1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlocked Realtek HD Audio Drivers (With Dolby Digital Live and DTS Interactive)

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by 2bad, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. e-ghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi t88powered, I have the same mainboard as you: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3. I installed the R2.71 office first, then replace the RTKVHD64.sys then reboot with disabling driver signing enforcement. I saw the RealTek HD Audio Manager but look quite different with other fellow (ASUS specific?). And I don't have "Speaker" tab, "Speaker Configuration", "Dolby Home Theater" section. Did I missed anything?

    I see the screen of other people like this:
    [​IMG]

    But my control panel is:
    Capture.PNG
    Capture2.PNG
    Capture3.PNG

    Did I miss anything? If I select DDL 5.1 in "Default Format" of "Digital Output (Optical)", then I will get DDL output from optical in gaming?

    Many thanks!
     
    Nishant kumar says thanks.
  2. e-ghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Got some update on this case. I found I didn't have "Speakers" tab because I haven't connect any speaker to my 3.5mm audio jack (I was using HDMI TV). So I plugged a 3.5mm audio cable into the GREEN front stereo speaker jack then get the "Speakers" tab.
    Capture1.PNG

    And I found the "Dolby Home Theater" section is at "Playback devices -> Properties"
    Capture6.PNG

    Then I tried to accomplish DTS-Connect or Dolby Digital Live 5.1 with the following settings to play Call of Duty: Black Ops. Fail:
    1) Turn on "DTS-Connect" in Speakers Tab
    Capture2.PNG 2) No change in speakers default format:
    Capture3.PNG
    3) no change is Optical Output's "DTS-Connect" section:
    Capture4.PNG
    4) Optical Output's "Default format" Changed as DTS-Interactive (5.1):
    Capture5.PNG
    5) Confirmed setting effective:
    Capture7.PNG

    ====================================
    But I still cannot get any sound from Call of Duty: Black Ops. I saw in game menu allow me to choose output devices -- all the 4 playback devices as above. So which device I should choose in game? Seems choosing Optical output will give me 2.1 audio in DTS format. Should I choose Realtek analog speakers instead? Will the DDL/DTS-C be enabled and convert the analog audio to DTS then out from Optical?

    Many thanks!
     
  3. jesuit666 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I get this same thing as e-ghost. some games work 5.1 but a bunch dont. haven't tried battlefield 4. here is an interesting shot from Rages console. when dts on.
    rage1.PNG
    if I change to 2-channel 44.1K
    rage2.PNG
    can I trick it to thinking I have 6 channel audio?
     
  4. 2bad New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    @e-ghost, KeyFear
    Guys, obviously you have to choose the correct output device.

    Second, while it is noteworthy that some games do not properly detect 5.1 support, that's an issue with the game, and is not directly related to this mod.
    It's a safe bet that unmodified drivers with Dolby Digital Live / DTS Interactive support will have the same issue with those games.
     
  5. jesuit666 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes those screens were taken from unmodified drivers(modified did the same thing) . i ended up picking a cheap receiver with hdmi. i could show screens of rage but it finds 6 channel and the game gives 5.1 pcm
     
  6. KeyFear New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    There is my opinion - I`m stacked with this and buy minijack-2PCM cables and here it is! Positioned sound from my 5.1

    Good luck to everybody to find your own way!
     
  7. Andre Anthonny New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Untitled.jpg Work In My Realtek Audio..greet work guys
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  8. Phenixs1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    Hope someone can provide me with some guidance as, so far, I haven't been able to get the unlocked driver working.
    My specs: MB Asus Maximus VI Impact (including Realtek ALC1150 card), OS W8.1 64bit, Primary sound device Astro A50 + mixamp (surround headphones). Unfortunately the latter only support Dolby Digital Live.

    I have tried multiple options but most likely I'm doing some things wrong.
    First step I did was install The official Realtek R2.71, and then replace the file (best practice is to rename the old file first),
    Next steps are below, but can I have some explanations on how to do the following on windows 8.1

    Note for 64-bit Vista / 7 / 8 users:
    This is an unsigned driver, you must do one of the following for the driver to load:
    1. Press F8 before each boot and select "Disable driver signature enforcement".
    Looks like my only (?) option is using the W8 charms and reboot using option 7)2. Test-sign the driver and enable Test-mode. ??
    3. Patch the kernel to permanently enable unsigned drivers ??

    I also tried using the alternative procedure by replacing the dll and also tried the .bat script member Valkiscool wrote.
    Howver when I ran the .bat script I got an error on the line below:

    taskkill /f /im RAVCpl64.exe

    I also noticed that when searching in the windows director for the realtek driver (to replace it with the unlocked) that it's found under Windows\System32 but also under Windows\System32\Enforceddrivers.... I have only replaced it in Windows\System32.

    I have seen Dolby Digital Live pop up as an option in the Realtek Audio Manager, but no sound (and the alternative procedure still gives PUMA errors).

    Many thanks to anyone who can give me some guidance.

    KR,
    Stef
     
  9. Oery New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No update for R2.73 (6.0.1.7083) yet?
    Thanks...
     
  10. 2bad New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    @Phenixs1970
    To enable unsigned drivers with Windows 8 64-bit you indeed use option 7 ('Disable Driver Signature Enforcement') under 'Startup Settings'.
    Check in the device manager if the Realtek Audio Controller is working properly after you have enabled this option and rebooted.

    @Qery
    Why do you need R2.73 and can't use R2.71?
     
  11. Oery New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just wondering.... :)
    anyway, R2.71 unlocked, working fine on my HTPC (MSI B75IA-E33, ALC887, Win7-32bit) :clap:
    thank you...
     
  12. MrStim New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hello. i've tried this and it only unlocks DTS and Dolby Digital for optical out. I was mainly interested in Dolby Pro Logic IIx which upmixes 5.1 sound to 7.1.
    I saw a screenshot of someone getting that functionality with this mod.
    Can anyone confirm if this allow prologic iix?
    thanks
     
  13. potatogod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Where did you see that?
     
  14. MrStim New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  15. alperuzi

    alperuzi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thats interesting actually, I have an 889 too and I get Prologic II 5.1, no "x"
     
  16. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    It amazes me how many people created accounts just to participate in this thread. It shows there is an avid market for audio cards still.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,125
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    avid market for 'people who want free stuff'
     
    xvi and Dent1 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. MrStim New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    that includes yourself right?
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,125
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    of course.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. MrStim New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    haha
     
  21. potatogod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I bought a MSI Z87-GD65 motherboard with an ALC1150 codec. MSI licenses neither DDL nor DTS with this board. The modded driver allows me to select DDL or DTS, and the sound and test tones work, HOWEVER the sound is limited to to two channels (stereo). The test tone is only stereo, 5.1 media files only play in stereo and the sound card reports its capabilities as only stereo. @2bad , any ideas?

    @MrStim @alperuzi
    It's likely that ProLogic II/IIx features are also enabled depending on the manufacturer. On my desktop MSI Z87-GD65 board (ALC1150) neither is present.
     
  22. alperuzi

    alperuzi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what program do you use to play stuff with?

    For example I also get only stereo with Youtube videos, but mediaplayer etc work fine. And yes, as you said the test tone is stereo so no good. The test tone in the first tab is 5.1 I think though.
     
  23. potatogod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I used the 5.1 Surround Test File from here in both WMA and AC3 formats, with WMP and Media Player Classic (with AC3Filter for sound, set to 5.1 output).
     
  24. alperuzi

    alperuzi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you see the input and output bars moving in AC3Filter? If so it may be a problem on the receiver end maybe? The ALC1150 is listed as 8 channel, there is no way it can be reported as being only stereo capable unless maybe if you have like earphones plugged in.
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,125
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    depends on the player you use as well, stuff like CCCP (my default/preferred player and codec pack) has a setting where it defaults to stereo sound mixing by default for some silly reason.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 12 (1 member and 11 guests)

edumariano