1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenoms Dell Transformation Project

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Thats not as fun.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,774 (9.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Could go all out and order a PCI dual gigabit nic card and run IPfire (custom router linux distro) on Virtual Box and have a Router/Firewall/Fileserver/VM machine all at the same time!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    I can see where buying the wrong board and having to send it back and spend even more money out of pocket would so so much more fun than just having something that works. :laugh:
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Stop being so Emo.
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Alright well, There are 2 guys at work are interested in the board so im going to sell it to one of them. Hopefully make about the same amount of money I spent on it, since its a brand new board. Never even powered on the system. So we will see how that goes, then ill get that Asrock board.

    So as I was pulling the motherboard out and packing it away, I noticed something with the power buttom/LED assembly on this Dell, and that is you can literally slide out the LEDs and power switch and put in new ones in the little green holder. So I put in my new Apevia power switch, and will look at buying new LEDs to work with todays standard motherboard front panel connections. Ill have pictures posted up later tonight.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
    newtekie1 says thanks.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,220 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,260
    I wouldn't have, I can't stand NAS devices. The inexpensive ones are slow as shit, and the expensive ones cost just as much as building an actual server or more and offer less functionality.

    StarTech BEZELWRKIT Replacement Power Reset LED Wi... :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    About to order some modders mesh and LEDs to replace the dell ones for the power and HDD activity LED. This is turning into a case mod project too haha.

    I think people are forgetting this is a learning experience too. Main reason why Im building the server, I want to learn how to do things over network and get a bit more accustom to VMs.

    Edit:

    Possibly thinking about making a 92mm hole at the bottom of this dell case to have a bottom intake. Then get some case feet to raise it up a bit. Just a thought. Let me know what you guys think.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    With Apevia Power switch in.
    [​IMG]

    Apevia power switch taking the dells power switch and LED assemblies place. New Blue LEDs have been ordered.
    [​IMG]

    Thinking about spray painting the little green plastic thing to a black or something. The green is just lame and bright. I have black paint and shit so no extra cash spent. :)
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well I'm bored today and going to spray paint the green thing black. Ill post picture when Im done. should be quick.

    [​IMG]

    Done :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  10. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,103 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Can't wait to see what else you do to the case. Anything inperticular you have in mind for it? That big round dell logo on the side would make a nice fan hole. LOL
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I was wanting to drill out a 92mm hole at the bottom of the case and get custom case feet to give the case more airflow, but i dont know yet.

    I did just buy $35 worth of some modders mesh, front panel LEDs for power and HDD activity and cable management stuff.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,103 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Cool man. I have a very simliar if not identical system in my closet and wondered what I would ever do with it. You have gave me some great ideals. I have to gut it first which is a bummer considering it is a fully functioning system. Oh well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    The P4 system that was in it before is fully functional too, but horribly slow, and ive wanted to upgrade it for a long time just for the hell of it.
     
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,103 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have a matx s939 board with a x2 proc so I may be able to build a media server out of it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I want to see how good of cable management I can get out of this case and the stuff that I have coming. I very obsessive when it comes to cable management. If theres anything in computer building that I am a perfectionist about its the cabling.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,103 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am also curious of how this is going to turn out for you. I will be keeping an eye on the thread.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,054 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,635
    What was the video card in the original Dell system?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    HIS pci hd5450
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ordered the new board:

    Asrock H77M.
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Got the mesh, LEDs, and some other things. The LEDs are junk. Back to just using the power button. The Mesh is a little bit different then I anticipated but itll work. For some reason Frozencpu sent me a thing of Blood Red Coolant from EK. The hell? :confused:
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    LED's now?

    Unsub.
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Its the LEDs for the power button and HDD activity lol! :shadedshu But they dont fit. the 3mm and 5 mm. So Screw it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Update!

    So new goodies today, and some things put in place in preperation for the new board to come. enjoy

    [​IMG]

    Modders Mesh to cover up 5.25" slots since I will not be using DVD drives.
    [​IMG]

    Modders mesh to cover the opening for the front USB and panel audio. System is so old that the USB and panel connections are not standard to current motherboards. Thus having it there is useless.
    [​IMG]

    Overall look. Pretty happy about it.
    [​IMG]

    Update again friday night. This one will be much bigger.
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,054 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,635
    Is the floppy drive cover removable?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,122 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,325
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I hope you plan to use stock cooler with that ASRock board..the heat-sink-less analogue VRM needs airflow.

    XFast Ram software might be quite useful for your intent on playing with VMs though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page