• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System Specs Feature Poll

Do you find the "System Specs" entry in profiles useful?

  • No, it is not useful at all.

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    103

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
26,161 (5.53/day)
Likes
11,651
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#51
Could there be a ready made plug-in for this, maybe? I have no idea, just a suggestion. It would avoid all that coding hard graft if there is.
When I spoke to w1zzard, he expressed it would be custom code.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,608 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,469
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Bedroom Gamer
Processor 2990WX || 6700T
Motherboard Asrock X399M || MSI H170l
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140 || Intel copper cored stocker
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || 2x8GB EVGA 2400
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || AMD Vega FE 16GB
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB|| PM951 128GB+evo 850 500GB+OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || 42" Plasma
Case Caselabs Mercury S5 || GEEEK A50
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Corsair 450w SFX
Mouse Thermaltake Theron || Steam controller
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX || Steam controller
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#52
I think it is fine as it is. I don't see a reason why you would want to list tons of rigs on the system specs anyway a lot less people see that section vs the sigs.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
3,576 (1.26/day)
Likes
4,813
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor 5960X @ 4.20Ghz @ 1.06v - For Crunching!!
Motherboard MSI X99 Titanium Gaming
Cooling Custom loop with old bits and pieces that I need to replace
Memory G Skill TridentX 3466 non RGB..
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage Sandisk 120Gb SSD, 2 x 2Tb Sammy 3.5" drives - Need more drives!!
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA T2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Corsair thingy
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It's not to bad.. More importantly, it works!!
#53
I think it is fine as it is. I don't see a reason why you would want to list tons of rigs on the system specs anyway a lot less people see that section vs the sigs.
I believe there's a limit on characters in the sig bit, so it can take up more than what you have access too if it really matters to someone to add everything in :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
333 (0.72/day)
Likes
224
Location
Argentina
System Name Desktop4
Processor Intel Core i3-4330
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H v2.1
Cooling Standard Intel Cooler
Memory 32 GB DDR3 1600 MHz (11-10-10-29 CR2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB // Toshiba 2 TB HDD // WD 2 TB HDD
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display (6-bit + FRC)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Logitech Wireless Mouse M280 // Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Keyboard 4000
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z: 327.9 ST / 973.8 MT Cinebench R20: 797 cb
#54
It's not bad as it is, but I can see people having two or more computers and thinking that it should be expanded to support that. Though I'm curious about how it would show up, through tabs in the widget (should I call it that?) or just straight jumping to the System Specs page of each user.

While on the surface it sounds like a good idea, in reality not so much.

There are way too many variables, with people using hardware from 15 years ago in many categories all the way to every piece of new hardware. This would require a massive database, someone to maintain it, and would likely slow down page creation on users’ TPU pages.
And that's just considering "reference" hardware. Imagine adding every variant of, say, a GTX 1060. I don't even think the total number of unique variants is below 250, between reference designs and AIB ones. And then there is hardware that you wouldn't know it exists if you don't see a picture of it. It would be nightmarish...
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
239 (1.65/day)
Likes
315
Location
NL
System Name Infinity One
Processor Intel i7-6800K (Overclocked to 4.2Ghz)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-Ultra-Gaming (1.0)
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory Kingston Hyper-X 3000 (4x16GB)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP!
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 512GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB Raid0
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG348Q, DELL U2713HM, 2x DELL U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black TG
Audio Device(s) Sony WH-1000X m2, microlab SOLO7C (Gen1)
Power Supply SuperFlower Gold 800W
Mouse SteelSeries RIVAL 600
Keyboard SteelSeries APEX M750
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Over 9000!
#55
Free text still better, people mod their stuff, or want to specify how much they overclocked them.
A drop-down selector won't work, as said before, way too many options.

This discussion is not about changing how the system specs work, but simply allowing to add 2nd, 3rd (maybe 4th) system there somehow (which should cover 99%+ of the users. I think extremely few have more than 3 running systems (it's usually Gaming machine / Fileserver or Media machine / Laptop), so 3 is quite common.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,608 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,469
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Bedroom Gamer
Processor 2990WX || 6700T
Motherboard Asrock X399M || MSI H170l
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140 || Intel copper cored stocker
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || 2x8GB EVGA 2400
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || AMD Vega FE 16GB
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB|| PM951 128GB+evo 850 500GB+OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || 42" Plasma
Case Caselabs Mercury S5 || GEEEK A50
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Corsair 450w SFX
Mouse Thermaltake Theron || Steam controller
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX || Steam controller
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#56
I believe there's a limit on characters in the sig bit, so it can take up more than what you have access too if it really matters to someone to add everything in :)
Yea mine is at the limit.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,916 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,996
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#58
Couldnt select 2 options so selected other. allowing it to be expanded to a 2nd or 3rd machine would be a nice touch, However I was wondering if we could have a blank custom slots where we could title it however we wanted and input whatever we wanted.

Take like a box thats been designated for Graphics, or Storage ETC ETC and just let the user be able to rename it to whatever he or she wanted to. Like 'Favorite Pizza:' then type in 'Ham & Mushroom' in the empty box. just have 2 blank slots or boxes that people can customise whatever crap info they want to put in there to suit their needs.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,164 (1.87/day)
Likes
2,342
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 1201
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Gigabyte Aurus Rgb 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981 samsung 840, WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
#59
I don't see the correlation. Many people who are just plain users have a PC and a notebook, for example. Or there could a spouse, partner, or child in the household with their own computer. Regardless, unless the OP specifies the computer in question during the opening post, the information (even if only one computer is listed) is of no use to helpers.
I almost always have at least two PC's in use every night mostly i run one cruncher and a server/surfer but i also have another rig which was a miner at one point, a laptablet pc and the ones im fixing atm.

SO you lot with two hands need to get with the program , people multitask these days :)

Sorry Bill i was joinin in and agree'd most with you, should have said though.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,085 (1.10/day)
Likes
3,422
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#60
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,669 (1.14/day)
Likes
932
Location
Long Island
#61
1. I would prefer to **see** just one system in the profile ... for the system which a question is being asked. I don't see the usefullness in knowing that one has other systems that are not part of the thread topic. If Im trying to help sum w/ a proble, I don't want to scroll thru the data and wonder which system they are referring to.

2. If your answering, what's in your drop down is really not relevant to the OPs question 99.5% of the time.

3. What would be useful is including other systems in the persons profile and have the ability to link to that somehow. Like if the drop down said "System 1 Specs" and ended with radio buttons where you'd see "System 2" and "System 3" whereby one could mouse over the 2 and 3 and see those instead.

4. If the programming is an issue, the same could be accomplished by writing ... "I have a similar system as yours, see System 2 on my profile page".

5. Or under ya name, the drop down could have links to each of the 3 systems such as an article where by each subsequent profile's link section drops you down further on the singlle page:

Line 01 - System 1 specs
Line 16 - System 2 specs
Line 31 - System 3 specs

6. With 6 systems here, I'd like to be able to keep all 6 on the profile page so when asking a question, I could plop it into the message tho.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
3,291 (0.64/day)
Likes
776
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ stock
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 GAMING X AM4
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO RGB, 280mm Radiator, Dual 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ SE
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 (OS) + Force MP510 480GB M.2 (Steam/Games)
Display(s) Asus 27" (MG278Q) 144Hz WQHD 1440p + 1 x Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ ASUS Xonar DGX PCI-E GX2.5 Audio Engine Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair TX750W Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor.
#62
The System Specs feature is very great. It's nice to see other peoples setups.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,919 (3.25/day)
Likes
8,042
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro,
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit // Windows 10 Pro 64bit with Kodi
#63
If you're going to change it might as well add the ability to add photos of each system
But i'm good with the way it is
 
Top