1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The far cry 2 thread!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Mussels, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,044 (9.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,701
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    Alright, apart from custom maps... lets discuss the epic win that is far cry 2.

    My system defaulted to all high graphics, and i left it there - its running nice and smooth. (not sure if DX9 or DX10 tho)


    Memorable moments so far:

    * Setting a chicken on fire, and then running like hell as the whole friendly base caught alight from it.
    * firing a rocket at an oncoming jeep, to have the flaming debris fly up and smack me in the face. My "best buddy" then came in and dragged me from the wreckage
    *driving into what i thought was a friendly town, until they all started ramming me in their cars and shooting at me. Flamethrower solved that problem :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. wolf2009 Guest

    LOL at the moments, can't wait to get it !
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Heres my farcry2 bench resul,you can see the settings at the top.I've not tried it in dx10 yet though.

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    i get 40 t0 50 fps with all maxed out @ 1280x1024@8xaa sweet...........:nutkick::respect:
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Can you run the benchmarker,its in the bin folder and post your result.We might as well use this thread to post them in,unless someone wants to make a new thread just for the purpose.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,910 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    889
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    I cannot wait to play it!!! Wooooo!
     
  7. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,560 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    This game does sound good to be honest and i am looking for another game. I resorted to digging my copy of X3: Reunion and after flying around for 5 minutes straight and not getting anywhere I remembered why I put it at the bottom of the box.
    How does this game compare to Crysis for example? i.e will i be able to play it on my computer?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    710 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90

    did you try geforce driver 180.42 Beta... if not try it its improve farcry2 FPS
     
  9. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I got this game now but I cant load is until I get home. :(

    If it's 1/2 as good as everyone is saying I'll be buying it later this week.
     
  10. wolf2009 Guest

    LOL:laugh: , nice demo you got there
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Yeah my new theory is to try EVERY game before buying it. I've been let down by demoless games too often but I still want to support the games worth playing.
     
  12. wolf2009 Guest

    true that !
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,156 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    Just for shits and giggles last night i tried to download the game to see how bad the seeds/peer ratio was and what my d/l speed would be. I got 0.7kB/s down and up on the torrent and it would have taken me 2 years to d/l. :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    lol. With all the different images on the trackers I wish people would have just use one or two files like Assassins Creed with the 6000+ seeders before the game was even released. Ironically the cracked/nuked version played better than the retail version I got for my bday.
     
  15. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,490 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    Awesome game! It's very smooth at 1680x1050 all maxed out with 4xAA and a 4870 at 850/1050 :D

    [​IMG]

    I find it does stutter a lot though. Sometimes, every 1 or 2 seconds it'll freeze for a split second and then resume. I'm using the ATi hotfix too.

    EDIT: Also found some nvidia far cry 2 drivers: http://techreport.com/discussions.x/15746 links available there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    If you lower the AA do you still stutter?
     
  17. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,490 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    Yea, it unfortunately does :(

    Hopefully a new driver release will fix this, anyone else getting the same issue?

    BTW to show your FPS, press the key next to 1 (`) and type "showfps 1"
     
    TRIPTEX_CAN says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Well if you have a 512mb 4870 it might just not have the ram available to load the large textures. If is stutters @ lower resolutions then I would assume your right about the driver though. Maybe a good round of defragging will help also.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,044 (9.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,701
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    It runs far better than crysis ever did, AND i think it looks better.

    No. i heard those drivers break the level editor in the game, and i intend to play with that.



    latest thing i've found amusing: hovercraft on the rivers. With a sniper rifle :D
    The enemy boats catch up behind me and start shooting, i have enough time to get off the seat, turn around and snipe the enemy gunners before the boat loses momentum... and just keep on going. makes it a lot faster than walking everywhere!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Oh I cannot wait to run this tonight! I wanted to have the steam download running while I am at work, but noooooooo, it wasn't yet released at 6:30 this morning! How Lame! :(

    Oh well, I will post the benchies later tonight!
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,374
    Are you using the 8.10 hotfix drivers?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,490 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    yea
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,832 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    600
    Quick note for ATI users, try using 2x AA instead of 4, performance is worth it the TINY IQ loss; as well as Very High Shadows instead of Ultra High.


    I noticed some things I was not prepared for gameplay and control wise. There's no prone..no leaning..and iron sights/zoom is a momentary maneuver, rather than toggle.

    Also, mouse acceleration.. AWFUL. I cannot stand force acceleration.

    The Gamerprofile.xml seems to indicate nothing about this.

    Where are the files to modify engine commands?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,443 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,322
    Be warned, there is a serious activation issue with this game. I have never ran into an issue in this manner. it allows you to add your key then says its not able to activate. Steam forums say ubisoft is reactivating a ton of keys I guess, but it just makes me wonder WTF they were thinking releasing bunk keys!

    I have contacted suport and looked in the forums and so far there are no answers, I hope to hall they get this sorted FAST.

    Concider yourselves lucky, those who are in already!
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Mouse acceleration? :shadedshu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)