• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

30fps doubling image in games

Status
Not open for further replies.

laimis911

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hi, I want to ask :what component is responsible for doubling image in games ? The problem is all games(i can see this even in movies)without exception has this doubling artifact when fps are 40-30 or lower on my PC. for example when I caped my fps to 30 at 60Hz with fps limiter like in consoles my games are unplayable,I can't see a thing when rotating camera around,i see double faces,buildings etc in games. I had Xbox360 and i never saw anything like that . Is it my video card (HD 6870) could be the problem or HDTV or anything else? I did a research on internet and no real answer. I found some screenshots which shows exactly what I'm seeing . I have no problems with that when FPS are high ,like 50-60 but anything lower than 40 leads to unplayable image . Also i read that LCDs can stuck with frame for example when one frame is not cleared properly from the monitor another goes on top and the image goes double. I hope somebody could answer my question . and maybe anybody has the same problem ?

HERE IS THE EXAMPLES


 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#2
you have 3d vision on? lol

looks like some sort of blur effect gonne terrbly wrong.

EDIT: try another display - can you hook it up to your tv/another monitor to see where the problem is?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,629 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,355
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
I was going to say 3D as well.
 

laimis911

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#4
nope this is not 3d . this is usual 60Hz TV . the pics are not mine but you guys get the idea what i'm seeing . i tried to watch some videos on my another monitor and PC and it's the same ,no idea why games are rendered so badly at 30fps. and like i said i can see this even in movies which are at 30fps
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,279 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Sounds like something with the TV, I've seen this happen before with TVs. Usually there is some kind of setting on the TV that fixes it.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,553 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
There's nothing wrong with your setup. You only see smooth motion when the graphics card is locked to the monitor refresh, typically called 'vsync' and there are no dropped frames.

So, if your monitor is working at 60Hz which most do, then you need the graphics card to animate the game at 60 frames per second (fps). If it does so at 30fps or any other rate, then you see effects like judder, screen tearing etc. In the movie business, this judder is called "strobing", but it's exactly the same thing and you see it on your TV all the time, because the movie frames are being shown at least twice each, depending on how they've adapted the movie to the TV refresh rate. This is 60Hz in America and some places, while others are at 50Hz, such as the UK.

Personally, I can't stand judder and I just wish that they filmed everything at the TV refresh rate to eliminate it.
 

laimis911

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#7
Sounds like something with the TV, I've seen this happen before with TVs. Usually there is some kind of setting on the TV that fixes it.
well i read some discussions about this . there were comparisons between plasmas and lcd because many people bumped in this and it's seem CRT monitors doesn't have this issue while newer plasmas and LCDs have . but another thing is why i never saw this on the same HDTV with my xbox360 , this leads me to believe that is something wrong with the PC not monitor .
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,553 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#8
well i read some discussions about this . there were comparisons between plasmas and lcd because many people bumped in this and it's seem CRT monitors doesn't have this issue while newer plasmas and LCDs have . but another thing is why i never saw this on the same HDTV with my xbox360 , this leads me to believe that is something wrong with the PC not monitor .
There's nothing wrong with the monitor. Have you read my explanation?

I know about this stuff, so trust me, that was the definitive answer to your question.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,629 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,355
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
nope this is not 3d . this is usual 60Hz TV .
this is irrelevant if the control panel for the card has 3D active;) You can easily turn on 3D features and get something similar to the images you are getting even without the correct equipment. Not saying it is the definite answer to the issue, just that the TV/screen doesn't matter.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#10
What game is that? GoW?
 

laimis911

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#11
There's nothing wrong with your setup. You only see smooth motion when the graphics card is locked to the monitor refresh, typically called 'vsync' and there are no dropped frames.

So, if your monitor is working at 60Hz which most do, then you need the graphics card to animate the game at 60 frames per second (fps). If it does so at 30fps or any other rate, then you see effects like judder, screen tearing etc. In the movie business, this judder is called "strobing", but it's exactly the same thing and you see it on your TV all the time, because the movie frames are being shown at least twice each, depending on how they've adapted the movie to the TV refresh rate. This is 60Hz in America and some places, while others are at 50Hz, such as the UK.

Personally, I can't stand judder and I just wish that they filmed everything at the TV refresh rate to eliminate it.
Are you having that double image while games are at 30fps too? because i don't understand some people say that they playing games at 30fps nice and smooth while i can't see a thing if there is 30fps . only games like witcher 2 ,crysis looks good even at 30fps because of motion blur i guess
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#13
um... aight... if you want any meaningful input you will need to tell us:

1. Make model of your display
2. Driver version
3. Steps that you have taken to troubleshoot.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,553 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Are you having that double image while games are at 30fps too? because i don't understand some people say that they playing games at 30fps nice and smooth while i can't see a thing if there is 30fps . only games like witcher 2 ,crysis looks good even at 30fps because of motion blur i guess
Yes, games showing 30fps on a 60Hz screen will show double images and the faster the image moves, the worse the effect is.

People say that it "looks smooth", because they don't know what they're talking about, to put it bluntly and it does nothing but confuse people that want to learn about this, such as yourself.

To generalize, it doesn't matter what rate your monitor refreshes at, if you display frames at a lower refresh, then you'll get artefacts like judder, stutter etc. And it looks crap.

For example, a game putting out 60fps on a 60Hz monitor will look beautifully smooth. Put that same 60fps with the monitor running at 120Hz and you'll see a double picture. Ironically, the motion will appear smooth to the eye though, because the judder/doubling is happening at 60Hz, not 30Hz. Yes, I've played with this and can confirm it. :)

Finally, the whole point of paying lots of money on a high spec PC (especially the graphics card) is to get rid of this annoying artefact.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#15
Yes, games showing 30fps on a 60Hz screen will show double images and the faster the image moves, the worse the effect is.

People say that it "looks smooth", because they don't know what they're talking about, to put it bluntly and it does nothing but confuse people that want to learn about this, such as yourself.

To generalize, it doesn't matter what rate your monitor refreshes at, if you display frames at a lower refresh, then you'll get artefacts like judder, stutter etc. And it looks crap.

For example, a game putting out 60fps on a 60Hz monitor will look beautifully smooth. Put that same 60fps with the monitor running at 120Hz and you'll see a double picture. Ironically, the motion will appear smooth though, because the judder/doubling is happening at 60Hz, not 30Hz. Yes, I've played with this and can confirm it. :)

Finally, the whole point of paying lots of money on a high spec PC (especially the graphics card) is to get rid of this annoying artefact.
I put 30 FPS lock and there is no double picture. Your display shouldn't ghost at 1/2 frame. What that picture shows (which is meaningless since its not even a picutre of the real problem) should not happen in any scenario, only if you have 3d enable, which he does not. Something is clearly wrong with either the display or the VC settings.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,553 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#16
I put 30 FPS lock and there is no double picture. Your display shouldnt ghost at 1/2 frame.
Yes, you will see judder, which is a double picture (same thing in different words) as I've painstakingly explained above. It makes no difference whatsoever what kind of technology your monitor uses, be it CRT, LCD, plasma etc.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#17
Yes, you will see judder, which is a double picture (same thing in different words) as I've painstakingly explained above. It makes no difference whatsoever what kind of technology your monitor uses, be it CRT, LCD, plasma etc.
Judder - but not ghosting. The image will not move as smoothly but you wont have the ghosting effect you see. The picture will be outlined clearly because the monitor has AMPLE time to get rid of the last frame. What his picture shows are frames overlayed on top of one another, like something is trying to interlace the frames.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nz3q3pY9W3M&feature=related - is this what you experience, OP?

Or this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPBIETZLTNQ&feature=endscreen&NR=1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfG9qt6Peao&feature=related
 
Last edited:

laimis911

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#18
Hm than there is no way to avoid this unless game runs at 50hz=50fps or 60hz=60fps . Interesting i guess consoles have some kind of built in technology to avoid this because it's clearly much smoother 30fps image on consoles
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#19
V-sync
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,553 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
Judder - but not ghosting. The image will not move as smoothly but you wont have the ghosting effect you see. The picture will be outlined clearly because the monitor has AMPLE time to get rid of the last frame. What his picture shows are frames overlayed on top of one another, like something is trying to interlace the frames.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nz3q3pY9W3M&feature=related - is this what you experience, OP?

Or this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPBIETZLTNQ&feature=endscreen&NR=1
It can look like that. The exact way it looks depends on quite a few factors. I'll check out the videos later - thanks.

Hm than there is no way to avoid this unless game runs at 50hz=50fps or 60hz=60fps . Interesting i guess consoles have some kind of built in technology to avoid this because it's clearly much smoother 30fps image on consoles
Yes, they have to match. When a console looks smooth, it's because it's matching the monitor refresh rate. When it doesn't, it judders. Consoles use the exact same technology as PCs and work the same way. They're just built with playing games in mind, that's all.
 

laimis911

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#21
Judder - but not ghosting. The image will not move as smoothly but you wont have the ghosting effect you see. The picture will be outlined clearly because the monitor has AMPLE time to get rid of the last frame. What his picture shows are frames overlayed on top of one another, like something is trying to interlace the frames.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nz3q3pY9W3M&feature=related - is this what you experience, OP?

Or this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPBIETZLTNQ&feature=endscreen&NR=1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfG9qt6Peao&feature=related
I have something like in gears of wars youtube video . i read about ghosting but i think i don't have that problem . it more like two same picture shown at the same time close together
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#22
I have something like in gears of wars youtube video . i read about ghosting but i think i don't have that problem . it more like two same picture shown at the same time close together
make sure v-sync is on... try it and let us know.

You can enable it either through the game vid options or through the control panel.

Also - that is what ghosting is - the PC draws the next frame while the current one is still up, due to crystals not being to realign fast enough:

http://www.dvdbeaver.com/film/dvdreviews12/three swordsman/003054_ghosting.jpg
http://personal.battleangel.org/2011/02/10/lcd-final-verdict/
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
They're just built with playing games in mind, that's all.
No, consoles are built to match with TVs, that have different display technology, and built-in scalers that smooth framerates and upconvert SD video while increasing displayed frames.

The basic tech is similar, but in no way is it even REMOTELY the same.

That said, I'm fairly impressed you know the cause of the problem, without knowing what monitor he's using, or what type of connection to said monitor, neither of which has been covered.:wtf:



:toast:
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,553 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#24
I'll second that - vsync must be on.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,553 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#25
No, consoles are built to match with TVs, that have different display technology, and built-in scalers that smooth framerates and upconvert SD video while increasing displayed frames.

The basic tech is similar, but in no way is it even REMOTELY the same.

That said, I'm fairly impressed you know the cause of the problem, without knowing what monitor he's using, or what type of connection to said monitor, neither of which has been covered.:wtf:



:toast:
It doesn't matter how the consoles work internally. The picture is made the same way as far as animation goes and that's what matters. If it wasn't, the monitor/TV couldn't display it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.