• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 11 TPM Requirement? Bypass it in 5 Minutes

Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,211 (0.66/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Hi,
I did not see a tpm chip port on my z490 apex but it does have tpp or what ever it is in bios that can be enabled.
But yeah always on that bothers me a little seeing I will never use bitlocker or similar
Exactly... All that new tech is just what to my mind :slap:
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (4.70/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Exactly... All that new tech is just what to my mind :slap:
Hi,
Almost done with verifying 11's system image
Bad thing it's on my m.2 hell I don't use 10 that much at all anyway so guess I'll leave 11 on it for giggles until ms kills it for the other three 11 violations :D
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,211 (0.66/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Hi,
Almost done with verifying 11's system image
Bad thing it's on my m.2 hell I don't use 10 that much at all anyway so guess I'll leave 11 on it for giggles until ms kills it for the other three 11 violations :D
I have Beta and Dev on separate drives so. Including WIN10LTSC on the slow but after things loaded useful laptop based IDE HDD since 10 uses thank God the same loader as 11

WIN10LTSC on IDE Laptop HDD
WIN10 on 120GB mSata
WINBETA on 240GB mSata
WiNDeV on 256GB mSata

As stated before I do this for FuN kinda "Testing"
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (4.70/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
I have Beta and Dev on separate drives so. Including WIN10LTSC on the slow but after things loaded useful laptop based IDE HDD since 10 uses thank God the same loader as 11

WIN10LTSC on IDE Laptop HDD
WIN10 on 120GB mSata
WINBETA on 240GB mSata
WiNDeV on 256GB mSata

As stated before I do this for FuN kinda "Testing"
Hi,
I was at first just going to install 11 on my z490 build on sata ssd but I'm busy on it atm and for the next couple weeks so it will have to wait.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,211 (0.66/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Hi,
I was at first just going to install 11 on my z490 build on sata ssd but I'm busy on it atm and for the next couple weeks so it will have to wait.
Everyone here has money ha. Sadly not so here. Our internet is only 1.2MB DL

I can't work nor drive but at least I'm here. I buy used parts on eBay so
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,938 (3.21/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Everyone here has money ha. Sadly not so here. Our internet is only 1.2MB DL

I can't work nor drive but at least I'm here. I buy used parts on eBay so
Hey at least your haven' fun. Thats what makes a hobby worthwhile.
 

Tauceti_5

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
The clean install method where it asks to copy the regedit lines onto notepad did not work for me AT ALL. i followed step by step carefully and went over it 3 times, after which i gave up, i dont know maybe im dumb, from what i gather, copy and paste, save as bypass.reg, move to usb drive and boot fr usb drive, go up until it says its not supported go back, hit shift+f10 and open regedit, import bypass.reg and thats it. Exactly what i did but it said the code was incorrect. So i gave up
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,211 (0.66/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
The clean install method where it asks to copy the regedit lines onto notepad did not work for me AT ALL. i followed step by step carefully and went over it 3 times, after which i gave up, i dont know maybe im dumb, from what i gather, copy and paste, save as bypass.reg, move to usb drive and boot fr usb drive, go up until it says its not supported go back, hit shift+f10 and open regedit, import bypass.reg and thats it. Exactly what i did but it said the code was incorrect. So i gave up
Odd you did download my file right? Should be easy from there as you subscribed
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,339 (5.54/day)
Location
USA
and installation on a GPT partitioned drive
It should be noted that with the use of the bypasses in the article above, Windows 11 can be installed to a non-UEFI system and to a drive formatted MBR. I am currently personally running 3 systems in this configuration.

I wonder if this is a way to let MS backpedal with TPM.
Very likely! This gives them a way to allow users that do not meet their artificial limitations to bypass them completely, which allows them to save face.

Hi,
Still requires tpm 1.2 and ability to enable it
Or and operable tpm 1.2 chip or I suppose tpm 2.0 chip so scalpers rejoice.

Add image
View attachment 219897
I think you missed the point of the article..

If Microsoft allows this and even themselves gives you a bypass option when upgrading from Windows 10, why dont they just nix the requirement all together?
Excellent question..

if you upgrade to w11 with non supported pc you ll get errors or incompatibility.
This is both flawed and incorrect. We do NOT need to spread disinformation.

Misleading title is misleading.
Not at all. The title of the article is perfectly stated!

It's the lack of Windows 11 CPU driver support for anything older than an 8th gen Intel. Got secureboot, tpm 2.0, and a UEFI BIOS, but my Haswell CPU is deemed by MS to be incompatible. It is especially irritating when W11 works perfectly fine on a 12.5 year old PC with a 10 year old CPU.
That is total FUD on the part of microsoft. Windows 11 has been tested on CPU's as old as Core 2 Duo with no ill effect. Whatever you have, install using the bypass, enjoy!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
775 (0.18/day)
Location
US
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X [3.7GHz/4.6GHz][6C/12T]
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PRO [X570]
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 RGB Black Edition
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB [DDR4 3600][2x16GB][16-19-19-39@1.35V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE
Storage [OS] Samsung 970 Evo 500GB | [Storage] 980 1TB | 860 Evo 1TB | 850 Evo 500GB | Seagate Firecuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 [27"][2560x1440@144Hz][Nano IPS][LED][G-SYNC Compatible][DP]
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC S1200A High Definition Audio CODEC
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1+ [+12V: 83.3A 999.6W][80 Plus Gold]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K55 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro [20H2][64-bit]
This article was perfectly timed for me, I was planning on looking up the current popular methods of installing or upgrading on older hardware today when you posted this, and I just used the updated appraiserres.dll method with the ISO to install Windows 11 on a Haswell laptop with an i5-4200U, I don't know if it will update yet, but it installed without issue.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,211 (0.66/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
This article was perfectly timed for me, I was planning on looking up the current popular methods of installing or upgrading on older hardware today when you posted this, and I just used the updated appraiserres.dll method with the ISO to install Windows 11 on a Haswell laptop with an i5-4200U, I don't know if it will update yet, but it installed without issue.
I have understood how about the appraiserres.dll I mean I copied that from the WIN10 to a WiN11 but it didn't work for me so the reg file was next so
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
775 (0.18/day)
Location
US
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X [3.7GHz/4.6GHz][6C/12T]
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PRO [X570]
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 RGB Black Edition
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB [DDR4 3600][2x16GB][16-19-19-39@1.35V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE
Storage [OS] Samsung 970 Evo 500GB | [Storage] 980 1TB | 860 Evo 1TB | 850 Evo 500GB | Seagate Firecuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 [27"][2560x1440@144Hz][Nano IPS][LED][G-SYNC Compatible][DP]
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC S1200A High Definition Audio CODEC
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1+ [+12V: 83.3A 999.6W][80 Plus Gold]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K55 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro [20H2][64-bit]
I have understood how about the appraiserres.dll I mean I copied that from the WIN10 to a WiN11 but it didn't work for me so the reg file was next so

I meant I used the upgrade method and deleted the file after starting setup from the mounted ISO to upgrade the system.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
67 (0.07/day)
System Name Compaq Presario
Processor AMD K6-2 400MHz
Cooling Yes
Memory 128MB SD RAM
Video Card(s) Diamond Stealth III S540 Savage4 Pro 32MB AGP 4X
Storage 10.1GB IDE, 52x CD-ROM
Display(s) 15" SVGA CRT
Software Widows 98 SE
Benchmark Scores Higher than yours, nerd!
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
127 (0.03/day)
Location
Christchurch, New Zealand
That is total FUD on the part of microsoft. Windows 11 has been tested on CPU's as old as Core 2 Duo with no ill effect. Whatever you have, install using the bypass, enjoy!

I've known since after installing the "leaked" Windows 11 iso that the OS will run on anything Windows 10 runs on. I will not install the final release given the current circumstances, else it becomes another Windows 11 demo. The trial period is over. No more bypasses. I don't want anything nobbled in the area of security updates, bug fixes, and additional feature updates.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,339 (5.54/day)
Location
USA
I will not install the final release given the current circumstances
Why not? It works perfectly. I've now done 13 installs. No issues whatsoever.

I don't want anything nobbled in the area of security updates, bug fixes, and additional feature updates.
That's not happening. Several of the systems I've installed have already downloaded and installed a few updates. Those threats of blocked updates are total FUD as well it seems. Install on the system of your choice, update if you like, enjoy!

It is now it's been updated.
I didn't see what it was before.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Location
St. Louis, MO
System Name Alienware 17R4 / Desktop
Processor Intel Core i7-6820HK @ 3.6 Ghz / AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard Alienware 17R4 / ASUS X570-F
Cooling Laptop Cooling / EK-Velocity D-RGB/ Bitspower Classic 3080 Block
Memory 32GB Crucial Ballistix LT DDR4-2400 / 32GB Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 1070 GTX (Internal) / ASUS ROG STRIX 3080 Ti
Storage 500GB WD Black NVMe / 1TB Inland Premium / 1TB WD Black SN850 / 2TB Inland Premium
Display(s) ASUS TUF VG279QM
Case Alienware 17R4 / Lian-Li Dynamic 011 XL ROG
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933 Artemis / EVGA Nu Audio Pro w/ Beyerdynamic DT 990 / Pro Razer Seiren X
Power Supply 330W Dell PSU / EVGA P2 1200W Platinum
Mouse Logitech M600 / Logitech G903 / Razer Viper Chroma / Razer Naga Infinity
Keyboard Logitech G613 /Razer Huntsman Elite / Tartarus Pro
I had Windows 11 installed via Windows Update for a couple of weeks. At first, I wasn't having any issues. Then I was having issues with AMD software, specifically Ryzen Master stating that the driver wasn't installed properly.

I attempted a removal and reinstall, it didn't fix it. When I went to remove the AMD drivers with the AMD uninstall tool, and then reinstall them, my system could no longer boot into windows after the restart from uninstalling the AMD drivers. I continued to get a hard drive inaccessible error. I had to perform a clean install of Windows 10 to get my system back up and running.

I will be holding off on Windows 11 for the time being.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,339 (5.54/day)
Location
USA
I had Windows 11 installed via Windows Update for a couple of weeks. At first, I wasn't having any issues. Then I was having issues with AMD software, specifically Ryzen Master stating that the driver wasn't installed properly.

I attempted a removal and reinstall, it didn't fix it. When I went to remove the AMD drivers with the AMD uninstall tool, and then reinstall them, my system could no longer boot into windows after the restart from uninstalling the AMD drivers. I continued to get a hard drive inaccessible error. I had to perform a clean install of Windows 10 to get my system back up and running.

I will be holding off on Windows 11 for the time being.
Fresh install. If you're having those kinds of issues, it's time for a fresh install sometime soon anyway.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,526 (3.64/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
The clean install method where it asks to copy the regedit lines onto notepad did not work for me AT ALL. i followed step by step carefully and went over it 3 times, after which i gave up, i dont know maybe im dumb, from what i gather, copy and paste, save as bypass.reg, move to usb drive and boot fr usb drive, go up until it says its not supported go back, hit shift+f10 and open regedit, import bypass.reg and thats it. Exactly what i did but it said the code was incorrect. So i gave up
Those are the correct steps, could you take a photo of the error message with your phone?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
67 (0.07/day)
System Name Compaq Presario
Processor AMD K6-2 400MHz
Cooling Yes
Memory 128MB SD RAM
Video Card(s) Diamond Stealth III S540 Savage4 Pro 32MB AGP 4X
Storage 10.1GB IDE, 52x CD-ROM
Display(s) 15" SVGA CRT
Software Widows 98 SE
Benchmark Scores Higher than yours, nerd!
Why not? It works perfectly. I've now done 13 installs. No issues whatsoever.


That's not happening. Several of the systems I've installed have already downloaded and installed a few updates. Those threats of blocked updates are total FUD as well it seems. Install on the system of your choice, update if you like, enjoy!


I didn't see what it was before.
Sure you did. It's what's there now minus the update.
The clean install method where it asks to copy the regedit lines onto notepad did not work for me AT ALL. i followed step by step carefully and went over it 3 times, after which i gave up, i dont know maybe im dumb, from what i gather, copy and paste, save as bypass.reg, move to usb drive and boot fr usb drive, go up until it says its not supported go back, hit shift+f10 and open regedit, import bypass.reg and thats it. Exactly what i did but it said the code was incorrect. So i gave up
Are you sure you saved it as bypass.reg and not bypass.reg.txt? You need to change to all files when saving or it will be a txt file.
 

Tauceti_5

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
Odd you did download my file right? Should be easy from there as you subscribed

Those are the correct steps, could you take a photo of the error message with your phone?
I dont see any download file instructions, i was under the impression i only needed to copy and paste the code lines and thet was it.

I found a separate method by using a script through powershell. But it does require me to download a windowsmediacreationtool.bat that automatically modifies some system files/settings but i will use this method again as i would like to have a clean install without having to download 3rd party tools, as you can never be too safe, or at least modify those files myself (as shown here). I will take the picture once i get the error measage again.

One question before i try it again though, should i copy and paste exactly as it is shown (which i did) just copy and paste or should i get rid of the quotes around the title of each first new line of code, e.g.,

BypassTPMCheck=dword:00000001
Instead of
"BypassTPMCheck"=dword:00000001
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,526 (3.64/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
No, you should just paste the text, I've added this screenshot to the article with a little bit of extra text, in case that helps other visitors
 

Tauceti_5

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
Sure you did. It's what's there now minus the update.

Are you sure you saved it as bypass.reg and not bypass.reg.txt? You need to change to all files when saving or it will be a txt file.
Yep saved as bypass
No, you should just paste the text, I've added this screenshot to the article with a little bit of extra text, in case that helps other visitors

Ok i think i know what happened but will give it a try again, i deleted the "Windows Registry Editor Version 5.0" section, i thought it wasnt't needed. Do you think that was the issue?
Also i tried clean installing on a windows 10 drive, should i format the drive first and have deleted the partitions first?

I will try formatting the entire drive and deleting all partitions first.

Sure you did. It's what's there now minus the update.

Are you sure you saved it as bypass.reg and not bypass.reg.txt? You need to change to all files when saving or it will be a txt file.
Yep saved as bypass.reg
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,526 (3.64/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
i deleted the "Windows Registry Editor Version 5.0" section, i thought it wasnt't needed. Do you think that was the issue?
That is definitely the issue
 

Tauceti_5

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
That is definitely the issue
Honestly, I always find a way to mess things up, definetly will try again but on my slow internet connection really dont wanna go through the whole 4 hours through microsoft's official install tool, how safe is it do you think using AveYo's Universal MediaCreationTool on github as described on tomshardware for a clean install.


Creation tool on github:



It really got me thinking because using microsoft official tool, the boot drive was about 30 gb, and using the unofficial modified tool the flash drive is 4 gb. So looking up file size for usb boot drive for windows 11, its at least 5 gb, so my 30 gb boot drive really got me thinking.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,526 (3.64/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
No experience with that tool.

No idea why you're getting 30 GB with Microsoft's MCT, the Windows 11 ISO file is 5.3 GB.

You should just be able to recreate the bypass.reg file on your USB stick, and you're good to go, no need to download everything again.
 
Top