• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Throttlestop overclocking Desktop PCs

Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
There is a virus warning at the SetFSB site. But I just unplug my HDD/SSD and boot a Linux Live DVD and go there anyway.
I used to get ransomware when running like that LOL. Reboot-gone. Did you learn how to hex edit setFSB to remove a locking bit on the PLL? My Opti 380 X5470 only goes about 4MHz before it locks up. I have a bout .25V. headroom to play with if I can get the PLL unlocked. I need to change the TME locking bit from high to low (<7). But exactly how that's done IDK. One use for SetFSB would be to lower the fsb enough to add 1 multiplier extra then raise it back slowly for an incremental OC that TS won't allow. That should be possible even with a TME lock.

I did some "monkey see monkey do" hex editing in Setfsb. Didn't help the overclock. But I changed the wrong register once and crashed my network connection. Either that or my ISP decided to go down for a couple hours right then. Switch from cable router to DSL/ wifi and a different computer didn't help. Then it came back up later. Had to switch it all back. But I made some progress on learning "how" to change "stuff"." What" and "why" not so much.
There's a very good reason I didn't start a PLL overclocking thread. Actually there are quite a few.

Here is a datasheet for a common Dell PLL chip on some of the newer LGA775 and maybe X58 stuff. IDT#
CV183-2APAG
It latches the TME pin4 Hi at power on which sets an FSB limit of 333 ( I get 342 before it crashes) . But the value it latches to can be as high as 400FSB. So TME off may need to be done in BIOS, or a hardmod. But perhaps RW everything could mod the FSB limit to 400? I can "kind of" read this stuff. But what to write and where is another matter. But here it is if anyone wants to take a shot at this.

I looked at the datasheet and was reading the settings in Setfsb to be sure it was matching my interpretation of things.
The TME pin is read only and latched at power on, so short of a hardmod it's gonna be there. But the TME fsb Limit setting isn't latched to be read only until "confirmed power good". There is a setting for 400fsb. I think I've determined what needs to change and where, and when. But I've handed it off to the BIOS modders to see if they can make it happen. The G41 chipset may not be able to actually go 400fsb, but it can probably do more than 342.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
132 (0.20/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3570 3.86GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling CoolIT Eco 120mm AIO
Memory 10GB (5x2GB) DDR3, upgrading to 12GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290X Windforce
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245BW 24" 1920x1200
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse CM Storm Spawn
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
I haven't done anything with SetFSB for quite awhile, but I definitely don't remember doing any hex editing. I didn't necessarily use it for overclocking in the way you might think...I'd use it along with pin-modded 45nm 775 CPU and OEM locked BIOS...the general method was pin-mod to a FSB that was past the stability point, and then use SetFSB with a script to load before anything else in Windows to dial back the FSB to where it would be stable. I think it was the E5800 that worked the best in this scenario...going from 800 to 1066 FSB goes to 4.25GHz, which was always unstable...but many of them would be stable with SetFSB dropping the FSB to where the final CPU clocks would end up between 3.75-4.2GHz...there were other scenarios, but most of them were similar with a 45nm 775 CPU and OEM motherboard. Like I said...it's been awhile...I had to look up the E5800 clockspeeds just to be sure. I used to sell PC I salvaged from the dump and this was my go-to on OEM 775 boards that didn't have quad support.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
I have no good experience with Setfsb because my E520 was TME locked to 266fsb period. TS is the only thing that got me anywhere with that one, and it's so easy. My Opti 380 came with an E5800 and I tried a pinmod and failed. Tried a QX9650 hoping for TS overclock, but it didn't boot. Went straight to the X5470 Xeon swap. The E7500 goes from 2.93 to 3.66 with a pimod from 266 to 333. E7600 would go 3.8 I think but usually doesn't have the Voltage. Some of the notebook guys get into TME unlocks and I kept seeeing screenshots of and descriptions of hex edits. But I didn't understand any of it. Reading the datasheet, and looking at the registers on screen has given me some understanding ( I hope) of how the PLL gets set up by the BIOS. But the settings that effect the FSB are all latched to read only status. The only ones I can change are the ones I probably shouldn't. So I handed this off to the guys who can mod Dell BIOS files. The G41 chipset will probably limit results on this computer, but that PLL chip was used in opti 780,760, XPS420,T3400,with other chipsets including X38 which has hidden 400fsb support. Any way now I think I can use Setfsb to read a PLL and see if there is a TME lock applied, and what the FSB limit is set at.

The last post here is where I got permanently banned from an " Extreme" overclocking forum for using Throttlestop to overclock a Dell.
No explanation to me or anyone else.
But they left the post up and the CPUZ link to the successful Dell overclock. I guess I got the last word on that subject.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Location
USA
Processor FX-6350 @4.5ghz/2.5ghz NB
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Hyper 212
Memory 8gb Samsung DDR3L @1666 cl8 1.47v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 580 8gb @1475/2100
Storage 250gb SSD 2tb hdd
Display(s) LG 42in 1080p60
Audio Device(s) Logitech z-5500
Power Supply CX 650
Benchmark Scores R15 sing/multi 106/538
The last post here is where I got permanently banned from an " Extreme" overclocking forum for using Throttlestop to overclock a Dell.
No explanation to me or anyone else.
But they left the post up and the CPUZ link to the successful Dell overclock. I guess I got the last word on that subject.

That's sad to see that a community of overclocking enthusiasts would ban you for sharing information. I'm always looking for more tricks to acquire free performance so I bounce from threads such as these to Russian bios modders looking to see what people are able to turn up through experimentation.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,471 (3.50/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
The last post here is where I got permanently banned from an " Extreme" overclocking forum for using Throttlestop to overclock a Dell.

No explanation to me or anyone else.
They did that to a few people. In protest I sent one of the staff a very carefully worded message. Only been back to the site once in a while to lurk a little bit. There were a bunch of users that left. Shortly after the banfest the site began to hemorrhage users and visitors. It's a mere shadow of what it once was. That's what happens when mods are allowed to run rampant without any oversight..
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Location
USA
Processor FX-6350 @4.5ghz/2.5ghz NB
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Hyper 212
Memory 8gb Samsung DDR3L @1666 cl8 1.47v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 580 8gb @1475/2100
Storage 250gb SSD 2tb hdd
Display(s) LG 42in 1080p60
Audio Device(s) Logitech z-5500
Power Supply CX 650
Benchmark Scores R15 sing/multi 106/538
Could someone be so kind as to reupload SetFSB and share the link please? Retro's talk about the site throwing up virus warnings has me not wanting to get it from there.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,471 (3.50/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Could someone be so kind as to reupload SetFSB and share the link please? Retro's talk about the site throwing up virus warnings has me not wanting to get it from there.
The following is the newest version of the demo available, as far as I know;
Being a demo, it has limitations.

The following is the newest version of the free version available, again as far as I know;
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Could someone be so kind as to reupload SetFSB and share the link please? Retro's talk about the site throwing up virus warnings has me not wanting to get it from there.
You can get the software OK, it's the developers PLL list that's suspect.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
I posted the data sheet for the Dell 2 CPU PLL chip in a thread at OCN.. I saw some settings with a raised fsb and straps for good bus speeds on page 1. There may be some potential for an EVGA SR2 clone. But it will take someone more programming capable than myself to make it happen.
 

nathna

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
I have a Dell Precision T3610 with a e5-1660 v2 and am wanting to try and overclock it.
I have tried to overclock it with Throttlestop but it seems like it is locked.
There is no fiver option and under Turbo Ratio limits it says "Turbo Overclocking Locked".
It will not turbo up from 3.7 to 4.0 either.

Was wondering if anyone had any information or ideas.

Specs T3610
e5-1660 v2
64gb ddr3 reg ecc 1866
gtx 1080
500gb ssd
3tb hdd
685w psu
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
I PM'd Unclewebb and posted the several overclocks I found. They were all 1650 CPUs which is not uncommon to use the lower speed when overclocking.
But the 1660 has several multiplier overclocks at CPUZ 47x100, and 49x100 so it looks good to go so far.
The ones running at CPUZ all show what is listed as vulnerable microcode with patches dated 2019. Intel may have locked the multiplier with the Spectre/ Meltdown patch. I'll ask at OCN about this.
 
Last edited:

nathna

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
I PM'd Unclewebb and posted the several overclocks I found. They were all 1650 CPUs which is not uncommon to use the lower speed when overclocking.
But the 1660 has several multiplier overclocks at CPUZ 47x100, and 49x100 so it looks good to go so far.
The ones running at CPUZ all show what is listed as vulnerable microcode with patches dated 2019. Intel may have locked the multiplier with the Spectre/ Meltdown patch. I'll ask at OCN about this.
Thanks!
Should I try and downgrade the bios?
Or just wait for Unclewebb to respond.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Unclewebb would like to see some screenshots of TS on your machine. Then he can advise you.
I found several multiplier overclocks for your CPU at CPUZ and they look real. They all have flags for microcode updates. I'll have to ask around about that. You could run yours at CPUZ and if yours has the flag I would say leave it alone for now.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,521 (0.36/day)
"Turbo Overclocking Locked".
If ThrottleStop shows that then this CPU on this motherboard is locked. No way around this unless you can find a modified bios.

Here are the default specs for the E5-1660v2

You need to have the C states enabled to achieve these multipliers on a locked motherboard.

There is no fiver option
The FIVR did not exist until the 4th Gen Haswell processors were released. The E5-1600v2 series are long before then.

It will not turbo up from 3.7 to 4.0 either.
Run a single thread TS Bench test. While this test is running, you should see a multiplier close to 40. You will never see the full 40 multiplier because there are always Windows backgroud tasks waking up additional cores which prevents the 40 multiplier from being used continuously. As long as the C states are enabled and you do not have a lot of background stuff running on your computer, you should get close to 40 during this test. Exit CPU-Z etc. when testing.
 
Last edited:

nathna

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
If ThrottleStop shows that then this CPU on this motherboard is locked. No way around this unless you can find a modified bios.

Here are the default specs for the E5-1660v2

You need to have the C states enabled to achieve these multipliers on a locked motherboard.


The FIVR did not exist until the 4th Gen Haswell processors were released. The E5-1600v2 series are long before then.


Run a single thread TS Bench test. While this test is running, you should see a multiplier close to 40. You will never see the full 40 multiplier because there are always Windows backgroud tasks waking up additional cores which prevents the 40 multiplier from being used continuously. As long as the C states are enabled and you do not have a lot of background stuff running on your computer, you should get close to 40 during this test. Exit CPU-Z etc. when testing.
Thanks for the reply.
Do you think downgrading the bios would do anything?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
CPUZ is showing overclocks for the E5-1620v2 on the chart for E5- 1660v2 so more confusion there.
So the confirmations are coming up for the 1650 and 1620. Hmmmmm.
I would try running at CPUZ and see if yours has the flag for the microcode update.
Since this platform is new to me I have to figure out who to ask. Might take a while.

Finally found an actual E5 1660v2 47x100 AIDA64 screehshot. So the CPU looks good, and the Dell T3610 looks good.
We just need to figure out what's going on with yours.
 
Last edited:

nathna

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
https://gyazo.com/fcc57484e7985c220eb0657faf49bd74 this what you are talking about?
CPUZ is showing overclocks for the E5-1620v2 on the chart for E5- 1660v2 so more confusion there.
So the confirmations are coming up for the 1650 and 1620. Hmmmmm.
I would try running at CPUZ and see if yours has the flag for the microcode update.
Since this platform is new to me I have to figure out who to ask. Might take a while.

Finally found an actual E5 1660v2 47x100 AIDA64 screehshot. So the CPU looks good, and the Dell T3610 looks good.
We just need to figure out what's going on with yours.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,521 (0.36/day)
I think that we can agree that these CPUs have an unlocked multiplier and are overclockable but you need to have a motherboard and bios that allows this. An X79 motherboard may be more than willing but the Dell motherboard might be locked. You can go back in time and try to use older bios versions but there may not be any bios versions that allow multiplier overclocking.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
There are 4 Dell T3610 overclocks at userbenchmark.com with E5 1650v2 Xeons. Several different users.
Let us know what BIOS version you have, and if CPUZ shows a microcode warning for the motherboard in your system.
We've been overclocking locked MB in LGA775 and X58 w/o problems. The FSB gets locked by the BIOS/PLL commands. But the unlocked CPUs have responded to TS through Windows so far. Unfortunately we don't have any T3610 experts in this forum yet.
The Dell MB is definitely locked, but so were the Dimension E520, the T3400, Optiplex 745, XPS 420 and T3500 that have all been overclocked with unlocked CPUs. HP Z400 for good measure.
I'm waiting to see what the OCN Xeon guys have to say about this. It might take while for a reply to a kind of old thread.

What MB # do you have? I can do some searches by that and maybe see what type of overclocks are out there.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,521 (0.36/day)
On the 2nd Gen and up CPUs, if ThrottleStop shows Turbo Overclocking Locked then either the motherboard chipset does not support multiplier overclocking or the bios has locked this feature out. Getting around this lock cannot be done while in Windows.
 

nathna

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
There are 4 Dell T3610 overclocks at userbenchmark.com with E5 1650v2 Xeons. Several different users.
Let us know what BIOS version you have, and if CPUZ shows a microcode warning for the motherboard in your system.
We've been overclocking locked MB in LGA775 and X58 w/o problems. The FSB gets locked by the BIOS/PLL commands. But the unlocked CPUs have responded to TS through Windows so far. Unfortunately we don't have any T3610 experts in this forum yet.
The Dell MB is definitely locked, but so were the Dimension E520, the T3400, Optiplex 745, XPS 420 and T3500 that have all been overclocked with unlocked CPUs. HP Z400 for good measure.
I'm waiting to see what the OCN Xeon guys have to say about this. It might take while for a reply to a kind of old thread.

What MB # do you have? I can do some searches by that and maybe see what type of overclocks are out there.
I was on bios version a06 downgraded to a02 and its still locked but is turboing up to 4.0 now.

Is this the microcode warning you are talking about? (Rev.0x42D >Intel SA-00233 Vulnerable)

Motherboard number 09M8Y8

Throttlestop picture
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
OK That's interesting. BIOS rewind helped some.
It's probably not the microcode ASFIK.
Locked, but "unlimited" Turbo limits. Hmmmmmmm.
Turbo on all cores would be a good start I guess. You coulld try Intel XTU and see what happens.
The other piece of info. would be the PLL chip to see if I can figure out how and when it's locked. The T5500/7500 PLL has some higher FSB straps in the PLL that could be unlocked with a BIOS mod.

So far we have an unlocked CPU.
We also have some overclocked T3610 systems. FSB or multiplier method unkown so far.
Can you raise the power limits with TS or are those locked too? That would stilll be very be useful if it's FSB or XTU overclocking going on. Could be good old SetFSB for all we know now.

On the 2nd Gen and up CPUs, if ThrottleStop shows Turbo Overclocking Locked then either the motherboard chipset does not support multiplier overclocking or the bios has locked this feature out. Getting around this lock cannot be done while in Windows.
So the E5-1660 1st gen should TS overclock OK in the T3600? Just the v2 and up have this issue? We did skip the T3600. Might have learned a thing or 2 there.
I'm seeing no T3600 overclocks at userbenchmark.com. It looks like everyone skipped that one.
 
Last edited:

nathna

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
OK That's interesting. BIOS rewind helped some.
It's probably not the microcode ASFIK.
Locked, but "unlimited" Turbo limits. Hmmmmmmm.
Turbo on all cores would be a good start I guess. You coulld try Intel XTU and see what happens.
The other piece of info. would be the PLL chip to see if I can figure out how and when it's locked. The T5500/7500 PLL has some higher FSB straps in the PLL that could be unlocked with a BIOS mod.

So far we have an unlocked CPU.
We also have some overclocked T3610 systems. FSB or multiplier method unkown so far.
Can you raise the power limits with TS or are those locked too? That would stilll be very be useful if it's FSB or XTU overclocking going on. Could be good old SetFSB for all we know now.


So the E5-1660 1st gen should TS overclock OK in the T3600? Just the v2 and up have this issue? We did skip the T3600. Might have learned a thing or 2 there.
I'm seeing no T3600 overclocks at userbenchmark.com. It looks like everyone skipped that one.
I tried xtu and it seems to work just very limited options. I can move it higher then 4.3 but it just acts like 4.3 is set. So 4.3 is the max i guess.

 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
669 (0.45/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
I tried xtu and it seems to work just very limited options. Max at 4.3.

If TS can raise the TDP, and TDC settings then XTU may go higher. Intel lists 1.3V. max for those. But they don't give direct control of Voltage. At least they didn't in the X58 stuff. They may have blocked the multiplier in TS but not locked down the power limits. That was it's big advantage over the other software overclocks. 4.25Ghz is what I was seeing with the e5-1650v2 so 4.3 may be an XTU overclock for your CPU.
With XTU running is the multiplier unlocked in TS?
 

nathna

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
If TS can raise the TDP, and TDC settings then XTU may go higher. Intel lists 1.3V. max for those. But they don't give direct control of Voltage. At least they didn't in the X58 stuff. They may have blocked the multiplier in TS but not locked down the power limits. That was it's big advantage over the other software overclocks. 4.25Ghz is what I was seeing with the e5-1650v2 so 4.3 may be an XTU overclock for your CPU.
With XTU running is the multiplier unlocked in TS?
I can raise the multiplier in ts to however high i set it in xtu.
 
Top