• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlocked Realtek HD Audio Drivers Windows 7 & 8 (With Dolby Digital Live and DTS Interactive)

e-ghost

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Worked on my Asus p8z68-v pro gen 3 using optical out to a LG 7.2 channel HTIB and to be honest I can barely tell the difference from the sound blaster z I just purchased so it may be time to return it lol.

I installed the latest drivers/mod and ran into issues when trying to test play back from windows device configuration but testing through the hardware included application I was able to hear sound and in BF3 when there is sound I can turn the player and can confirm the sound switches speakers as spin around. Windows shows I don't have DTS Connect or Dolby Digital Live selected when I know they both can be selected and afterwards I have seemingly true 5.1 surround sound.
Hi t88powered, I have the same mainboard as you: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3. I installed the R2.71 office first, then replace the RTKVHD64.sys then reboot with disabling driver signing enforcement. I saw the RealTek HD Audio Manager but look quite different with other fellow (ASUS specific?). And I don't have "Speaker" tab, "Speaker Configuration", "Dolby Home Theater" section. Did I missed anything?

I see the screen of other people like this:


But my control panel is:
Capture.PNG

Capture2.PNG

Capture3.PNG


Did I miss anything? If I select DDL 5.1 in "Default Format" of "Digital Output (Optical)", then I will get DDL output from optical in gaming?

Many thanks!
 

e-ghost

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Got some update on this case. I found I didn't have "Speakers" tab because I haven't connect any speaker to my 3.5mm audio jack (I was using HDMI TV). So I plugged a 3.5mm audio cable into the GREEN front stereo speaker jack then get the "Speakers" tab.
Capture1.PNG


And I found the "Dolby Home Theater" section is at "Playback devices -> Properties"
Capture6.PNG


Then I tried to accomplish DTS-Connect or Dolby Digital Live 5.1 with the following settings to play Call of Duty: Black Ops. Fail:
1) Turn on "DTS-Connect" in Speakers Tab
Capture2.PNG
2) No change in speakers default format:
Capture3.PNG

3) no change is Optical Output's "DTS-Connect" section:
Capture4.PNG

4) Optical Output's "Default format" Changed as DTS-Interactive (5.1):
Capture5.PNG

5) Confirmed setting effective:
Capture7.PNG


====================================
But I still cannot get any sound from Call of Duty: Black Ops. I saw in game menu allow me to choose output devices -- all the 4 playback devices as above. So which device I should choose in game? Seems choosing Optical output will give me 2.1 audio in DTS format. Should I choose Realtek analog speakers instead? Will the DDL/DTS-C be enabled and convert the analog audio to DTS then out from Optical?

Many thanks!
 

jesuit666

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I get this same thing as e-ghost. some games work 5.1 but a bunch dont. haven't tried battlefield 4. here is an interesting shot from Rages console. when dts on.
rage1.PNG

if I change to 2-channel 44.1K
rage2.PNG

can I trick it to thinking I have 6 channel audio?
 

2bad

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
@e-ghost, KeyFear
Guys, obviously you have to choose the correct output device.

Second, while it is noteworthy that some games do not properly detect 5.1 support, that's an issue with the game, and is not directly related to this mod.
It's a safe bet that unmodified drivers with Dolby Digital Live / DTS Interactive support will have the same issue with those games.
 

jesuit666

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
@e-ghost, KeyFear
Guys, obviously you have to choose the correct output device.

Second, while it is noteworthy that some games do not properly detect 5.1 support, that's an issue with the game, and is not directly related to this mod.
It's a safe bet that unmodified drivers with Dolby Digital Live / DTS Interactive support will have the same issue with those games.
yes those screens were taken from unmodified drivers(modified did the same thing) . i ended up picking a cheap receiver with hdmi. i could show screens of rage but it finds 6 channel and the game gives 5.1 pcm
 

KeyFear

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
There is my opinion - I`m stacked with this and buy minijack-2PCM cables and here it is! Positioned sound from my 5.1

Good luck to everybody to find your own way!
 

Phenixs1970

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Hi everyone,

Hope someone can provide me with some guidance as, so far, I haven't been able to get the unlocked driver working.
My specs: MB Asus Maximus VI Impact (including Realtek ALC1150 card), OS W8.1 64bit, Primary sound device Astro A50 + mixamp (surround headphones). Unfortunately the latter only support Dolby Digital Live.

I have tried multiple options but most likely I'm doing some things wrong.
First step I did was install The official Realtek R2.71, and then replace the file (best practice is to rename the old file first),
Next steps are below, but can I have some explanations on how to do the following on windows 8.1

Note for 64-bit Vista / 7 / 8 users:
This is an unsigned driver, you must do one of the following for the driver to load:
1. Press F8 before each boot and select "Disable driver signature enforcement".
Looks like my only (?) option is using the W8 charms and reboot using option 7)2. Test-sign the driver and enable Test-mode. ??
3. Patch the kernel to permanently enable unsigned drivers ??

I also tried using the alternative procedure by replacing the dll and also tried the .bat script member Valkiscool wrote.
Howver when I ran the .bat script I got an error on the line below:

taskkill /f /im RAVCpl64.exe

I also noticed that when searching in the windows director for the realtek driver (to replace it with the unlocked) that it's found under Windows\System32 but also under Windows\System32\Enforceddrivers.... I have only replaced it in Windows\System32.

I have seen Dolby Digital Live pop up as an option in the Realtek Audio Manager, but no sound (and the alternative procedure still gives PUMA errors).

Many thanks to anyone who can give me some guidance.

KR,
Stef
 

2bad

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
@Phenixs1970
To enable unsigned drivers with Windows 8 64-bit you indeed use option 7 ('Disable Driver Signature Enforcement') under 'Startup Settings'.
Check in the device manager if the Realtek Audio Controller is working properly after you have enabled this option and rebooted.

@Qery
Why do you need R2.73 and can't use R2.71?
 

Oery

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
@Qery
Why do you need R2.73 and can't use R2.71?
just wondering.... :)
anyway, R2.71 unlocked, working fine on my HTPC (MSI B75IA-E33, ALC887, Win7-32bit) :clap:
thank you...
 

MrStim

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
hello. i've tried this and it only unlocks DTS and Dolby Digital for optical out. I was mainly interested in Dolby Pro Logic IIx which upmixes 5.1 sound to 7.1.
I saw a screenshot of someone getting that functionality with this mod.
Can anyone confirm if this allow prologic iix?
thanks
 

potatogod

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
hello. i've tried this and it only unlocks DTS and Dolby Digital for optical out. I was mainly interested in Dolby Pro Logic IIx which upmixes 5.1 sound to 7.1.
I saw a screenshot of someone getting that functionality with this mod.
Can anyone confirm if this allow prologic iix?
thanks
Where did you see that?
 

alperuzi

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Thats interesting actually, I have an 889 too and I get Prologic II 5.1, no "x"
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (0.98/day)
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
It amazes me how many people created accounts just to participate in this thread. It shows there is an avid market for audio cards still.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,463 (8.59/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
It amazes me how many people created accounts just to participate in this thread. It shows there is an avid market for audio cards still.
avid market for 'people who want free stuff'
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,463 (8.59/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB

potatogod

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
So I bought a MSI Z87-GD65 motherboard with an ALC1150 codec. MSI licenses neither DDL nor DTS with this board. The modded driver allows me to select DDL or DTS, and the sound and test tones work, HOWEVER the sound is limited to to two channels (stereo). The test tone is only stereo, 5.1 media files only play in stereo and the sound card reports its capabilities as only stereo. @2bad , any ideas?

@MrStim @alperuzi
It's likely that ProLogic II/IIx features are also enabled depending on the manufacturer. On my desktop MSI Z87-GD65 board (ALC1150) neither is present.
 

alperuzi

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
what program do you use to play stuff with?

For example I also get only stereo with Youtube videos, but mediaplayer etc work fine. And yes, as you said the test tone is stereo so no good. The test tone in the first tab is 5.1 I think though.
 

potatogod

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
what program do you use to play stuff with?

For example I also get only stereo with Youtube videos, but mediaplayer etc work fine. And yes, as you said the test tone is stereo so no good. The test tone in the first tab is 5.1 I think though.
I used the 5.1 Surround Test File from here in both WMA and AC3 formats, with WMP and Media Player Classic (with AC3Filter for sound, set to 5.1 output).
 

alperuzi

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Do you see the input and output bars moving in AC3Filter? If so it may be a problem on the receiver end maybe? The ALC1150 is listed as 8 channel, there is no way it can be reported as being only stereo capable unless maybe if you have like earphones plugged in.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,463 (8.59/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
depends on the player you use as well, stuff like CCCP (my default/preferred player and codec pack) has a setting where it defaults to stereo sound mixing by default for some silly reason.
 
Top