• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 8 Consumer preview up for grabs

Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
652 (0.26/day)
Likes
58
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name LS Vtec B18B1 Bolt Ons
Processor AMD Phenom ii 1045t x6 @ 3.5Ghz OC
Motherboard ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 AM3+
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO Push Pull
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) Black 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 Dual-X
Storage Samsung EVO 250gb SSD/Samsung 500gb 7200 rpm/WD Cavirar Green 1TB
Display(s) Acer H236HLbid IPS
Case NZXT Gamma (Powder Coated Champion White)
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SB0460
Power Supply NZXT HALE82 V2 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores Vtec
#51
Windows 8 Nvidia drivers?? May try this out today :) I'll put it on my usb stck, much quicker install.
The Nvidia drivers work, I installed it using the Windows 7 Nvidia drivers and works like a charm
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#52
Oeh!!

Found working drivers then?
No, same drivers. I had to basically go into the device manager, tell it to install HD7000 series engineering sample (closest thing that was listed), then direct it to the driver itself. To get it to do that, you need to extract the AMD driver files to the C: folder like you normally would during a regular install. Then you cancel the install itself... You do this before forcing the driver. :)
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,543 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,051
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#53
How to install Windows 8 from a USB drive

HEXUS has an updated article on how to install Windows 8 from a USB drive, which will come in very handy for those who want to install the latest public preview version.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,831 (1.49/day)
Likes
2,220
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5820K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 15-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 32GB + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#54
Can someone also measure DPC latency.... it is horrid... ~0.1ms:confused:
 
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
502 (0.14/day)
Likes
108
System Name His - Hers - Guest - Guest - Guest
Processor i7 5960x - i7 990x -930 -i7 870 - i7 870
Motherboard Evga X99 - X58 - x58 - P55 FTW 200's
Cooling Frio Frio Frio Frio
Memory Gskills 4GB 1866 all slots
Video Card(s) Evga 970GTX - 770GTXx6
Storage 500GB evo 850 SSDx2 Raid 0, 120GB SSDx2, 120GB SSDx2, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Antec 1200, 1200, 900, 900
Power Supply Antec 1200 watt
Software Windows 7 Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Who cares
#55
how do i get the Start bar?
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#56
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
502 (0.14/day)
Likes
108
System Name His - Hers - Guest - Guest - Guest
Processor i7 5960x - i7 990x -930 -i7 870 - i7 870
Motherboard Evga X99 - X58 - x58 - P55 FTW 200's
Cooling Frio Frio Frio Frio
Memory Gskills 4GB 1866 all slots
Video Card(s) Evga 970GTX - 770GTXx6
Storage 500GB evo 850 SSDx2 Raid 0, 120GB SSDx2, 120GB SSDx2, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Antec 1200, 1200, 900, 900
Power Supply Antec 1200 watt
Software Windows 7 Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Who cares
#57
imo no start is fail and will cost a lot of sales......
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#58
imo no start is fail and will cost a lot of sales......
I imagine the OS itself is quite good, it is that repulsive Metro UI that I dislike.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#59
are there any compatibility issues with any software?
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#60
imo no start is fail and will cost a lot of sales......
No start? There is start button it just goes into a screen of the metro UI, instead of the normal box thing.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#61
Hy guys, have a quick question. I just installed this preview on my comp(system Specs), on a seperate drive. But now, i dont have a dual-boot for booting my normal win 7 install, it automatically goes into win 8. Is there a quick way to fix this? Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
652 (0.26/day)
Likes
58
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name LS Vtec B18B1 Bolt Ons
Processor AMD Phenom ii 1045t x6 @ 3.5Ghz OC
Motherboard ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 AM3+
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO Push Pull
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) Black 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 Dual-X
Storage Samsung EVO 250gb SSD/Samsung 500gb 7200 rpm/WD Cavirar Green 1TB
Display(s) Acer H236HLbid IPS
Case NZXT Gamma (Powder Coated Champion White)
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SB0460
Power Supply NZXT HALE82 V2 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores Vtec
#62
Can this be install to a tablet?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#63
Hy guys, have a quick question. I just installed this preview on my comp(system Specs), on a seperate drive. But now, i dont have a dual-boot for booting my normal win 7 install, it automatically goes into win 8. Is there a quick way to fix this? Thanks
go to msconfig and there you can choose boot priorities.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#65
Can this be install to a tablet?
If the tablet has a x86 processor, like an AMD brazos(AMD C or E series) or an Intel Atom processor, you can:)

Afaik the ARM version isnt open to the public yet.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#66
go to msconfig and there you can choose boot priorities.
In msconfig, boot, there is only "Windows 8 consumer preview (C:\Windows) : Current OS ; Default OS"

Any ideas how i can get back to my win 7 install, without manually removing the drive with windows 8 install?
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
203 (0.06/day)
Likes
86
Location
Western NC
System Name dell beast
Processor dual Xeon x5675
Motherboard dell t7500
Cooling stock
Memory 36gb ecc ddr3
Video Card(s) quadro 4000
Storage 2x100gb hp ssd
Display(s) asus 23.8" 1080p
Case t7500
Audio Device(s) some old sound blaster
Power Supply 1200watt dell
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software win10x64
#67
you can hit f8 before anything boots just like before, then you are greeted with a new gui interface to choose your OS and to select your default from there, also set timers for booting into said default
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#68
You must have done something wrong like installing over your win7 OS. Try and take out the spare drive.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,977 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,547
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#69
imho microsoft need to understand from a productivity point ,their start button was far more effective

if i want an OC session i need to start 3-10 different bits of software ,and the start menu is where its at, i could make shortcuts if i wanted and i could if i wanted make them shorcuts big ,but i dont because im a meter at most away from a massive screen and i dont use them frequently, same with games , a place microsoft might have focused a bit more on in my oppinion the games folder has been totally useless for years ,it requires a lot of effort that steam and origin do not require ,but again ,i dont want a shorcut or anything similar for every game i have,

its nice to come across something you havent used/ seen for a while but with this crappy made for idiots metro nonesense software is going to genuinely get forgotten about in the bowls of many a pc

oh and i dont want soddin facebook updates and appointments and bullshit all over my desk space, I want a nice serene view ,minimally ruined by shortcuts ,wherein i can get on with something without difficulty
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,543 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,051
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#70
its nice to come across something you havent used/ seen for a while but with this crappy made for idiots metro nonesense software is going to genuinely get forgotten about in the bowls of many a pc

oh and i dont want soddin facebook updates and appointments and bullshit all over my desk space, I want a nice serene view ,minimally ruined by shortcuts ,wherein i can get on with something without difficulty
Ah, there speaketh the clued up. Unfortunately, the clueless outnumber us 100 to 1 or maybe 1000 to 1, so MS is gonna pander to them, not us. I remember when I first saw the iPad and wasn't impressed and neither were the reviewers. However, that didn't stop it selling in the zillions and scaring the shit out of Microsoft. So, what do we have now? iPad clones! :banghead: That's what Metro is all about. A dumbed down, vendor locked in interface that those fucking dumbasses love and is being foisted on us. :mad: So, how long until the old desktop is banished forever and we're left with this braindead interface only? Damn, I can't rant enough about this.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#71

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,876 (3.46/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#72
Ah, there speaketh the clued up. Unfortunately, the clueless outnumber us 100 to 1 or maybe 1000 to 1, so MS is gonna pander to them, not us. I remember when I first saw the iPad and wasn't impressed and neither were the reviewers. However, that didn't stop it selling in the zillions and scaring the shit out of Microsoft. So, what do we have now? iPad clones! :banghead: That's what Metro is all about. A dumbed down, vendor locked in interface that those fucking dumbasses love and is being foisted on us. :mad: So, how long until the old desktop is banished forever and we're left with this braindead interface only? Damn, I can't rant enough about this.
So the reason the iPad gets great reviews is because everyone but you is clueless? Good god. How is Metro dumbed down and vendor locked? WTF does that even mean here?

I think I'll like the start page. Kinda like widgets but the entire screen. And I don't use the start meny anyway other than the search function and I can do that with the start screen too.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
203 (0.06/day)
Likes
86
Location
Western NC
System Name dell beast
Processor dual Xeon x5675
Motherboard dell t7500
Cooling stock
Memory 36gb ecc ddr3
Video Card(s) quadro 4000
Storage 2x100gb hp ssd
Display(s) asus 23.8" 1080p
Case t7500
Audio Device(s) some old sound blaster
Power Supply 1200watt dell
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software win10x64
#73
i have to say, i'm loving the new win8. i can get to things much faster, will probably even make it my main OS at work. if you don't want facebook sync, then don't do it! you have less steps to not have it then to have it...if you don't like metro, turn it off...if you don't want win8 then don't get it...

i swear some people can be given free cash and they would complain it was too dirty or it won't all fit in their pocket...(not comparing win8 to free cash)
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#74
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#75
Help me out here, Metro is is short for metrosexual, correct?