• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI with different cards

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,613 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,489
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro

Ouije

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Hi, it would be awesome , i'll receive a 660ti soon and already have a gtx 690 ! and 660ti is not supported by 301.42 drivers :(
 

socalx

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I'd like to see the modded beta's for win7. They are pretty nice for me right now. But def would like to see 306 for win8 as I'm having problems with 310s in win8.
 

Sanatar

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I have a 660ti and 560ti, it would be interesting to try SLI between Fermi and Kepler.

So the drivers look forward to.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,613 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,489
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
i guess this is a dead thread
Haven't heard from the guy
Na, sometimes it takes him a few days to respond. I am sure there is still enough interest for him to update things.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
Not dead, he is developing in his free time, you can hardly expect next day results...If i were him, i'd set up a donation page.
 

Tirenz

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
who needs for new modded drivers?
All X7200 owners who are upgrading to GTX 680m... :D
All about that here:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/sag...i-gtx-680m-how-works-impressions-benches.html
At this point Hyper SLI + different SLI Hack + make the driver believe the GTX 680m is a GTX 580m is the only way to get it to work... but very stable...
But the 301.42 is little bit outdated and doesn´t support the GTX 6XX series...
Any help would be appreciate, would like to donate something, too!
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
I would like to see also the new drivers. Just got 660nvidia and I would really like to SLI it with my old 280 oc.

Please if possible make the new drivers.
Thank you very very much
thats not gonna work at all. DX10 to DX11 compatability isn't very good, you'll likely end up with a BSOD everytime you switch to SLI, please read the previous comments as it give quite a good gauge of compatability
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Works great even without an SLI bridge on my GTX 580 and GTX 570. Significant improvement in Unigine bench, gonna post 3dmark results in a sec... OP if you would set up a paypal donation system I'd gladly donate

edit: 3dmark being weird, says benchmark results are corrupted, but heres the Unigine 2.5 results WITHOUT SLI BRIDGE (I pick 2.5 because there are more benchmark results for 2.5 floating around on the net to compare to)

I figure theres gotta be some other people out there who have 2 different cards like me but dont have an SLI bridge so this bench result should be useful to them....



According to the net, average GTX 580 SLI scores range from 2300-2700.. average GTX 570 SLI scores range from 2000-2400. So I am happy with the results I got without an SLI bridge, though I am eager to see the improvement when the SLI bridge I ordered arrives on Tuesday.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,891 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
Works great even without an SLI bridge on my GTX 580 and GTX 570. Significant improvement in Unigine bench, gonna post 3dmark results in a sec... OP if you would set up a paypal donation system I'd gladly donate

edit: 3dmark being weird, says benchmark results are corrupted, but heres the Unigine 2.5 results WITHOUT SLI BRIDGE (I pick 2.5 because there are more benchmark results for 2.5 floating around on the net to compare to)

I figure theres gotta be some other people out there who have 2 different cards like me but dont have an SLI bridge so this bench result should be useful to them....

http://i1219.photobucket.com/albums/dd435/rawrthaas/adsfs.png

According to the net, average GTX 580 SLI scores range from 2300-2700.. average GTX 570 SLI scores range from 2000-2400. So I am happy with the results I got without an SLI bridge, though I am eager to see the improvement when the SLI bridge I ordered arrives on Tuesday.
Dayum, that's a good score mate. I have to try this again in the christmas holidays. I have a 580 and a 570 as well, so I'll see if I can match your scores :D
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
My only qualm thus far is I have to reinstall the official drivers and reapply the patch every time my computer restarts, but hey, I'm not complaining for free awesomeness.

Also, my SLI bridge arrived, and surprisingly, it made nearly no difference in the Unigine 2.5 bench. Considering that the score I got without the bridge is in the range of other gtx 570 sli and 580 sli results, I guess the cards are doing all the communicating they need just through the pci e bus and mobo.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Perth, Western Australia
System Name THOR
Processor Core i7 3820 @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula IV
Cooling Corsair H80 + 5x12cm Case Fans
Memory 16GB G.Skill 2400MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 980 + GTX 570 + GTX 680 SLI
Storage OCZ Vectror 256GB + Vertex IV 256GB + Intel 520 128GB + 1TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) 27" Dell U2711 + 24" Dell U2410 + 24" BenQ FP241W
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II Ultra
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX III
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 1200w
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
I'm intrigued to see how SLI with a GTX 680 and GTX 570 would perform. :)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
476
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
I'm intrigued to see how SLI with a GTX 680 and GTX 570 would perform. :)
Different architectures, won't work (Kepler vs. Fermi). It will blue screen.
 

Nathil

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
What exactly is the difference between hyperSLI and this mod?
If you got 2 of the same gpu`s but no SLI motherboard, why not just use this mod instead of
having a second program.
 

Coldmud

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Well I tried with gtx690 and gtx670 4gb and it doesnt work! I still need to test with an adequate sli bridge, cause I hacked a tri sli board because its all I had atm and it doesnt fit the gtx690 because it only has 1 sli port. So i broke off the 2 pins but in the control panel there is an error about no sli bridge, so I guess i need to test with single bridge aswell.. Anyway the option is there to tri-sli, however when i press it I get a bluescreen. Also, I use nvsurround with triple screens and the option to tri-sli was only there for maximize 3d on 1 screen. not the span displays setting, maybe you can check this out?
 

Yimmeryams

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Ohio, US
System Name Scoots
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3.2GHz (Auto)
Motherboard NB: AMD 890FX + SB: AMD SB850 (Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev. 2.0)
Cooling Air (ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler)
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) @1333 (G.SKILL ECO Series 2GB CL7D-4GBECO)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 460 1GB, x2 SLI (Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1GB + MSI Hawk GeForce GTX 460 1GB)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM WD1501FASS
Display(s) [1680x1050][1920x1080] (Primary: ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 16:9 + Secondary: HP w2207 16:10)
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP
Power Supply COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
Software Win7 x64 (Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601))
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark v2.5 Basic: 1578; DX11, 1920x1080, Fullscreen, High, Tess Normal
What exactly is the difference between hyperSLI and this mod?
If you got 2 of the same gpu`s but no SLI motherboard, why not just use this mod instead of
having a second program.
HyperSLI is for enabling SLI on motherboards that are not officially Nvidia SLI certified, but otherwise have the capability.

SLI with different cards (this thread) is for enabling SLI in situations where there are different graphics cards, and SLI would not normally be possible with the different cards. It works with cards of the same general architecture.

So, HyperSLI would be used if you have a mobo that supports Crossfire, but isn't SLI certified.

SLI with different cards would be used if you have an SLI-certified mobo and want to SLI, say, a GTX 480 and a GTX 560 Ti.

Both would be used if you don't have an SLI-certified mobo and also have different cards.

EDIT: In the situation you described (non-SLI mobo, 2 identical GPUs) the person should use HyperSLI.

EDIT2: I have learned that the situation you described in the quoted post is not the actual situation you have. I don't know if it's due to poor wording or poor interpretation. I will do my best to explain the differences between HyperSLI and "SLI with different cards" as best I can, in light of this new information.

So, according to my knowledge, you have an X7200 laptop. This laptop already has an SLI-certified motherboard, which is why HyperSLI doesn't do anything for you. HyperSLI only emulates SLI certification; it does not do anything to make the "Manage SLI" or "Enable SLI" option appear.

"SLI with different cards" does make that button appear, which is why it helps you in your situation. The problem with SLI not showing up with your newer GPUs is not an issue with SLI certification.

So, revised and simpler explanations:

HyperSLI: emulates SLI certification on motherboards that are not officially SLI-certified.

"SLI with different cards": makes the "Manage SLI" option show up in situations in which it would not normally appear
 
Last edited: