• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Conroe865PE thread... for AGP users... stock and mod

RuThaN

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello,
im using this board in my multiboot system - W98 SE/XP 32bit/7 64bit.

But i have some problems with it // 1.7.0 Bios, no overclocking, Geforce 6600, overkilled cooling - it could run without any fan, but i have 2x Noctua:
- when set IDE in compatibility mode and connect Sata III SSD (Sandisk Ultra II, i know that board is Sata I it should be backward compatible) to Sata port, i got boot freeze during post
- USB transfer speed when i use any USB boot flash drive - with WinXP install or Windows 98, install Linux install is very slow
- 4x 1 GB, in Bios is 4x 1 GB DDR 400, in in post is only 3076 MB of RAM, i dont mint 32 bit Windows limitation, but Bios limitation is strange
- i had also strange Sata controller bios settings boot freeze, i even after cold boot and remove all disc devices i still had freeze, only bios reset helped
- IDE to Compact flash adapter (2x different tested) is very slow and it also that there some data tranfer freezes, at least when some bootCD / USB is uded to install something

I have additional SIL 3512 PCI Sata controller and Nvidia G6600+Intel 1 Gb/s NIC.

I wonder if someone maked Sata working in Windows 98, with better speed than few MB/s - because of IDE drivers in MS-DOS... I have only SATA III, there are board which are working fine with Sata I or II devices.

I so here some bios updates, are all about no CPUs support, or fix other issues? Its somewhere list of newly supported CPUs?
 
Last edited:

Adrian_

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Hi guys,

Apparently this thread isn't really going any more, but I honestly expect a revival at some point as this class of boards (Conroe AGP) is bound to become some sort of collector's item rather sooner then later.

This being said, I recently acquired a nice 865PE essentially for free, as it had two broken RAM clips and was missing the backplate. Both problems were easily sorted out as I had around a defective AsRock P4 MB that featured similar RAM clips (very easy to remove if you know what you're doing) plus a nearly identical back plate, which required minimal cutting to fit.

I also bought a C2Duo E7600 (3.06Ghz, FSB 1066, 45nm) for something like 5$, then flashed the 1.72 bios and booted just fine. Only to discover that with this CPU installed (which is being recognized by the 1.72 just fine) I have no options whatsoever for setting the RAM speed, except for fiddling with the FSB. The RAM speed setting in the chipset section is grayed out and Memtest claims that the RAM boots to 177Mhz meaning that a 3:2 ratio with the FSB is applied.

With these 1066 Wolfdales is there any method to get the RAM to 200Mhz? I had sitting around for ages a set of 4x512Mb Corsair XMS's rated 2.2.2.5 and I'd like to mess around a bit with this interesting platform. Any advice will be greatly appreciated :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,623 (1.18/day)
Likes
2,232
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Storage Intel 600p 256GB, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Green 2TB & 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Backplate? You mean the I/O shield? ;)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,623 (1.18/day)
Likes
2,232
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Storage Intel 600p 256GB, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Green 2TB & 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Here in Finland we say "I/O pelti" which means I/O shield. :D

But yeah I know what u mean, just had to correct that. :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,623 (1.18/day)
Likes
2,232
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Storage Intel 600p 256GB, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Green 2TB & 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro

Adrian_

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Motherboard backplate is what you use to mount/support the CPU cooler
That would be the cooler backplate.

Seriously guys, let's not pollute this very useful topic with this kind of chatter. It's totally irrelevant in regard to this very particular board.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,623 (1.18/day)
Likes
2,232
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Storage Intel 600p 256GB, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Green 2TB & 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
That would be the cooler backplate.

Seriously guys, let's not pollute this very useful topic with this kind of chatter. It's totally irrelevant in regard to this very particular board.
Yup, sorry for my offtopic. What RAM do u have?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,623 (1.18/day)
Likes
2,232
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Storage Intel 600p 256GB, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Green 2TB & 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Can you try with different latencies? CL2.5 or even CL3?
 

Adrian_

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
I already tried, no result. From what I read on this thread there's a 5:4 bios that would result in a perfectly acceptable 212.8Mhz for the RAM when used with a 266FSB CPU, but it's based on an older bios that doesn't have the Wolfdale microcode. So basically I would need to edit that bios and add the microcode for the E7600 in order to get the RAM running at 212.8Mhz.

Alternatively I would have to OC the CPU all the way up to 300FSB in order to get the DDR up to 200Mhz with the current BIOS. The CPU may very well take it but I'd rather not push the VRM's that far on a mobo that's already 11 years old and has an unknown history.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,299 (0.49/day)
Likes
420
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10

Adrian_

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Btw, has anyone tried the L5408 on this board? With 1066fsb and a mere 40W it should run just fine, at least in theory :D
 

Pota

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
13 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Australia
Further to my posts in 2017. A member suggested I poly mod my Conroe865pe board which has bad cap(s) and stability issues. I have begun the project by poly modding my other board Asus p5pe-vm first. I'm thinking about documenting my results here. What do you folks think, anyone interested?
 
Last edited:
Top