• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thanks to Windows 11, Scalpers Buy Out Add-on TPM 2.0 Modules

Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
700 (0.19/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
I know that my motherboard has a TPM Header, but I said to myself, "Why the hell would I need a TPM Module when I have a Ryzen 3900XT" Sure enough, after researching, the Ryzen 3900XT has a built-in TPM, but it is disabled by default in the BIOS on my ASRock B540 Steel Legend. I enabled it and now I meet the requirements. Again, the average PC users is not going to take the time to research or have the "know how" and enabling TPM.
I think you mean "B450" for the chipset. Look in the security section and look for the "fTPM" option and enable it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,451 (1.32/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift S. 2 SONY bravia 1080p, . 3. 17 inch 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.850i 850w 2. seasonic gx 850w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
i think all my riggs support apart from a old lappy i keep for reading cds and dvds. ive just got used to win10 and now ive got to learn 11 suppose its not that diff to 10 but being a aspie im not keen on change unless its hardwear :) .
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
284 (0.10/day)
Location
UK
- If W11 needs TPM, then MS won't be able to force an upgrade on those who don't have it

- If W11 doesn't need TPM, then scalpers have just wasted their money.

^ Either way sounds like a win to me.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
2,317 (1.34/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX3060 12GB (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/d6y4u)
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV272U (DisplayPort) and HP 2311x (DVI/HDMI)
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
Perhaps. Either way, it's unacceptable on every level.
Tell that to the likes of both Google Chrome and Firefox in which they deprecated older processors because of support for SSSE3. People bitched then and they'll bitch now. You can't keep supporting old hardware all the time when you want to start taking advantage of newer processor instruction sets.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,778 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
What does the TPM thing do anyway? I have never ever heard it mentioned as being useful for anything.
Now, this is coming from someone who never used this, read up on it, or gives a single shit about it, but since i've seen it tied into file encryption, bitlocker and so on i assumed it was a bunch of locally stored security keys, so if someone cloned your data/hard drives they'd be unable to decrypt it. Could be extended to prevent stuff like ransomware, maybe?
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,911 (0.60/day)
System Name Primary | Secondary | Poweredge r410|Dell XPS
Processor i7 9700k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 |i5 5500U
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3|8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board|On-Board|
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 50" 4k TV | 27" + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
VR HMD Samsung Odyssey+
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
People get all worked over a win 10 theme. :D
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,686 (0.85/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
It's not a hard requirement that you have the CPUs listed:

View attachment 205414

It'll still let you install, but it'll warn you of the risks (e.g. not actively supported) beforehand. Doesn't seem like much of a problem, the older CPUs (even Ryzen 1000 to an extent) never needed the level of intricate firmware/scheduler/hardware CPPC handshaking that goes on in Ryzen 3000 and 5000 these days.

However, the Secure Boot flag (not Secure Boot being enabled itself) is a hard requirement, so IIRC early pre-Secure Boot UEFI platforms like Sandy Bridge probably won't work without modding the installer. And obviously non-UEFI capable systems, but that's not new.
Just gonna go ahead and quote myself:


BTW M$ edited the page again, and no mention of soft-floors now.
I guess we must give Microsoft some slack as an indie studio instead of a multi-billion dollar company. /s :roll:
1624714022833.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
1,869 (0.46/day)
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Miami
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Formula
Cooling Ek Velocity/ 2x 280mm Radiators/ Alphacool fullcover
Memory F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) XFX 6900 XT Speedster 0
Storage 1TB WD M.2 SSD/ 2TB WD SN750/ 4TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) DELL AW3420DW / HP ZR24w
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 1000W+750W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar/Glorious Model O-
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
BTW M$ edited the page again, and no mention of soft-floors now.
I guess we must give Microsoft some slack as an indie studio instead of a multi-billion dollar company. /s :roll:
View attachment 205517

Jeeze...

Company ignoring the consumer input and delivering exactly what they didn't ask for is pure evil
Company listening to the consumer and trying to compromise is an embarrassment
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,686 (0.85/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,980 (0.68/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Microsoft is going to back track on this (just watch), because the average PC user is not going to know what the hell is "TPM" Tonight, I use the "PC Health Check" only to get the result that I don't meet the requirement because I don't have TPM. I know that my motherboard has a TPM Header, but I said to myself, "Why the hell would I need a TPM Module when I have a Ryzen 3900XT" Sure enough, after researching, the Ryzen 3900XT has a built-in TPM, but it is disabled by default in the BIOS on my ASRock B540 Steel Legend. I enabled it and now I meet the requirements. Again, the average PC users is not going to take the time to research or have the "know how" and enabling TPM. So what is going to happen is someone is going to panic and buy a overprice TPM module (when they don't need it) plug into their motherboard, turn on the PC, and nothing happens (thinking that this a plug and play device), not realizing that the module needs to be enabled in the BIOS.

Ohh... this is not going to go well...
And for now it's looking even worse.
ATM it seems TPM 1.2 itself isn't good enough.
Microsoft does away with 'soft floor', updates minimum Windows 11 specs with TPM 2.0 requirement - MSPoweruser

Of course this may not be the case now since things can change on a dime and MS right now is dancing to try and make the new OS more appealing with all the controversy over it.
However with the latest requirements we've seen published there is no longer any mention of TPM 1.2, only TPM 2.0 so for now, just take it with a grain of salt.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
65 (0.06/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
It's littreraly got a button for local accounts unlike windows 10
"Windows 11 Home edition requires internet connectivity and a Microsoft account to complete device setup on first use.

Switching a device out of Windows 11 Home in S mode also requires internet connectivity.

For all Windows 11 editions, internet access is required to perform updates and to download and take advantage of some features. A Microsoft account is required for some features."

Enterprise likely wont, but if its on home...pro will likely require it.

I just bought a pro 10 workstation license from the MS store. It didnt have a product key in the download section normally where download software is.

I contracted MS and they said they no longer offer product keys with the digital downloads. They forced me to activate it against the MS account I purchased the license from. Im in the process of getting it refunded as im upgrading a computer that isnt mine, but the Microsoft rep was totally unprofessional and said that isnt how windows works and that anyone who knows how to use a computer knows you need an MS account.

While my MCSE, Azure Certs, Action Pack, SPLA and decades as a professional tech since NT3.5/3.11 would say otherwise.

I escalated to internal team. I was trying to buy a retail version as this was a friends not buisness computer...no good deed goes unpunished i guess.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
386 (0.39/day)
System Name Hermes
Processor 9600k
Motherboard MSI Z390I Gaming EDGE AC
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI 3080 Ventus OC
Storage 2x Intel 660p 1TB
Display(s) Acer CG437KP
Case Streacom BC1 mini
Audio Device(s) Topping MX3
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse R.A.T. 6
Keyboard HAVIT KB487L / AKKO 3098 / Logitech G19
VR HMD HTC Vive
Benchmark Scores Shameful
I have to give it to Microsoft: No other company can turn what is essentially a graphical theme into such a crap shoot. All the stupidity and misinformation probably works in their favor - after all, best advertising is free advertising - but at this point it just reeks of incompetence.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
65 (0.06/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
Windows 11 is the precurser to SaaS. Once they have everone on an MS account, office 365, and onedrive they will over a free remote VM workstations to access all your stuff from anywhere. Once you sign that...your machinenwill be a remote terminal, and they will then run DRM and software conpatibility checks agajnst everything you run and do. Youll lose control over your data and be enslaved to a small but ever growing fee. Think icloud...free storage to back up your pictures, gontacts and files...of you hit your limit...$1/mo...oh you need more space....$10/mo...its where all this is headed.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (5.15/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Yeah the thing most companies love is stuff going viral is the term still allowed after covid lol
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,292 (0.22/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) HP ZR24w + LG 24MB35 on Neo-Flex® Dual Monitor Lift Stand
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
Have you seen the number of people on smartphones...

So were comparing smartphones running andriod to Desktop PC's running Linux?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,980 (0.68/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Windows 11 is the precurser to SaaS. Once they have everone on an MS account, office 365, and onedrive they will over a free remote VM workstations to access all your stuff from anywhere. Once you sign that...your machinenwill be a remote terminal, and they will then run DRM and software conpatibility checks agajnst everything you run and do. Youll lose control over your data and be enslaved to a small but ever growing fee. Think icloud...free storage to back up your pictures, gontacts and files...of you hit your limit...$1/mo...oh you need more space....$10/mo...its where all this is headed.
Exactly what I was thinking.

The current thing with scalpers ATM is just a nusicance to MS and us, that's why in time, everything will have it built-in to ensure you've got it whether you want it or not and this is what I'm thinking here.

TPM modules are used in a business, for a home application it doesn't make alot of sense.....
Unless you intend to transform these machines INTO home versions (Workstations) of these business type machines with no local storage of data.

To even access your machine or data you'd need an account to log in just as it is at your workplace.....
And guess what MS has waiting for you for that purpose once you create it?

The machine is forced to go out, ping the master server and retrieve what it needs to operate as it is in a business that has a network with workstations using a login account. MS has always been big about networking ever since it was started, the cloud itself being a step in that direction to slowly but surely move things in that direction.

Since it now seems they are setting up the basic structure of this for ALL users of Winblows, the thing about TPM itself and TPM modules makes perfect sense.

No more local storage of anything - If you name it, won't be local to your machine anymore once all this is in place nor will your control be local either.
That may take another Win version or two to get going for real but I do see it coming.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
17,126 (2.98/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gainward RTX 3060ti Ghost OC
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J590U 4K + BenQ GL2450HT 1080p
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Core GC500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
VR HMD Acer Mixed Reality Headset
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Desktop stable
Windows 11 is the precurser to SaaS. Once they have everone on an MS account, office 365, and onedrive they will over a free remote VM workstations to access all your stuff from anywhere. Once you sign that...your machinenwill be a remote terminal, and they will then run DRM and software conpatibility checks agajnst everything you run and do. Youll lose control over your data and be enslaved to a small but ever growing fee. Think icloud...free storage to back up your pictures, gontacts and files...of you hit your limit...$1/mo...oh you need more space....$10/mo...its where all this is headed.

I don't know. It's just not a sane thing to do as it would exclude a whole lot of people from using their systems, and that would actually be worse for them even if they did manage to make some money on some users. Windows Home being free even if you aren't upgrading is far more likely IMO. It's all about ecosystems and they want as many people in them as possible. Suddenly charging people for being in it is a bit like Google suddenly charging $10/month for just using a Google Android phone. But want to skip the MS account thing or want to use it in a business setting? Gotta pay for Pro.

Also, what you are describing wouldn't be a wholly bad idea. Have a low power AIO on a desk and just rent power and space as needed. I'd be fine with having that option, but that being the only way to have PC's is a long way off.
Exactly what I was thinking.

The current thing with scalpers ATM is just a nusicance to MS and us, that's why in time, everything will have it built-in to ensure you've got it whether you want it or not and this is what I'm thinking here.

TPM modules are used in a business, for a home application it doesn't make alot of sense.....
Unless you intend to transform these machines INTO home versions (Workstations) of these business type machines with no local storage of data.

To even access your machine or data you'd need an account to log in just as it is at your workplace.....
And guess what MS has waiting for you for that purpose once you create it?

The machine is forced to go out, ping the master server and retrieve what it needs to operate as it is in a business that has a network with workstations using a login account. MS has always been big about networking ever since it was started, the cloud itself being a step in that direction to slowly but surely move things in that direction.

Since it now seems they are setting up the basic structure of this for ALL users of Winblows, the thing about TPM itself and TPM modules makes perfect sense.

No more local storage of anything - If you name it, won't be local to your machine anymore once all this is in place nor will your control be local either.
That may take another Win version or two to get going for real but I do see it coming.

So it's literally decades away then. A lot of stuff can happen before then. And again, I'd be fine with having the option described above, but it being the only way to have computers is a really long way away.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3,032 (2.60/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Kind of like the CNC machines at work. You cant just reload its OS if there is a bug, you cant do anything without a code from the office. You cant move some of them more than 6 feet because of geo tagging. And for the CMM you are not allowed to move it at all. You have to get Mitutoyo to come do it at a steep cost.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,980 (0.68/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
I don't know. It's just not a sane thing to do as it would exclude a whole lot of people from using their systems, and that would actually be worse for them even if they did manage to make some money on some users. Windows Home being free even if you aren't upgrading is far more likely IMO. It's all about ecosystems and they want as many people in them as possible. Suddenly charging people for being in it is a bit like Google suddenly charging $10/month for just using a Google Android phone. But want to skip the MS account thing or want to use it in a business setting? Gotta pay for Pro.

Also, what you are describing wouldn't be a wholly bad idea. Have a low power AIO on a desk and just rent power and space as needed. I'd be fine with having that option, but that being the only way to have PC's is a long way off.


So it's literally decades away then. A lot of stuff can happen before then. And again, I'd be fine with having the option described above, but it being the only way to have computers is a really long way away.
I'm not sure if it can really be said as being "Decades off" maybe a decade for sure, perhaps two but no more and (To me) that's really stretching it.

Right now trying to get folks to move on won't be easy.
The scalpers will be slowing things down hogging all the TPM modules for unreal profits.
Of course MS didn't think of or even care about this with the modules, they do know in time all hardware dies or just becomes ususeable and the need to replace will occur and since they ain't having to pay for it.....

All these "Moves" have been done with a goal in mind, developement of new tech just doesn't happen with no objective in mind - You have to know WHAT the tech is supposed to do and it's purpose for being made when you go to create it.

The cloud has been around for a few years now, AI learning stuff going on, self-driving cars now starting to appear for real....
The kinds of advances all this needs are right around the corner, much closer than many realize and what we're seeing with the TPM modules and their purpose is just one small facet of it, all of which adds up to a singular purpose and I can promise you, MS is one that does KNOW what the end-game/purpose is all about.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
65 (0.06/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
I don't know. It's just not a sane thing to do as it would exclude a whole lot of people from using their systems, and that would actually be worse for them even if they did manage to make some money on some users. Windows Home being free even if you aren't upgrading is far more likely IMO. It's all about ecosystems and they want as many people in them as possible. Suddenly charging people for being in it is a bit like Google suddenly charging $10/month for just using a Google Android phone. But want to skip the MS account thing or want to use it in a business setting? Gotta pay for Pro.

Also, what you are describing wouldn't be a wholly bad idea. Have a low power AIO on a desk and just rent power and space as needed. I'd be fine with having that option, but that being the only way to have PC's is a long way off.


So it's literally decades away then. A lot of stuff can happen before then. And again, I'd be fine with having the option described above, but it being the only way to have computers is a really long way away.
Unfortunately its not decades away...office365 was the testbed for this. Ive been running cloud stacks sjnce 2012 and was a satacentr facility manager prior...we are all headed owards headless ends. CloudXR is just another way of moving compute from VR/AR across 5g or AX to do precomoute st the edge and rhe massize processjng at the DC core.

You have a cellphone, internet. Maybe cable TV, spotify or pandora...how many services do you pay for monthly that you didnt pay for 20 years ago? There was a lot of mneybin creating code and then selljng milkions of copies...but then the overhead of constantly updating, pstchjng and improving became cumbersome and new users figured out how to keep their existing systems functional on old versions. This will force people into a required update situstion...ever notice very few ohon3 have enough onboard memepry to last more than 3 or so years worth if OS updates.

Its not decadss away...we are alrwady here. Bte, i charge $0.50/gb of enterprise cloud storage...and people dont delete anythjbg so every month the bill gets higher...and for me addjng a few disks to the san is relatively cheap.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
1,224 (0.59/day)
Windows S Mode should be reserved strictly for Apple users that want to dual boot to PC.
 
Top