• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 Process-Termination Bug Slows Down Mighty 24-Core System to a Crawl

Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
639 (1.82/day)
Likes
190
System Name My System
Processor Intel Core i5 3570k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling ThermalTake Water 2.0
Memory 4x4 GB of Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R9 380 with 4 GBs of RAM
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB SSD (https://www.techpowerup.com/ssdz/details/5163/)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply Corsair 750 Watt
Keyboard Logitech Wave
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/678sbr
#51
out of curiousity, I'm going to try killing a single processes that uses over 10 GiB of memory...
That would be interesting. I would like to see the source code used to do that.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,259 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#52
I used a program I wrote a year ago to create and attempt to solve number mazes. Grid sizes larger than 9x9 are almost guaranteed to fill 16 GiB of RAM with 8 threads (what I have installed). Every cell it explores, it saves in memory along with all the previous cells it explored. On top of that, it branches everywhere it can making sure it never double backs on itself. Memory use is often exponential compared to the grid size.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#53
its because killing one process there is no delay the issue is when you have a 1000 waiting on the same lock
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
639 (1.82/day)
Likes
190
System Name My System
Processor Intel Core i5 3570k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling ThermalTake Water 2.0
Memory 4x4 GB of Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R9 380 with 4 GBs of RAM
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB SSD (https://www.techpowerup.com/ssdz/details/5163/)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply Corsair 750 Watt
Keyboard Logitech Wave
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/678sbr
#54
I used a program I wrote a year ago to create and attempt to solve number mazes. Grid sizes larger than 9x9 are almost guaranteed to fill 16 GiB of RAM with 8 threads (what I have installed). Every cell it explores, it saves in memory along with all the previous cells it explored. On top of that, it branches everywhere it can making sure it never double backs on itself. Memory use is often exponential compared to the grid size.
You could in theory do that by creating several IO.MemoryStreams and loading huge files into them thus keeping the data in RAM.

I have used IO.MemoryStreams to keep data in RAM until the data is ready to be written to disk.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#55
think of it this way you have a 1000 people waiting to jump off a bridge at the middle of the bridge there is a man with a you-may-jump stamp he can only stamp one person and a time and nobody may jump until they get there stamp

so everything grinds to a halt while one person at a time gets stamped backing up traffic and such for miles

once everybody gets there stamp they are free to leap to there impending entertainment/doom
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,259 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#56
its because killing one process there is no delay the issue is when you have a 1000 waiting on the same lock
That's the point: no one should ever be trying to kill 1000 processes at once. Microsoft is likely going to tell Google they need to multithread their process instead of spawning lots of processes. It's an all-around better approach.


I think what is likely happening is that there's a process destruction queue. Everytime Process.Kill is called, a lock is put in place as the new kill order is enqueued. The queue can't carry out it's work (because it keeps getting locked) until the all of the kill orders have been enqueued. At which point, the lock clears and the queue is executed killing all of the processes in less than a second. The issue isn't all that, the issue is the mouse hangs in the process (probably user32.dll). I think only Microsoft knows why the two are related.


I kind of want to drag out my old Vista laptop and see what happens on there. Problem is, it only has 2 GiB of RAM.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#57
That's the point: no one should ever be trying to kill 1000 processes at once. Microsoft is likely going to tell Google they need to multithread their process instead of spawning lots of processes. It's an all-around better approach.
good luck with that

this is a edge case anyway something doesn't come up in normal operation unless you are A: a really terrible programmer or B: attempting to force the issue

if you need anouther example of this: GTA:V alt-tab it and watch the entire system die
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
322 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
#58
That's the point: no one should ever be trying to kill 1000 processes at once. Microsoft is likely going to tell Google they need to multithread their process instead of spawning lots of processes. It's an all-around better approach.


I think what is likely happening is that there's a process destruction queue. Everytime Process.Kill is called, a lock is put in place as the new kill order is enqueued. The queue can't carry out it's work (because it keeps getting locked) until the all of the kill orders have been enqueued. At which point, the lock clears and the queue is executed killing all of the processes in less than a second. The issue isn't all that, the issue is the mouse hangs in the process (probably user32.dll). I think only Microsoft knows why the two are related.


I kind of want to drag out my old Vista laptop and see what happens on there. Problem is, it only has 2 GiB of RAM.
lol...so the answer to bad coding/design is...well you shouldnt do that anyways so no reason to fix a bad design since it should normally not be happening anyways.

genius. Since no one should have more than 10 programs open we don't need 64 bit. or multi CPUs...moron.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#59
lol...so the answer to bad coding/design is...well you shouldnt do that anyways so no reason to fix a bad design since it should normally not be happening anyways.

genius. Since no one should have more than 10 programs open we don't need 64 bit. or multi CPUs...moron.
do you have any idea what you are talking about ?
do you even understand what the problem is and why/when it can happen

OR
you just gonna keep spewing windowz is teh suckz all day ?

the only moron here is you
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,259 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#60
lol...so the answer to bad coding/design is...well you shouldnt do that anyways so no reason to fix a bad design since it should normally not be happening anyways.

genius. Since no one should have more than 10 programs open we don't need 64 bit. or multi CPUs...moron.
This 1000 process test is dangerous close to a forkbomb which is used to execute denial of service attacks and otherwise shutdown a system (any system). Processes, even doing virtually nothing, require a significant amount of memory. Threads, on the other hand, require very little.

Let's say average memory consumption for a simple process in a modern OS is 20 MiB. 1000 processes translates to 20,000 MiB or 20 GiB. Most systems don't have that much RAM installed. Spawning another thread, on the other hand, takes maybe 0.5 MiB per thread--40 times less. You can accomplish the same amount of work with 500 MiB of RAM using threads versus 20,000 MiB of RAM using processes. It really isn't a choice.

That program I demonstrated, with a little tweaking, could literally make a 1000-core system run at 100%. It won't cause the OS to hang when closing either.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#61
This 1000 process test is dangerous close to a forkbomb which is used to execute denial of service attacks and otherwise shutdown a system (any system). Processes, even doing virtually nothing, require a significant amount of memory. Threads, on the other hand, require very little.

Let's say average memory consumption for a simple process in a modern OS is 20 MiB. 1000 processes translates to 20,000 MiB or 20 GiB. Most systems don't have that much RAM installed. Spawning another thread, on the other hand, takes maybe 0.5 MiB per thread--40 times less. You can accomplish the same amount of work with 500 MiB of RAM using threads versus 20,000 MiB of RAM using processes. It really isn't a choice.

That program I demonstrated, with a little tweaking, could literally make a 1000-core system run at 100%. It won't cause the OS to hang when closing either.
you are trying to reason with somebody that doesn't have a clue :(
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
866 (0.22/day)
Likes
204
Processor ES 6 core 2011 intel @ 4.4 ghz
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Display(s) 22" crt viewsonic g225f
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#63
Maybe I just failed to see the sarcasm from a guy with an Intel CPU. :p

Or I woke up grumpy because my internet is only now back after comcast had me netless for almost a week. Take your pick. ;)



Yes. It's not even broken in 7.
Hence....why I say FU to windows 10. I'll keep my windows 7 tyvm!
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
222 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#64
if you need anouther example of this: GTA:V alt-tab it and watch the entire system die
Just because of your weak-ass 4 cores CPU mate. Buy a Ryzen 7 and you can alt-tab all days.

The problem in this thread is different from your GTA example anyway. Also, this Google guy provided too little info. If he really did try to kill 1000 processes with consumer Win 10, the stupidity is his, not the OS. No consumer PC with Win 10 will ever need to kill 1000 processes. It's the job of servers, with a proper server OS to pair with.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#65
Just because of your weak-ass 4 cores CPU mate. Buy a Ryzen 7 and you can alt-tab all days.

The problem in this thread is different from your GTA example anyway.
exactly its the same issue relating to how locks function on desktop windows

I would't buy a AMD ryzen cpu if it was the last cpu on earth

and i got news for you it happens on 6 core cpu's as well

my 4670k may be a generation old but it will still run circles around your chip in every gaming benchmark
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
222 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#66
exactly its the same issue relating to how locks function on desktop windows

I would't buy a AMD ryzen cpu if it was the last cpu on earth

and i got news for you it happens on 6 core cpu's as well

my 4670k may be a generation old but it will still run circles around your chip in every gaming benchmark
So salty lol. Also Ryzen 7 are 8 core so your point is invalid.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#67
So salty lol. Also Ryzen 7 are 8 core so your point is invalid.
nope still vaild happens regardless of cpu GTA:V is one-thread bound anyway
it can use up to 6 threads(one per logical cpu) but they will only execute as fast as the master thread (cpu0)
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
8,173 (2.13/day)
Likes
7,184
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 1800X @ 4.1Ghz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE X370 Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD (128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FS/TS Extreme FS 14011:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14938447 TS 4769:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3315715
#68
No consumer PC with Win 10 will ever need to kill 1000 processes.
Developers do this a lot in builds.

Developers use consumer OSes on occasion too.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#69
its less about the amount of processes and more about the time needed for it to release the lock and move onto the next process and release the lock again kill it and start over
its stalling out on releasing the lock and its causing something like a 900MS delay which is a eternity for a cpu
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
222 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#70
nope still vaild happens regardless of cpu GTA:V is one-thread bound anyway
it can use up to 6 threads(one per logical cpu) but they will only execute as fast as the master thread (cpu0)
Lol. We are talking about alt-tabing, why are you trying to prove GTA:V is one thread?? To be honest given that you are on a 4 core/ 4 thread CPU, it's hard to describe the feel of an 8 core/ 16 thread. Go grab yourself one and enjoy its smoothness, mate.

And where did you pull the 900ms from lol? You are really lightening my day, mate.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#71
Lol. We are talking about alt-tabing, why are you trying to prove GTA:V is one thread?? To be honest given that you are on a 4 core/ 4 thread CPU, it's hard to describe the feel of an 8 core/ 16 thread. Go grab yourself one and enjoy its smoothness, mate.

And where did you pull the 900ms from lol? You are really lightening my day, mate.
think what you want kid
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
222 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#72
think what you want kid
Oh, so it's name calling time? :)


So much for "running circles in every gaming benchmarks", lol.

Take my advice. Next time if you alt tab and get massive slow-down, please think about changing your CPU. Even the console peasants have 8 cores, why your master race machine has only 4? Think about it and if you have money to spend and don't like AMD, no one would stop you from buying the shiny 4 cores i7, at least it is better than your current 4670k :)
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,470 (0.43/day)
Likes
658
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#73
Why is this on "HeadLines"? Look like a bunch of bozos, but hey......
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2017
Messages
119 (0.36/day)
Likes
45
Location
Italy
#74
I don't get why some people have called BS on the Goma compiler.
You can't hope to run a biuld process relying on threads only.
When the linker starts reading all the stuff it has to, threads will start to compete heavly with each other, no matter how much effort you put into careful programming.
That said, Goma is a distributed compiler; the supervisor needs processes to keep track of various networked machines compiling at once, not threads.
There are no other ways really.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,259 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#75
The problem in this thread is different from your GTA example anyway. Also, this Google guy provided too little info. If he really did try to kill 1000 processes with consumer Win 10, the stupidity is his, not the OS. No consumer PC with Win 10 will ever need to kill 1000 processes. It's the job of servers, with a proper server OS to pair with.
Server 2012 R2 does the same.

Developers do this a lot in builds.

Developers use consumer OSes on occasion too.
My guess is he had 48 processes (one per logical core) running that were killed at once. He noticed the 125 ms hitch and investigated by trying 1000. 48 is a lot; 1000 is crazy. Visual Studio only uses 4 or 5 processes usually.
 
Last edited: