1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenoms Dell Transformation Project

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes, going to use stock cooler. I may in the future if I want to have some fun hacking up the case. Making a side window, with a 120mm side hole for side intake.

    Yes, and I was thinking about removing the whole grey part because you can, and then getting 3M Carbon Fiber Vinyl. :)




    So I got one of the LEDs i got to go into the holder, the 5mm one. The 3mm is still to small to go into the other whole for the hard drive activity LED. I guess Dell might have used a 4mm LED for that, and I cannot find and LED that size for this.
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Somewhat large updating coming later today since the board is coming today. So Ill rebuild it. Still don't have the drives, missed the sale yesterday the 2TB reds were going for $99 on newegg but went out of stock in minutes.
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Update

    System is built minus the drives. This case is interesting to try and get good cable management, had to do some creative things to get it to look how it does, which I think is probably the cleanest a dell will ever see.

    CPU, Memory with new Motherboard.
    [​IMG]

    Motherboard. H77 chipset to run Hardware RAID. The XFast Lan may come in handy for file transfers over network.
    [​IMG]

    Showing off the cabling I did for the rear fan. Wrapped it around till it was the perfect length to connect to the motherboard.
    [​IMG]

    Tight front panel cabling. With new power switch and blue power LED, and spray painted black plastic little holder.
    [​IMG]

    Some power cabling. WIsh Asrock boards were matte black like Gigabytes higher end. Dont like the chocolate looking color when in light.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Cabling will probably get a lot more messy when I get the drives put in. Installing those will be interesting too because this case is only designed for for 1 drive, but I have some ideas.

    Let me know what you guys think so far.

    Also let me know what you guys think of the idea of putting 3M Carbon Fiber Vinyl over the front panel thats all light grey, and covering up the Dell emblem on the front.
    MT Alex says thanks.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    your right! Just noticed it has sport for another one of those. Nice ill buy one i think.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    Just as a warning, if you put the screw for the second bracket in the bottom of the case you will have to put some case feet on the case. Otherwise the screw will stick out and tear up whatever you put the computer on.

    But of course you can just use the screw to hold the cage in the back of the case and not put one in on the bottom.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    which is what ill probably do, and not bother with the bottom screw. The case already has feet though too.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Small update

    The server is running! Minus the hard drives haha. Thought id boot it up and get the bios updated to run Windows 8.

    [​IMG]


    Updating.........
    [​IMG]

    Sweet blue LED. At first it wasn't turning on, had to switch the connection around.
    [​IMG]


    Systems really quiet too, im surprised the little 92mm fan is as quiet is it is. I also set fan controlls for the CPU when it hits 50c itll go to Level 9 fan speed which is max. Im pretty sure thats what the automatic setting does haha.

    Also I don't have the option in the bios to run at 1600mhz on the memory :( stuck at 1066mhz.

    EDIT: Did some research on the board again on the site, and it says if you have an ivy bridge you can take memory to 1600 if you have a sandy bridge chip (Pentium G630) max is 1333. Might be the PNY memory being wierd, max option I have is 1066.
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    The options for RAM speed are dependent on the CPU because the memory controller is on the CPU. Most Sandy chips support 1066/1333, but the G630 only supports 1066 which is why that is the only option you have.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    okay that makes sense then. Memory speed shouldn't have much of an effect on doing file transfers and stuff though so.
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Decided to reorientate and organize the area in my desk this thing is going to go in. The shelf used to be down in the middle, so I moved it up, organized my windows, and games and some other stuff. Cleaned up the lower part for the system. I also took the door off. Debating if I will put it back on once the system is done and running.

    [​IMG]
  12. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Is that the headset you use? If so you should spend your money on some nice cans, instead:laugh: You spend too much time on the computer to use those Walkman style junkers.

    I'd vote door back on if the temperatures stay decent.
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah they are, but the thing is about the cans, they would be sweet, but I want to be able to have game sounds come out of my speakers, then you guys coming out of the mic, if i get nice cans I cant do that because most are 3.5mm connections and cover both ears

    Would be sweet to get some like Sennheiser PC360s or something haha, or not even that. Like Turtle Beach X12s.
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    ..uh...what do you think I do every day...many onboard soundcards allow you to separate front panel from rear as devices, so you plug headphones in front panel, speakers in the rear plugs, and TS run on front panel plugs.

    You just need to get open-ear cans, not sound isolating ones. Then when you want to play in quiet, push all sound through the cans.
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What About Discrete Sound Cards?
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Dependso n the card, but usually the same applies.


    If not, then you can usually use digital out and analog together, as I do with my D2X. I use digital out to my amp, then analogue for cans.

    lots of options there, just a matter of picking what works best with what ya got.
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah, I have an HT Omega Striker and I know you can't split front and rear with it. But i have been wanting to upgrade to a PCIe sound card.
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Then you can use onboard and the add-in. That's even easier. Just use onboard for TS.

    ;)

    Like I said, many options.:p
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    oh, I didn't even think about that!
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    Mine are split also.......you need a new desk too man. IMHO.
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Oh yeah, ive needed one for a while. But won't be worth it since im moving out to WSU in the fall so.
  22. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Go Cougars!

    Huck the Fuskies!
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Meh, both of them suck when it comes to football. Basically the Apple Cup is just a Game of Suck. "Who can Suck the Least"
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,684 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ordered 2 2TB Western Digital Red drives this morning. Went on sale again, and jumped on it. Just need Windows 8 now.
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    Glad you mentioned that, it made me check the 3TB drives and they were on sale too, so I bought 3!:toast:
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page