• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Conroe865PE thread... for AGP users... stock and mod

Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
EDIT to the last POST: I've just noted that the P6 microcode into the 1.72 bios and the 775i65g r3.0 bios appear to be the same: same length, so I assume that both the cpu microcode files are the same. I ignore how this can be possible considering the different date of the bios. I assume that the microcode consider only the cpu family.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
My new baby is running sweet, but my SSD is sick. I just RMAed a 2 year old drive due to file corruption. The drive is an OCZ Arc 100 240GB. I have no idea when it became faulty. What's more, drive diagnostic tools seem useless at detecting such issues.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
My E5800 cpu vcore keeps moving around under load and at idle, see readings below. Seems excessive, I don't recall any other board behaving this way. Not surprisingly, my overclocking results are underwhelming. Is this common behaviour for this board or have I got a dodgy board ? :)

CPU-Z readings under a p95 SmallFFT load:
1.216v
1.224v
1.232v
1.240v
1.248v
1.256v
1.264v

CPU-Z readings at idle (no load):
1.248v
1.256v
1.264v
1.272v
1.280v
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,342 (1.07/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Not really sure but, for example, my QX6800 won't go north of 3.2Ghz on the Conroe865PE while the same CPU went to >3.5Gzh easily on a 965 board.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
Not really sure but, for example, my QX6800 won't go north of 3.2Ghz on the Conroe865PE while the same CPU went to >3.5Gzh easily on a 965 board.

Yeah I hear what you're saying, Conroe865pe isn't an overclockers' board. That being said, I had the same cpu do 3.8 Ghz in a p5pe-vm (same 865 chipset), best I can do with my Conroe865pe is 3.5Ghz. I assume the unstable Vcore on my Conroe865pe is limiting my overclock. Here's a graph of my vcore under load:

2017-01-19-16h21-Voltage-CPU VCORE.png
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
I decided to test the same E5800 in the other board (p5pe-vm).

Observations:
Like the Conroe865pe, the vcore moves around alot. See graph.
The p5pe-vm's average vcore of 1.315v is much higher than the Conroe865pe's 1.245v
This particular E5800 cpu has a default vid of 1.2875 as reported by the Core Temp program.

Conclusion:
Conroe865pe's bios is setting the vcore significantly lower than the similar p5pe-vm board. Of course, neither board has vcore adjustment.

2017-01-20-14h50-Voltage-CPU VCORE.png
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
"Keyboard / Interface Error" solution ...
I got this POST error after installing a cpu. Both USB and PS/2 mouse keyboard were disabled and not responding.
Removing the battery and clearing the CMOS did nothing, but I might not have powered off long enough for the capacitors to drain fully.
I managed to fix the problem by setting the PS2_USB_PWR1 jumper from 2_3 to 1_2. The error went away and the mouse and keyboard is working again.

More Conroe865pe overclocking adventures ...
I installed a spare pentium e6600 (wolfdale) 3.06 Ghz and overclocked it to 11.5 x 280 = 3.22 Ghz; 285 wasn't stable. Results of performance tests I ran on my board suggest the e5x00 vs e6x00 wolfdales are equal at the same clock speed. I suppose an overclocked e6800 could do 12.5 x 280 = 3.5 Ghz, but I prefer the overclocked e5800 because it has a higher (x16) multiplier.

Summary
e5800 on my Conroe865pe does 16.0 x 220 = 3.52 Ghz;
e5800 on my p5pe-vm does 16.0 x 230 = 3.68 Ghz
e6600 on my Conroe865pe does 11.5 x 280 = 3.22 Ghz
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,342 (1.07/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
I recall Captain Harlock was able to take his to FSB300 with a Q6700. Golden board. I think my maximun was 280-ish as well
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
Unfortunately, I just noticed a bulging cap next to the two voltage regulators under the agp slot. The pcb around that area is discoloured due to excessive heat I suppose. This may explain the POSTing difficulties and errors I've been getting.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Unfortunately, I just noticed a bulging cap next to the two voltage regulators under the agp slot. The pcb around that area is discoloured due to excessive heat I suppose. This may explain the POSTing difficulties and errors I've been getting.

expect other failing caps to happen, if you have a steady hand you could probably replace them, if not find a shop that can, make sure to have a comprable cap for it (same ratings) if possible a solid cap vs a electrolytic version
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
expect other failing caps to happen, if you have a steady hand you could probably replace them, if not find a shop that can, make sure to have a comprable cap for it (same ratings) if possible a solid cap vs a electrolytic version

I'm thinking about getting a soldering station and fixing it myself. Until then, I'm going to use my spare i865 775 board, ASUS p5pe-vm. I got both on ebay as one lot.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'm thinking about getting a soldering station and fixing it myself. Until then, I'm going to use my spare i865 775 board, ASUS p5pe-vm. I got both on ebay as one lot.

do the research on good caps
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,260 (0.23/day)
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming / EVGA Titan SC
Storage Intel 512 SSD,Samsung 9701Tb, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
I recall Captain Harlock was able to take his to FSB300 with a Q6700. Golden board. I think my maximun was 280-ish as well
Indeed, as did I also We were trading back and forth in the benching and data gathering for >. Lemondesoda did as well but usually was less as he was test focused other than just the O/C of the board.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
Now both boards (Conroe865pe and p5pe-vm) have a swollen cap, I hadn't noticed any swollen caps when I got them, I only noticed the weak caps after bench and stress testing overclocks under heatwave conditions :)

I'd like to replace all the caps on both boards myself, but professional solder / desoldering tools cost a fortune, and no one recommends buying el cheapo brands.

Anyway, I've mounted the 865pe in case and it seems to be running ok at stock speed. Current specs are :

Fractal Design Core 3000
ASRrock Conroe865pe rev 3.00, 1.72 bios,
E5800
Stock cpu heatsink fan with noctua low noise adapter
2 x Buffalo 1GB 400Hz CL3
Radeon 9600 GV-R96X256V with fan removed
X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro SB0460
XFX TS 550W
Samsung 830 120GB
Front-midship 140mm fan @ 9v (noctua black adapter)
Rear 120mm fan @ 7v (noctua blue adapter)

DSC00001.JPG


DSC00001b.JPG


DSC00002.JPG
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,342 (1.07/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Better take care of those. Recapping will likely enhance the stability of power delivery too.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
time for solid state caps
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Has this been done before? Who's going to donate their board to do a solid cap transplant experiment :)

You can find them online, just make sure values are the same as electrolyric version. I have an AMD board.
 

dzsoki

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Has this been done before? Who's going to donate their board to do a solid cap transplant experiment :)
Yes, this is a modded Conroe865PE, where all the capacitors are replaced to Japanese (Rubycon, Sanyo, Nippon chemi Con and Nichicon) capacitors.
10 Nippon ChemiCon NCC KZH Series 16V 100UF Capacitor
6 Rubycon MBZ 6.3V 1500UF LOW ESR Motherboard Capacitor
20 Sanyo WG 6.3V 1000UF LOW ESR Motherboard Capacitor
9 Nichicon LF 16V 100UF L.ESR Aluminum solid Capacitor



I recommend this seller to buy genuine Japanese capacitors:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/egekecu?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Location
Australia
Yes, this is a modded Conroe865PE, where all the capacitors are replaced to Japanese (Rubycon, Sanyo, Nippon chemi Con and Nichicon) capacitors.
10 Nippon ChemiCon NCC KZH Series 16V 100UF Capacitor
6 Rubycon MBZ 6.3V 1500UF LOW ESR Motherboard Capacitor
20 Sanyo WG 6.3V 1000UF LOW ESR Motherboard Capacitor
9 Nichicon LF 16V 100UF L.ESR Aluminum solid Capacitor

I recommend this seller to buy genuine Japanese capacitors:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/egekecu?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

Ok thanks for the info. I haven't done my board yet :)

Note that the list you mention doesn't seem entirely correct - the first item should be 4 x 1000uF 16v as shown below.

The original caps on my board are:
4 1000uF 16v 20x8 Nichicon HM(M) 1.87A
6 1500uF 6.3v 20x8 OST RLX UltraLowESR 0635 1.65A
20 1000uF 6.3v 12x8 OST RLP 0.555A 0640
9 100uF 16v 8x6 OST RMH 0.095A 6.3x7 0632

Also, I believe the general rule or recommendation is to use about half the capacitance when moving to solid caps.
So the 100uF cap would be replaced with a 47uF or 56 uF solid cap.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
17,834 (3.20/day)
Location
UK\USA
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 2x8GB \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X +Antec P12 fans
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB Sabrent 1TB Rocket
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG 43UN700
Case HTPC400 \ Fractal Design Torrent.
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V677 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 650w \ Seasonic Prime TX-750
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Yes, this is a modded Conroe865PE, where all the capacitors are replaced to Japanese (Rubycon, Sanyo, Nippon chemi Con and Nichicon) capacitors.
10 Nippon ChemiCon NCC KZH Series 16V 100UF Capacitor
6 Rubycon MBZ 6.3V 1500UF LOW ESR Motherboard Capacitor
20 Sanyo WG 6.3V 1000UF LOW ESR Motherboard Capacitor
9 Nichicon LF 16V 100UF L.ESR Aluminum solid Capacitor



I recommend this seller to buy genuine Japanese capacitors:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/egekecu?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

Nice, In the US i would recommend Mouser and DigiKey for caps. I have spoken to RubyCon personally and they DO NOT use suppliers that use eBay according to them. Not trying to say they are all fake just that you cannot just ebay at all for such components.

Anyways that does look real nice :).
 

VLB

Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Hi Conroe865pe owners. I have a semi-dead board which hangs on POST and I'd like to replace the BIOS chip in hopes that might help. I know it's a long shot, but I miss tinkering with this board. Does anyone have an extra I could buy or know where I could have one flashed?
 
Top