• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlocked Realtek HD Audio Drivers for Windows 10 (Dolby Digital Live/DTS Interactive)

Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
279 (0.10/day)
You've got more than that on the back panel, right? Do you know what it showed before you swapped the DLL? If there's an unmodified driver that shows it correctly, you should probably START from there (that driver), but I couldn't tell you what works.

(But again, the Speakers tab is not for the Optical output.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
1,081 (0.51/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Home PC/Lenovo IdeaPad S145-15API
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)/AMD Ryzen 5 3500U (4C/8T)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)/Lenovo Motherboard
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx L120T/Stock
Memory 11GB/8GB
Video Card(s) GT 730 1GB/AMD Radeon RX Vega 8 (Onboard)
Storage [1x GoldenFir SSD 256GB + 1x HDD 1TB]/[1x Netac SSD M.2 NMVe 256GB + 1x GoldenFir SSD SATA3 1TB]
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout/Stock
Audio Device(s) AAF Optimus Sound
Power Supply 600W/Stock
Benchmark Scores Mikrotik RB760iGS with 1Gb/s Up/Down
At this point, I'm pretty well convinced that the issue isn't with the "Realtek Digital Output" component, but the "Speakers" component. I should be able to tell the system that I have more than 2 speakers connected to my machine. Why am I not seeing those options in the Speaker configuration?
Check that the "rtkhdaud.dat" file exists in the "%systemroot%\System32\drivers" directory. If it exists, delete it and restart your computer.
 

DDL51

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2022
Messages
21 (0.08/day)
Check that the "rtkhdaud.dat" file exists in the "%systemroot%\System32\drivers" directory. If it exists, delete it and restart your computer.
I just installed the official 2.81 drivers and replaced the APO and APO64 DLLs in System32 with patched versions. I also searched the entire drive for rtkhdaud.dat but didn't find anything.

You've got more than that on the back panel, right? Do you know what it showed before you swapped the DLL? If there's an unmodified driver that shows it correctly, you should probably START from there (that driver), but I couldn't tell you what works.

(But again, the Speakers tab is not for the Optical output.)
I do have more than one on the back panel. I can't remember what it showed before swapping. I can swap back and check. I'll check what you're suggesting. It worked previously with the 2.80 driver.
 

DDL51

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2022
Messages
21 (0.08/day)
For what it’s worth, nothing worked, so I decided to connect an HDMI cable from my video card to a 5.1 receiver, and now surround it working as expected.

I don’t think optical is a long term tenable solution. In fact, it seems the entire industry is heading away from optical and DDL/DTSC because as much as I enjoy tinkering, HDMI seems to be a better standard that is more widely supported without the need for hacks. For further evidence, I look no further than the current generation Mac Pro; no optical in or out. Just HDMI.

Anyway, thank you all for your help and suggestions.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
279 (0.10/day)
yeah, that happened a long time ago... for most. Playstation just stopped including Optical on their Consoles with the PS5, though I think the new XBoxes might still have it.

Luckily for me kind of, I bought an HDMI Audio Extractor with Dolby/DTS Optical support years ago not actually because of / for it's Optical output, lol.

(Unfortunately for me, away from the specific topic of this thread though, is that the original reason I bought it, specifically, has also now disappeared from sale/existence even though I still wanted it. - extraction/conversion from HDMI to 5.1/7.1 3.5mm analog - most only have the 1 stereo analog port.)
 
Joined
May 24, 2017
Messages
34 (0.02/day)
Heres the link for those who want Dolby Digital Live / Dolby Pro Logic IIx (center width/dimension controls) / Dolby Headphone/Dolby Space Expander / Dolby Natural Bass.
Please test.

Realtek Dolby
Is it possible to make these same drivers but for Realtek HDA ALC1220A for this board?


I don't ask for more. These same drivers that I quote but for that board that carries that realtek codec, those drivers were on my previous board z370, but now I have z690 and Windows 11.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
190 (0.03/day)
System Name Medium
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65
Cooling stock cooler
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2 * 5870 in crossfire
Storage 1 40GB intel SSD and 1 750GB WD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case NZXT Vulcan
Audio Device(s) Logitech Clear Chat Pro USB Headphones
Power Supply Thermaltake 680 pure power with 15A, 14A and 23A 12v rails
Software Windows 7 Premium x64
Is it possible to make these same drivers but for Realtek HDA ALC1220A for this board?


I don't ask for more. These same drivers that I quote but for that board that carries that realtek codec, those drivers were on my previous board z370, but now I have z690 and Windows 11.
add for ALC1200 too :)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
190 (0.03/day)
System Name Medium
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65
Cooling stock cooler
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2 * 5870 in crossfire
Storage 1 40GB intel SSD and 1 750GB WD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case NZXT Vulcan
Audio Device(s) Logitech Clear Chat Pro USB Headphones
Power Supply Thermaltake 680 pure power with 15A, 14A and 23A 12v rails
Software Windows 7 Premium x64
But it does not work, it does not install. Also the codec on my current board is ALC1220A, not 1200.
guess i got lucky with the ALC1200 not being the (ALC1200A) model
 

Avamander

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2022
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
The solution:
  1. You need to download this patcher (alternative link) that will enable the missing features.
  2. Download a driver that is still compatible with the patcher - in my case I've used version 2.82, the file name is "0009-64bit_Win7_Win8_Win81_Win10_R282.exe" (this is a two year old driver!!! I've tried to use the official one for my motherboard but the patcher didn't work).
  3. Unzip the driver installer .exe file (using WinRAR for example) to access the contained files and patch "RltkAPO.dll" and "RltkAPO64.dll" in the "WIN64" directory (see "[Filename]" section in the patcher user interface).
  4. Install the driver (run "Setup.exe" from the extracted driver) - here you might get a warning from Windows that the driver is not signed!
  5. Reboot and finish configuration in the "Sound" window:
    a) on the tab "Enhancements" check "Disable all sound effects"
    b) on the tab "Advanced" select "Dolby Digital Live (5.1 Surround)" or "DTS Interactive (5.1 Surround)" - FINALLY!!!

This worked on Gigabyte Aorus x570 Pro with ALC1220 (VEN_10EC&DEV_1220). I had to manually install the driver over the sound device and then add a GPO to forbid installations of that device. Thanks!

However I am a tiny bit disappointed, there are no room corrections for digital output? I truly despise that the only¹ way to get everything actually working is to buy an AVR that costs literally thousands. What a robbery for what really are a few config bits. Not to mention that it's super annoying that DDL isn't de facto available and that I can't² patch the new drivers. Like, damn this whole ordeal is actually really sad.

¹ - It's not like you can actually find a new motherboard with DDL, to use a single thin long optical cable instead of three shielded ones.
² - I personally can't, not that good at reverse engineering yet.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
87 (0.12/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 AORUS PRO AX
Cooling Deepcool GAMMAXX 400 V2 with Arctic Bionix P120 ARGB Fan
Memory Crucial Ballistix 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon RX 6700 XT 12GB
Storage Kingston A2000 1TB NVMe, Kingston KC2500 2TB NVMe, Western Digital Blue 500GB 2.5" SATA3 SSD
Display(s) Dell S2721DGF 27.0" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow, White, with Arctic Bionix P120 ARGB Fan x 5
Audio Device(s) On board ALC1200 to Yamaha TSS-10 5.1 channel Amplifier
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed with SteelSeries QcK Prism Cloth Mouse Pad
Keyboard Logitech G815 LIGHTSYNC (Tactile)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition: 4277 Heaven: 2628 3DMark Time Spy: 11776 3DMark Fire Strike: 30281
This worked on Gigabyte Aorus x570 Pro with ALC1220 (VEN_10EC&DEV_1220). I had to manually install the driver over the sound device and then add a GPO to forbid installations of that device. Thanks!

However I am a tiny bit disappointed, there are no room corrections for digital output? I truly despise that the only¹ way to get everything actually working is to buy an AVR that costs literally thousands. What a robbery for what really are a few config bits. Not to mention that it's super annoying that DDL isn't de facto available and that I can't² patch the new drivers. Like, damn this whole ordeal is actually really sad.

¹ - It's not like you can actually find a new motherboard with DDL, to use a single thin long optical cable instead of three shielded ones.
² - I personally can't, not that good at reverse engineering yet.
Glad it worked!

Yeah, I just pause Windows Updates for 2 weeks at a time. & then when I’m prompted to update them, I do Windows drivers & reinstall these Audio drivers then.

But we’re still not getting the BEST audio quality. I know this as I tried to use a HDMI extractor that took the HDMI audio from my GPU & extracted it via Optical into my speakers…& WOW what a difference that made - so much more clearer & detailed, but it was only 2 channel…such a let down…

Why can’t PC speaker manufacturers make a 5.1 set of speakers with a small amp that’s desk-mountable, with HDMI IN?…
 

Rhino Cracker

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2022
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Hi all, I'm pretty new to this topic (using modded drivers to unlock Dolby Digital Live) and as a newbie, I have 234 questions:

1. Can it work with my sound card?
I have a "Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite" motherboard.
Gigabyte tells that it has an "Realtek® ALC1200 codec".
Windows tells me it's "HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0B00&SUBSYS_1458A0CF&REV_1000"

2. How does it work? Is there a nice tutorial? (I miss it in the first post(s) of this thread)

3. Am I right, that if it worked, I will see 2 more entries in this list: "Dolby Digital Live" and "DTS Connect"?
1662962567753.png


4. What amount of delay do I have to expect from using Dolby Digital Live or DTS Connect output? Microseconds? Several milliseconds? Several tenth of milliseconds, Several hundreds of milliseconds?

Best regards,
Rhino
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2019
Messages
312 (0.29/day)
1) Aleksandar's Dolby Natural Bass works on analog. Add your HWID from your Audio Device (Device Manager - Properties) into the .inf. Install via Device Manager, point to .inf.

2) It do Dolby Digital Live too?
If I remember correctly.

3) DTS Interactive that you can disable by pressing "default format" is doable via Hifi.ooo DTS 0.1 - read our good detailed guide.
It's a shame that great people have trouble expressing themselves universally good.

For what it’s worth, nothing worked, so I decided to connect an HDMI cable from my video card to a 5.1 receiver, and now surround it working as expected.

I don’t think optical is a long term tenable solution. In fact, it seems the entire industry is heading away from optical and DDL/DTSC because as much as I enjoy tinkering, HDMI seems to be a better standard that is more widely supported without the need for hacks. For further evidence, I look no further than the current generation Mac Pro; no optical in or out. Just HDMI.

Anyway, thank you all for your help and suggestions.

MacBook Pro until ~2013 had 3.5mm that do optical / SPDiF with plugsie.
 

iiTzHaRooN

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2022
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
hey so I just got the z5500 and it's been horrible getting it to work correctly my motherboard is rog crosshair viii hero wifi which was pretty expensive and is supposed to support 7.1, My issue is I can't get dts input on neither analog nor optical It's definitely not the speakers as when I connect them to my ps5 I can get the input optical dts. when I run a speaker test from playback settings I can hear sound from all speakers and the input shows as optical dts but that's the only time it ever worked. I don't know too much about this modding stuff but is their no simple solution without having to buy a soundcard
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2019
Messages
312 (0.29/day)
Tried Hifi.ooo DTS 0.1?
It's pretty neat with instructions, should work.
Beware that the FXConfigure is a virus in AutoHotkey format with remote GUI overlay, hooking on to Windows own RDP "business" services. Maybe the written "lines" in the "Load Me" .inf that is supposed to be imported with FXConfigurator can be manually put in with "APO Tool" instead (see Ferathers' packages, he used to include it).
Glhf
 
Top