double FPS, indicating that SLI is doin its job. Spectacular!

Solo MSI GTX470 stats:


MSI GTX470 + MSI GTX460 HTA SLI stats:


Something I noticed that I had to look into was that once you use anatolymik's MOD and reboot, you'll get the Test Mode, Windows 7, Build 7601 watermark on the lower right corner of your screen. I don't know of an easy fix to making that go away for aesthetic reasons. There's a hotfix that Microsoft made to make it go away using the command: bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING OFF, but it messes up the driver.

Thanks again! SUCH A GODLY FIX!!!
 
Last edited:

GirlyMan

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
GTX 580 + GTX 570 + anatolymik = :rockout:
570 is no longer gathering dust thank you, amazing cant imagine why nvidia doesnt do this by default.... oh wait yes i can.
:toast: anatolymik.


[/IMG]
 

gloed

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello, please, is that it works with Windows 8 ?

Does that also work between 670 and 660ti

Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
475
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
No, as stated previously numerous times in this thread, different core architectures will not work together (in this case, Kepler vs. Fermi respectively).

Hello, please, is that it works with Windows 8 ?

Does that also work between 670 and 660ti

Thanks
Should be a yes on both accounts. Others have this working on Windows 8, and others have had success with 670/660Ti.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
But would a GTS 450 and GTX 560 ti work together, as they both use the Fermi architecture?
Also, would there be an actual benefit to doing so :)?

Thanks!
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
But would a GTS 450 and GTX 560 ti work together, as they both use the Fermi architecture?
Also, would there be an actual benefit to doing so :)?

Thanks!
Yes, it should work fine, if you look at the first post, the video of the author shows it working with a GTX560 and a GTX460 ;) And gains seem to be good, looking at least 90% faster than GTS450. But this isn't a guarantee, people have reported it working fine, YMMV :rockout:

Good Luck
 

gloed

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
No, as stated previously numerous times in this thread, different core architectures will not work together (in this case, Kepler vs. Fermi respectively).



Should be a yes on both accounts. Others have this working on Windows 8, and others have had success with 670/660Ti.
I tried.

It does not work

when I enable sli, it crash

I also tried changing the card, same result
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
475
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name CUBE
Processor QX9650 Lapped
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA SE
Cooling WC
Memory G.Skill 4x2 DDR2 PC9600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX560 Ti
Storage 12+
Display(s) 3xSamsung 226BW
Power Supply 1000w
Software XP x64 + WIN7 x64
gtx680 + gtx690 or gtx690 + gtx680 :p

gtx680 + gtx690 (1xkepler + 2xkepler) = no effect :(
I was thinking about doing the same setup. Have you
tried to switch the cards around? Other have fixed
problems by doing that with other cards...

If you get it to work, please tell what card you have
on top.
 

castics

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
GeForce 460 SLI 460 V2

I am trying to SLI 2 460 cards one is a v1 and the other is a v2. I follow the steps and i get the option to use SLI, but whenever i try to start a game it stops working almost instantly saying the graphics driver has stopped working....

Can any one help me out?

My specs are:
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 Sandy Bridge, Motherboard.
2 x Kingston 4GB DDR3 1333MHz.
Intel Core i5 2500K Sandy Bridge.
And i 650W power supply from corsair.
Gainward GeForce GTX 460 GS.
Palit GeForce GTX 460 v2.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
:slap:I actually just read an article on some old net forum about hybrid crossfirex and it was suggesting an advance towards sli/crossfire hybrid (amd and NVidia cards), when I searched AMD rebranded to 'dual graphics' and NVidia started calling it hybrid sli... but using on and off board gpu.... goes to show its all about the software....:slap:
 
Last edited:

jeffj

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q6700 2.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q3
Cooling Stock
Memory 3x2GB OCZ Gold
Video Card(s) 1x EVGA GTX 460 1x EVGA GTS 450
Storage 2x Western Digital 1TB RE3 Black
Display(s) 47" LG 3D LED TV
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2-500w
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
So i have installed this and have been able to enable SLI with my 450GTS and my 460GTX, Only question is, i do not have a "SLI" board its actually a crossfire, I did not install HyperSLI, but yet i am able to turn it on after installing this driver mod. Do i need HyperSLI still, would there be any advantage to installing it?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 9800GTX or 8800GT

will it work in the following settings?

ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 9800GTX
ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 9800GTX+
ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 8800GT
ASUS EN9800GT Ultimate + 8800GTS

Grateful to those who can help.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
So i have installed this and have been able to enable SLI with my 450GTS and my 460GTX, Only question is, i do not have a "SLI" board its actually a crossfire, I did not install HyperSLI, but yet i am able to turn it on after installing this driver mod. Do i need HyperSLI still, would there be any advantage to installing it?

Thanks
prime example of software controlling components! we need some tech writers on our side to save money lol:toast:
 

jeffj

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q6700 2.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q3
Cooling Stock
Memory 3x2GB OCZ Gold
Video Card(s) 1x EVGA GTX 460 1x EVGA GTS 450
Storage 2x Western Digital 1TB RE3 Black
Display(s) 47" LG 3D LED TV
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2-500w
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
prime example of software controlling components! we need some tech writers on our side to save money lol:toast:
I still wouldn't mind the OP's input on this though.
 

jeffj

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q6700 2.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q3
Cooling Stock
Memory 3x2GB OCZ Gold
Video Card(s) 1x EVGA GTX 460 1x EVGA GTS 450
Storage 2x Western Digital 1TB RE3 Black
Display(s) 47" LG 3D LED TV
Power Supply ThermalTake TR2-500w
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Well, I decided to install HyperSLI, all it did was lock my machine on any 3d.

Answered my own question, I don't need it.

With these modded drivers and a P5Q3 Crossfire board i am able to achieve SLI, better yet SLI with a 450 GTS and a 460 GTX.

Just posting my results for others. SLI is working as expected, i can see both cards being used when in 3d, on a app that is SLI profiled.