• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

X-Fi Support Syndicate & Owner's Clubhouse

EarlZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
339 (0.08/day)
Likes
6
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 Rev1.1
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 4GB G.Skill 9-10-9-27-1T 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX580 1.5Gb
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung T220
Case Lian Li PC-P80
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
This started happening when I got my 5.1 speaker system ( Logitech Z-5500 ) sometimes I would lose all sound from the right channel ( both front and rear and sometimes including center ) and sometimes the volume is at an extremely low level even if the sound card output is at 100% now fixing this is either a reboot or a change of audio mode Game to Ent ( vice versa ) Is creative working on a permanent fix for this one ? Im using X-Fi Extreme Music and Windows 7 64bit 8GB of ram
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
This started happening when I got my 5.1 speaker system ( Logitech Z-5500 ) sometimes I would lose all sound from the right channel ( both front and rear and sometimes including center ) and sometimes the volume is at an extremely low level even if the sound card output is at 100% now fixing this is either a reboot or a change of audio mode Game to Ent ( vice versa ) Is creative working on a permanent fix for this one ? Im using X-Fi Extreme Music and Windows 7 64bit 8GB of ram
honestly, creative would just tell you its the speakers, go f**k yourself, buy our latest card.
 

EarlZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
339 (0.08/day)
Likes
6
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 Rev1.1
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 4GB G.Skill 9-10-9-27-1T 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX580 1.5Gb
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung T220
Case Lian Li PC-P80
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Well its clearly not the speakers since switching modes on the sound card fixes the issue, never had this problem when I was in 2.0 mode though.

Anyway for my previous post about the volume in gaming, is this an expected issue when your speaker setup is running in 5.1 mode , since I never had this volume problem back when I was using 2.1 I already reset all the volume levels and placed WMP/Winamp at 100% volume on their own settings, my sound card volume is at 25% while gaming i need to increase my Z-5500 volume to 75% to hear anything.. gonna try 2.0 mode later on and see if its just a 5.1 issue.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
to be honest, the only times when volume appears 'low' in 5.1 over 2.0, is when you've missed a channel/wired it incorrectly.

You know, missing the center channel would sound normal most of the time, except voices would be quiet (as they appear somewhat on the front channels, it'd be quiet, not silent)
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,523 (0.49/day)
Likes
233
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
sounds like the same issues i used to have in the early drivers in vista, ive had no problems at all running under windows 7
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
Well its clearly not the speakers since switching modes on the sound card fixes the issue, never had this problem when I was in 2.0 mode though.

Anyway for my previous post about the volume in gaming, is this an expected issue when your speaker setup is running in 5.1 mode , since I never had this volume problem back when I was using 2.1 I already reset all the volume levels and placed WMP/Winamp at 100% volume on their own settings, my sound card volume is at 25% while gaming i need to increase my Z-5500 volume to 75% to hear anything.. gonna try 2.0 mode later on and see if its just a 5.1 issue.


Do you have the latest version of OpenAL installed? It's a semi-"critical" API for both Vista and WIN7 - most games and apps support OpenAL (to an extent), and if they don't they can still make use of it (as the audio card drivers will can and will make use of it). It allows for proper channel mixing from an application through the OS kernel . . . if the game or app is being forced to go through WIN's kernal APIs, channel downmixing will occur, and possibly even be routed to the wrong output. Usually, the downmixing will retain LF/RF, while cutting everything else. The only apps that aren't affected by this "phenomena" are those that are "imbeded" into the OS - think apps like WIN Media Player. If it's a MS app, you won't have to worry about it being a problem.

Yeah, it sucks, and has been one of my only major gripes with Vista and WIN7, but nothing we can do about it . . . XP wasn't affected by this tripe, as applications could directly access the hardware. They can't with Vista/WIN7, the audio calls must be passed through the OS kernel and "translated" by the API . . .
 

EarlZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
339 (0.08/day)
Likes
6
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 Rev1.1
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 4GB G.Skill 9-10-9-27-1T 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX580 1.5Gb
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung T220
Case Lian Li PC-P80
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yes i have OpenAL installed, its just that the volume is extremely low when gaming no sound is dropped every thing is ultra crisp i just need to boost the volume from 25% to 75%-95%

So to avoid me constantly changing volumes I lowered Winamp and WMP's own volume, Winamp is now at about 15% software volume while WMP is between 50% to 100% coz some movies really have ultra low volumes that im aware of.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
Double check the individual channel settings in WIN's audio control panel. It doesn't always synch to the X-Fi control panel properly . . . which can leave some channels quieter than others when you make adjustments.
 

EarlZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
339 (0.08/day)
Likes
6
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 Rev1.1
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 4GB G.Skill 9-10-9-27-1T 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX580 1.5Gb
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung T220
Case Lian Li PC-P80
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
All channels are on the same sound level.. Probably Winamp just has a very loud software volume ?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
All channels are on the same sound level.. Probably Winamp just has a very loud software volume ?
It's possible . . .

Vista as well is a bit louder than XP is, and I'm still not 100% sure why that is . . . it's quite annoying, as volume adjustments made in Vista are not exactly the same needed in XP.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
Love my X-Fi XtremeMusic Card and the clarity it brings to my PC's sound. I can hear the difference when EAX is enabled for sure. Takes cycles off my already overloaded P4, so this is a must have for me. Creative has a monopoly with the EAX function, so you are really shoehorned into getting X-Fi if you want the best sound. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
Love my X-Fi XtremeMusic Card and the clarity it brings to my PC's sound. I can hear the difference when EAX is enabled for sure. Takes cycles off my already overloaded P4, so this is a must have for me. Creative has a monopoly with the EAX function, so you are really shoehorned into getting X-Fi if you want the best sound. :ohwell:


Well - thing is with EAX . . . everyone could support it, to an extent. The OpenAL API supports the majority of EAX calls through EAX 4.0HD, and even some from EAX 5.0HD . . . thing is, game devs are just too lazy to dig into OpenAL and make use of the features (even though it's absolutely free) . . .

meh . . . I'm not going to get back on my soap box :p
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
winamp at 50% volume = unboosted.

Past that, it amplifies the sound internally.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
winamp at 50% volume = unboosted.

Past that, it amplifies the sound internally.
Actually, the last time I used Winamp, it's volume slider did nothing but change the Windows main volume. It's part of the reason I switched to Foobar2000. Open the Windows slider and change WinAmp's volume, and see if it still does it.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Actually, the last time I used Winamp, it's volume slider did nothing but change the Windows main volume. It's part of the reason I switched to Foobar2000. Open the Windows slider and change WinAmp's volume, and see if it still does it.
i've seen it do both - i think its related to what output mode its using (directsound/waveout?)
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
865 (0.29/day)
Likes
165
Location
Porto
Processor Phenom II X3 720BE @ 3.3GHz, 4th core unlocked
Motherboard Asus M4A78-E
Cooling Schythe Ninja + Dual 120mm
Memory GEiL 2*2GB Gold
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD5870 1GB + PhysX/Computing 8800GTS 512MB
Storage Intel X25-M 80GB O.S. + WD 500GB Data
Display(s) HP 2408w 24" LCD
Case Antec Plusview 1000
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic + Gigaworks SB750 7.1 THX
Power Supply BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 650W
Software Windows 7 64bit
Well - thing is with EAX . . . everyone could support it, to an extent. The OpenAL API supports the majority of EAX calls through EAX 4.0HD, and even some from EAX 5.0HD . . . thing is, game devs are just too lazy to dig into OpenAL and make use of the features (even though it's absolutely free) . . .

meh . . . I'm not going to get back on my soap box :p
Truth be told, game devs are too lazy with everything that's not console-related.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
Well - thing is with EAX . . . everyone could support it, to an extent. The OpenAL API supports the majority of EAX calls through EAX 4.0HD, and even some from EAX 5.0HD . . . thing is, game devs are just too lazy to dig into OpenAL and make use of the features (even though it's absolutely free) . . .

meh . . . I'm not going to get back on my soap box :p
everyone COULD support it - but they'd also need to play licensing fees to Creative & they probably charge depending on if they think the games going to be a winner or not.

----

Ive been with Asus Xonars since November or last year & honestly i have to say that I miss my creative Fata1ty becase Asus's DS3DGX engine thats similar to creative alchemy still needs a fair bit of work & i had a fair few CTD's while gaming because of it.

creative drivers did take a lot of time to mature though but Asus's drivers are a bit of a laugh - theyve only released 2-3 drivers since windows 7 was in beta & they probably wont release another update until the end of the year.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,051 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,785
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
everyone COULD support it - but they'd also need to play licensing fees to Creative & they probably charge depending on if they think the games going to be a winner or not.

----

Ive been with Asus Xonars since November or last year & honestly i have to say that I miss my creative Fata1ty becase Asus's DS3DGX engine thats similar to creative alchemy still needs a fair bit of work & i had a fair few CTD's while gaming because of it.

creative drivers did take a lot of time to mature though but Asus's drivers are a bit of a laugh - theyve only released 2-3 drivers since windows 7 was in beta & they probably wont release another update until the end of the year.
I wish I would have seen this before I purchased a Xonar D2X a couple days ago:(
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
865 (0.29/day)
Likes
165
Location
Porto
Processor Phenom II X3 720BE @ 3.3GHz, 4th core unlocked
Motherboard Asus M4A78-E
Cooling Schythe Ninja + Dual 120mm
Memory GEiL 2*2GB Gold
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD5870 1GB + PhysX/Computing 8800GTS 512MB
Storage Intel X25-M 80GB O.S. + WD 500GB Data
Display(s) HP 2408w 24" LCD
Case Antec Plusview 1000
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic + Gigaworks SB750 7.1 THX
Power Supply BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 650W
Software Windows 7 64bit
everyone COULD support it - but they'd also need to play licensing fees to Creative & they probably charge depending on if they think the games going to be a winner or not.

As imperialreign said, if you stick to OpenAL routines, no one has to pay anything to Creative.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
does a SupremeFX X-Fi count to be in the club?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
so if its onboard then it doesnt count?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
I wish I would have seen this before I purchased a Xonar D2X a couple days ago:(
the Xonar is a great card! its just let down by driver support. games still work great on it. but a few games might have issues with the D3DGX engine - otherwise it works fine for most games
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
Truth be told, game devs are too lazy with everything that's not console-related.
Agreed - to an extent . . . depends on the dev team. Some go to amazing lengths with their work (ID, Raven, CryTech, etc.), others just seem to get by with very little . . .

everyone COULD support it - but they'd also need to play licensing fees to Creative & they probably charge depending on if they think the games going to be a winner or not.
As ToT pointed out, no one has to pay licensing fees for OpenAL. It's completely open source and freely available, and whatever features it supports are free to impliment . . . think of it like the OpenGL of the audio world.

having a realtek X-fi lets me talk in here :p
I think the "mod" status might have something to do with it :p

Seriously, though, any X-Fi is welcome . . . hell, any audio discussion is welcome, no matter what hardware you're running - so long as it's not Creative bashing (there are other forums for such antics) . . . we're even open to USB device users . . .


the Xonar is a great card! its just let down by driver support. games still work great on it. but a few games might have issues with the D3DGX engine - otherwise it works fine for most games

Agreed - I've only heard increasing complaints from ASUS' drivers, and it seems complaints about Creative's are dwindling. The Xonar series are great cards, just hampered by poor support . . .

Especially regarding ASUS' driver issues, I refer back to an earlier statement of mine where I had said that the larger their customer base gets, the more issues we'll see come out of the wood-work. Audio hardware is some of the pickiest and sensitive hardware in a PC, that fact hasn't changed at all over the last 20 years . . . instead, we've seen even more issues arise as other hardware has become faster and more powerful . . .

Same goes for Auzentech and their non-XFi cards - if their customer base continues to grow, we'll see more issues crop up with their drivers as well. Their X-Fi supported cards tend to follow the same route that Creative's go . . .
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
Im tempted to pick up another creative card in the future - just because it has less issues since the drivers have matured