• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

HousERaT

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
108 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Ballistix Tracer 8500
Video Card(s) HD 3870 Crossfire
Storage 74G Raptor
Display(s) A Sony big one
Case Kingwin SK523
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Yes :p
Ebola said:
3DM05 is CPU/Memory few sensitive
correct.... you will gain some points but very little by upping the rest of your system settings.
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
these are good cards, flash was a cinch and have been stable @560/610 and get about 6150 in '05.
will test more and post screens when I actually join the forum :0

btw: got the GTO2 from newegg for $199, seems they have gone up $20 in 2 days.
 

Superguy

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I'd just like to post my report. The mod worked for me. :)

Core wouldn only do XT speeds ... 520. A smidge more would cause artifacting. Memory would go to 595.

Benchmarks were consistent with what W1zzard posted on the mod article on my X2 3800 system, so I'm guessing the memory makes up a bit for the the slightly slower core.

Thanks for your work on this W1zzard and showing us this great value.

Super
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
542 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ 2.0 GHz, max 2.6 GHz with Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu
Motherboard EpoX 9NPA+Ultra nForce4 Ultra with Zalman ZM-NB47J
Cooling All Zalman heatsinks (CNPS7000B-AlCu, ZM-NB47J, VF700-Cu)
Memory 1 GB (2x512 MB) DDR400 Corsair XMS C2 series, max 233 MHz @ 2-3-2-9 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X800GTO2 256 MB PCIe max 540/600, modded to 16 pipes
Storage Seagate 80GB SATA, Maxtor 160GB PATA, Maxtor 200GB PATA
Display(s) Dell 17" Trinitron CRT
Case Lian Li PC-60B Plus
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek chip
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE, 485 watts, active PFC
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows XP Pro x64, Windows Vista RC1 32-bit
Unregistered said:
these are good cards, flash was a cinch and have been stable @560/610 and get about 6150 in '05.
will test more and post screens when I actually join the forum :0

btw: got the GTO2 from newegg for $199, seems they have gone up $20 in 2 days.
Looks like I ordered mine just in time. :D

I received it today, but I'm not done with testing yet. I just finished with finding my max overclocks before the mod. They are about 525 or 530 for the core and 604 for the memory (makes sense for the memory since the 1.6 ns chips are rated for 600 MHz, according to the Samsung site). I'll be benchmarking it then flashing the bios, then doing it all over again. I'll post my final results later or tomorrow.

It's kind of strange; it never artifacts at all while overclocking the gpu, it just eventually crashes when set too high. On my X800 GT, it would have artifacts before getting to the point that it would crash.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
542 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ 2.0 GHz, max 2.6 GHz with Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu
Motherboard EpoX 9NPA+Ultra nForce4 Ultra with Zalman ZM-NB47J
Cooling All Zalman heatsinks (CNPS7000B-AlCu, ZM-NB47J, VF700-Cu)
Memory 1 GB (2x512 MB) DDR400 Corsair XMS C2 series, max 233 MHz @ 2-3-2-9 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X800GTO2 256 MB PCIe max 540/600, modded to 16 pipes
Storage Seagate 80GB SATA, Maxtor 160GB PATA, Maxtor 200GB PATA
Display(s) Dell 17" Trinitron CRT
Case Lian Li PC-60B Plus
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek chip
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE, 485 watts, active PFC
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows XP Pro x64, Windows Vista RC1 32-bit
All done testing. The softmod was a success! Is it still a 100% success rate so far? BTW, I didn't download the modified bios to do it, I just used atiflash 3.09 to make a backup of the original bios, flashed an X850XT PE bios using the -newbios option (I don't remember which brand, but it probably doesn't matter), then flashed back the original bios without the -newbios option.

Max overclock (on stock cooling): 520 MHz core, 604 MHz memory

Here are my 3dmark 2005 scores with default settings. I've added in the X800GT clock speeds and the scores for my X800GT for comparison with an 8 pipeline setup at equivalent speeds, plus at some other speeds just for a comparison of what each is capable of.

Powercolor X800GT 256 MB
8 pipelines, stock clocks (472, 492): 3935
8 pipelines, max stable overclock (560, 526): 4504
8 pipelines, slightly unstable overclock (576, 555): 4750

Sapphire X800GTO2 256 MB
12 pipelines, stock clocks (398, 492): 4448
12 pipelines, X800GT clocks (472, 492): 4961
12 pipelines, max overclock (520, 600): 5563
16 pipelines, stock clocks (398, 492): 5008
16 pipelines, X800GT clocks (472, 492): 5528
16 pipelines, max overclock (520, 600): 6244

I couldn't quite reach the X850XT PE's core clock speed on stock cooling or reach as high of a core overclock as my X800GT, but it is still fast enough to get a very good score. :D Until I bought this card, I thought I'd never have a card this fast so soon. ;)
 
Last edited:
U

Unregistered

Guest
Sorry if it's a lame question but... does the Sapphire come with the Rage Theater chip?
I mean, I got me a Connect3d GTO and I was wandering if flashing it with the modded Sapphire GTO2 bios will have any effect on the video-in.
 

HousERaT

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
108 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Ballistix Tracer 8500
Video Card(s) HD 3870 Crossfire
Storage 74G Raptor
Display(s) A Sony big one
Case Kingwin SK523
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Yes :p
ShadowFlare said:
All done testing. The softmod was a success! Is it still a 100% success rate so far? BTW, I didn't download the modified bios to do it, I just used atiflash 3.09 to make a backup of the original bios, flashed an X850XT PE bios using the -newbios option (I don't remember which brand, but it probably doesn't matter), then flashed back the original bios without the -newbios option.

Max overclock (on stock cooling): 520 MHz core, 604 MHz memory

Here are my 3dmark 2005 scores with default settings. I've added in the X800GT clock speeds and the scores for my X800GT for comparison with an 8 pipeline setup at equivalent speeds, plus at some other speeds just for a comparison of what each is capable of.

Powercolor X800GT 256 MB
8 pipelines, stock clocks (472, 492): 3935
8 pipelines, max stable overclock (560, 526): 4504
8 pipelines, slightly unstable overclock (576, 555): 4750

Sapphire X800GTO2 256 MB
12 pipelines, stock clocks (398, 492): 4448
12 pipelines, X800GT clocks (472, 492): 4961
12 pipelines, max overclock (520, 600): 5563
16 pipelines, stock clocks (398, 492): 5008
16 pipelines, X800GT clocks (472, 492): 5528
16 pipelines, max overclock (520, 600): 6244

I couldn't quite reach the X850XT PE's core clock speed on stock cooling or reach as high of a core overclock as my X800GT, but it is still fast enough to get a very good score. :D Until I bought this card, I thought I'd never have a card this fast so soon. ;)
I'm guessing you did this with the stock heatsink?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,056 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,961
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
afaik the gto² cards dont have vivo
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
542 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ 2.0 GHz, max 2.6 GHz with Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu
Motherboard EpoX 9NPA+Ultra nForce4 Ultra with Zalman ZM-NB47J
Cooling All Zalman heatsinks (CNPS7000B-AlCu, ZM-NB47J, VF700-Cu)
Memory 1 GB (2x512 MB) DDR400 Corsair XMS C2 series, max 233 MHz @ 2-3-2-9 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X800GTO2 256 MB PCIe max 540/600, modded to 16 pipes
Storage Seagate 80GB SATA, Maxtor 160GB PATA, Maxtor 200GB PATA
Display(s) Dell 17" Trinitron CRT
Case Lian Li PC-60B Plus
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek chip
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE, 485 watts, active PFC
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows XP Pro x64, Windows Vista RC1 32-bit
HousERaT said:
I'm guessing you did this with the stock heatsink?
Yes, and I mentioned it somewhere in my post.
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
That's just plain awesome. Thanks Shadow, that really shows what the cards can do, VERY helpful man. I gotta test my card of 3DMark 05, I haven't downloaded it yet since I reformatted my hard drive, but I'd like to see how the Nvidia counterpart compares to this crazy crazy card.
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
W1zzard said:
afaik the gto² cards dont have vivo
So, if I flash my C3D with the modded Sapphire GTO² bios then it's bye-bye vivo?
Any rumors if a modded C3D X800GTO bios will be made availuble then?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
542 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ 2.0 GHz, max 2.6 GHz with Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu
Motherboard EpoX 9NPA+Ultra nForce4 Ultra with Zalman ZM-NB47J
Cooling All Zalman heatsinks (CNPS7000B-AlCu, ZM-NB47J, VF700-Cu)
Memory 1 GB (2x512 MB) DDR400 Corsair XMS C2 series, max 233 MHz @ 2-3-2-9 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X800GTO2 256 MB PCIe max 540/600, modded to 16 pipes
Storage Seagate 80GB SATA, Maxtor 160GB PATA, Maxtor 200GB PATA
Display(s) Dell 17" Trinitron CRT
Case Lian Li PC-60B Plus
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek chip
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE, 485 watts, active PFC
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows XP Pro x64, Windows Vista RC1 32-bit
Unregistered said:
So, if I flash my C3D with the modded Sapphire GTO² bios then it's bye-bye vivo?
Any rumors if a modded C3D X800GTO bios will be made availuble then?
Just do what I did with ATIFlash 3.09:

1) Make a backup of your original bios.
2) Flash any compatible 16 pipeline enabled bios using atiflash's -newbios option.
3) Flash your original bios without the -newbios option.

It's as simple as that, no modded bios needed.
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
Shadow, can you explain how to make a startup floppy? I'm trying to flash an Nvidia and I don't remember how to flash cards (I used to flash the 9800), and not sure what types of files I need to make it a startup disk (.exe, .rom, .bin)
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
542 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ 2.0 GHz, max 2.6 GHz with Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu
Motherboard EpoX 9NPA+Ultra nForce4 Ultra with Zalman ZM-NB47J
Cooling All Zalman heatsinks (CNPS7000B-AlCu, ZM-NB47J, VF700-Cu)
Memory 1 GB (2x512 MB) DDR400 Corsair XMS C2 series, max 233 MHz @ 2-3-2-9 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X800GTO2 256 MB PCIe max 540/600, modded to 16 pipes
Storage Seagate 80GB SATA, Maxtor 160GB PATA, Maxtor 200GB PATA
Display(s) Dell 17" Trinitron CRT
Case Lian Li PC-60B Plus
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek chip
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE, 485 watts, active PFC
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows XP Pro x64, Windows Vista RC1 32-bit
It's pretty simple no matter what Windows version you have. On any Windows version, insert a floppy disk into the drive, right-click the floppy drive in explorer, then click format. In there there is an option either saying something about making an ms-dos startup disk or copying system files depending on your version of Windows. Select that option and click start.

After you have your startup disk, copy to the disk the flash utility and any bios rom files you want to use. If your bios isn't setup to boot off a disk, you will need to change it to boot off of it. The process varies between different bioses.
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
ShadowFlare said:
Just do what I did with ATIFlash 3.09:

1) Make a backup of your original bios.
2) Flash any compatible 16 pipeline enabled bios using atiflash's -newbios option.
3) Flash your original bios without the -newbios option.

It's as simple as that, no modded bios needed.
Thanks for the advice, Sha. Still, I'm not sure if I understand this. It's not like I've flashed tons of hardware, but could you explain to me how 16 pipelines will remain active if I flash the bios back to the original?

And which are the compatible bios files, 'xept for the Saphire one that's going around?
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
128 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
System Name Homebrew
Processor Intel I5 4690k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 5
Cooling CPU: Prolimatek Megahelim 2+1 exhaust fan GPU: 570lx 240mm AIO w/kraken G10 + Ramsinks
Memory Kingston Hyper-X 2400 Savage 2 x 8Gb
Video Card(s) Asus 280X DC2T 3GD5 1140/1500Mhz
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb, HGST HDN724040ALE640, ST350064 500Gb, WD10EACS 1Tb, WD20EARS 2Tb
Display(s) Benq GW2265
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Gigabyte M6900
Keyboard Logitech G15 + Wolfking circular gaming KB
Software Windows 7 SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.doomiii.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/system-spec.html
U

Unregistered

Guest
ok can someone please answer this question?

Can the Connect3d X800GTO card be unlocked to 16 pipes?? ive seen atleast 6 people say yes and 6 people say no, What gives????!?! if the answer is yes why are people buying the more expensive GTO2 ?????
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
Well the GTO2 can be clocked/flashed to X850XT PE, and I hear the GTO can't. I'm not sure if it's pipes can be unlocked, but I know the potential is less.
 

HousERaT

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
108 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Ballistix Tracer 8500
Video Card(s) HD 3870 Crossfire
Storage 74G Raptor
Display(s) A Sony big one
Case Kingwin SK523
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Yes :p
Unregistered said:
ok can someone please answer this question?

Can the Connect3d X800GTO card be unlocked to 16 pipes?? ive seen atleast 6 people say yes and 6 people say no, What gives????!?! if the answer is yes why are people buying the more expensive GTO2 ?????
evidence suggests that the GTO "may" be unlocked but is by no means guaranteed. I think it's a load of crap that people are getting the GTO cards to unlock. Best bet is to stick with the GTO2 if you want a 16 pipe card. Don't forget, on the internet people can say anything.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
542 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ 2.0 GHz, max 2.6 GHz with Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu
Motherboard EpoX 9NPA+Ultra nForce4 Ultra with Zalman ZM-NB47J
Cooling All Zalman heatsinks (CNPS7000B-AlCu, ZM-NB47J, VF700-Cu)
Memory 1 GB (2x512 MB) DDR400 Corsair XMS C2 series, max 233 MHz @ 2-3-2-9 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X800GTO2 256 MB PCIe max 540/600, modded to 16 pipes
Storage Seagate 80GB SATA, Maxtor 160GB PATA, Maxtor 200GB PATA
Display(s) Dell 17" Trinitron CRT
Case Lian Li PC-60B Plus
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek chip
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE, 485 watts, active PFC
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows XP Pro x64, Windows Vista RC1 32-bit
Unregistered said:
Thanks for the advice, Sha. Still, I'm not sure if I understand this. It's not like I've flashed tons of hardware, but could you explain to me how 16 pipelines will remain active if I flash the bios back to the original?

And which are the compatible bios files, 'xept for the Saphire one that's going around?
The way it works is that when you do not use the -newbios option, there are settings it keeps in the bios. The number of pixel pipelines enabled is one such setting.

As for ones that are compatible, you need to know what type of gpu you have. Look or ask around to see if you can find out what type yours is. It should be either and R423, R430, or R480 (most likely R480). After finding that out, look up that gpu in the gpu database on this site to find what 16 pixel pipeline cards use that. When you've found that, download a bios for that type of card from the bios download page on this site.

Unregistered said:
ok can someone please answer this question?

Can the Connect3d X800GTO card be unlocked to 16 pipes?? ive seen atleast 6 people say yes and 6 people say no, What gives????!?! if the answer is yes why are people buying the more expensive GTO2 ?????
The reason people are buying the GTO2 is that there has been a 100% success rate so far for unlocking them just by flashing the bios. Sometimes it's better to get something that's (basically) guaranteed than taking a chance with something that isn't. ;) Also, so far none have been found to have any defective pipelines either. Even if another card is unlockable, it is not necessarily guaranteed that those pipelines are not defective.

Besides, this card has a power connection, but other GTO's I've seen don't. That's probably something significant; it could possibly be needed when unlocking the pipelines and overclocking. It makes sense since the higher end ATI cards have it, right?
 
Last edited:
M

Me Again

Guest
The C3D GTO has a power connector as well... well, it has two actually, the other one looks like the floppy power pins...

Now, lets see if I understand what I've read so far here:

1. Flash my C3D GTO with -newbios and the modded Sapphire (or a C3D XL bios) 16p bios to get the pipes.
2. Flash without -newbios back to my original GTO bios so that I can get my Theater too.
3. Pray to whatever deity I believe in...

So, do I get this correctly? Sure, I'll first make certain I have some free time on my hands and make me a autoflash recovery diskette...

Ehh, sounds like fun.

PS: I haven't played around with my GTO too much yet, but I do get the 12 pipes to stable 550 MHz core and 73c temp. Haven't tried to go highter.
No idea what the core is - ATI Tool detects a 423, but that's most likely due to the bios. Taking off the heatsink does not appeal to me, for now.
 

Trevor

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2005
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Newegg got them back in stock... and jacked the price up... (again)
229 now.
xD
Lucky I got mine from 219... missed out on the 199 ones ;_;