• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OFFICIAL Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim (Discussion)

Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.16/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
Woot 4GB!!!!!
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
No doubt!

Can anyone test this with HD 58XX crossfire? Won't be home for another 5 hours :(
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Careful now Black Panther don't get too excited until you try it for yourself the way things have been going! :)

we now get proper Driver Optimizations AND LAA so win win for everyone.
I want Ambient Occlusion too.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
its all good the important thing is

we now get proper Driver Optimizations AND LAA so win win for everyone.
what do you mean we now get proper driver optimizations ??... U mean the 4gb patch?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
If you use the 4GB patch from Skyrim Nexus it uses a different EXE so your driver doesn't implement the appropriate optimizations. Now with an official patch we can go back to using the default skyrim.exe again
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,756 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,649
Location
04578
what do you mean we now get proper driver optimizations ??... U mean the 4gb patch?
If you use the 4GB patch from Skyrim Nexus it uses a different EXE so your driver doesn't implement the appropriate optimizations. Now with an official patch we can go back to using the default skyrim.exe again
Correct

because the 4gb mod on skyrim nexus, most optimizations dont work and forcing them through Radeon Pro at least proved wonky at best

skyrim.exe.4gb = driver dosent recognize it and thus no optimizations

skyrim.exe from bethesda with LAA on by default means all optimizations work.

this also means Ambient Occlusion via nvidia inspector should work for Nvidia users again.

sadly AMD users get no ambient occlusion. oh well...
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
My version of the game ain't "steam"

My TESV.exe ain't named .exe.4gb...

As far as I remember, the AMD optimizations (thru the latest drivers) don't bring that much of an FPS increase...

I assume the "official patch" is a steam patch correct?
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,756 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,649
Location
04578
if your running the 4gb mod from skyrim YES your exe IS named skyrim.exe.4gb

and if your versions isnt steam it means its pirated, then again that also probably explains why you;ve had far more numerous issues then many others around here

if you open task manager with the 4gb mod from Skyrim nexus running you will notice the exe is named skyrim.exe.4gb those 3 alpha numeric entries = driver optimizations = broken,

the newest patch has the LAA flag enabled by default much like what most users did when the game first released with version 1.0

FPS increase on my end was fairly large, newest LAA patch + 12.1 drivers im seeing xfire working and my frame rate same settings is about 7-9fps higher then it was with the 4gb Launcher previously now considering my ini files and edits have me averaging 23-30fps a jump to 30-40 is welcome indeed.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
lol that was my hunch too after that last post.

Banned from thread I say! :D
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.16/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
I don't have skyrim.exe or skyrim.exe.4gb

I have TESV.exe and TESV.exe.4gb though, is that normal?
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,756 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,649
Location
04578
well same idea i ment TESV but yea thats normal

im just not with it today, TESV.exe.4gb = no optimization

TESV.exe with new patch = 4gb aware but no more issues with optimizations, leave it to me, to screw up the naming but same applies .exe.4gb = no optimization
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
well same idea i ment TESV but yea thats normal

im just not with it today, TESV.exe.4gb = no optimization

TESV.exe with new patch = 4gb aware but no more issues with optimizations, leave it to me, to screw up the naming but same applies .exe.4gb = no optimization
The latest beta bioses you should be able to make a profile for the 4gb mod right?

Force optimisations that way.

Not that you need to any-more but :laugh:
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,756 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,649
Location
04578
yea but this works out better because LAA is by default exe now and not a wrapper dll edits and other mods like ENB series should also run a bit better. ;)

halfassed forcing of things tends to back fire in 1 way or another,

examples i got xfire working through radeon pro but it brought stutter to the game with the Skyrim special drivers earlier drivers it worked but very small performance benefit, this new patch i get xfire and no stutter, so im fairly happy right now all things considered.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
... I don't like steam... that's why I decided to go another way... don't like the way they go about things of late...

There are a few 4gb mods on nexus... not just the one that renames the exe... In my case, when I use the mod it says my tesv.exe is patched (even tho it doesn't have the .exe.4gb extension... not even in the taskbar...)

I also went from using 800 000 kb of ram for skyrim to 1.425k after modding the exe, which tends to prove it's working...

I remember I was not seein much of an increase in performance when I was using the 11.11b drivers, I have yet to try the 12.1 with CFX to see what results would be yielded...

I also have heavily modified .ini files and lots of mods coming from nexus (mainly re-textures) and my ugrids are @ 7...

I'm avg about 29-40 FPS, which is decent considering all the tweaks, but yeah, I'd definitly like to see that number go up to 40-50FPS
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
I've got my ugrids set to default at the moment, how much of a hit would it cause to my frame rate?

Lowest I get is 21 fps when I first enter a town, but 10 feet into the town it goes up to 30.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
... I don't like steam... that's why I decided to go another way... don't like the way they go about things of late...
Yeah well I don't "like" Walmart and Target etc. Doesn't give me the right to steal my groceries and especially not to complain when they're not to my satisfaction.
.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.24/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
This will be interesting if steam auto updates LAA patch.
I have not used it even though I have 4GB, I just haven't had a need to use it as the game runs smooth enough for me.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,756 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,649
Location
04578
I've got my ugrids set to default at the moment, how much of a hit would it cause to my frame rate?

Lowest I get is 21 fps when I first enter a town, but 10 feet into the town it goes up to 30.
it hits hard because higher ugrid means higher draw distance means everything in Ugrid region is loaded to memory, this means AI routines, Physics etc, on top of if you've messed with shadows and increased there draw distance it also effects frame rates,

default ugrid i peg 60 all day ugrid 7 with tweaks im at 45-50 ugrid 9 i drop to 30-40

alot of it is just CPU getting hit hard. so it lowers frame rates but the Image quality boost is rather amazing.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
4GB LAA patch is online.. now downlaoding :D
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.24/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Is this 4GB LAA patch the atuo update through steam I am getting or is it a manual download?
As this update I am currently downloading is 18.5mb.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,287
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Is this 4GB LAA patch the atuo update through steam I am getting or is it a manual download?
As this update I am currently downloading is 18.5mb.
thats the update
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
it hits hard because higher ugrid means higher draw distance means everything in Ugrid region is loaded to memory, this means AI routines, Physics etc, on top of if you've messed with shadows and increased there draw distance it also effects frame rates,

default ugrid i peg 60 all day ugrid 7 with tweaks im at 45-50 ugrid 9 i drop to 30-40

alot of it is just CPU getting hit hard. so it lowers frame rates but the Image quality boost is rather amazing.
Yeah I've seen a staggering difference between stock 3.3 ghz CPU and 4.6ghz, especially with higher uGrids values