• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z Test Build] Need large-scale beta testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,101 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I got a preview build which has A LOT of internal changes, please test it on as many cards as you can.

Partial changelist:

- Radeon VII support
- GTX 1660 Ti support
- Fixed crashes during BIOS saving on older NVIDIA cards (please make sure to test BIOS saving)
- Please also check if the output in Advanced Tab -> BIOS shows expected values
- Fixed random crashes during GPU-Z runtime
- Sensor titles renamed
- Fixed "Could not write GPU_Query_External.exe" error
- New sensor infrastructure (check for missing items / wrong order of items)
- Affected by these changes/possible bugs introduced: all ATI/AMD/NVIDIA cards

Please test this on as many cards as you can and feedback here in the thread (both success and failure)

Edit: the test build dwonload has been removed from this post, since all its changes are now part of the final public 2.17.0 release
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,063 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
GTX1060 6G everything seems fine, as usual. BIOS dump works, sensors work, all readings are correct.
I'll test it on some older cards and iGPUs in the office later on today.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,840 (5.16/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
One thing I noticed when saving the GTX1080Ti BIOS was the first time when the box comes up saying that it needs to pause the graphics driver to read the BIOS, I selected No. Then it pops up with an error that says "BIOS reading not supported on this device."

I don't think that is the correct error message, because BIOS reading is supported on the device, I just chose not to do it. Maybe it should be reworded somehow to say something like "Unable to read BIOS because display driver was not paused."

Edit: Sorry, forgot to mention if I hit Yes at the first prompt, the BIOS dumps normally.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
433 (0.17/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 32GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/DDR3 2133MHz Corsair Dominator Plat/RipJawsZ 16GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/LeadTek GTX1080 Hurricane OC/Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe M.2 + 2TB 860 QVO + 4TB 860 EVO + 2x 1TB 850 EVO + 6TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G703I/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Armaggeddon MKA-5R RGB Hornet/Logitech G613/Logitech K345
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
Here's mine of the Raderon VII...seems to be working.
Radeon VII GPUZ.JPG
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,134 (2.19/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
tested on GT730 all working fine
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
224 (0.06/day)
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD 2700X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory G.Skill TridentZ NEO 3600
Video Card(s) XFX RX580
Storage OCZ RD400, Samsung 950 Pro 256Gb, Intel 520 120Gb
Display(s) Acer KG240A
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 860W
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016
Software Win10 X64
Working fine with XFX RX580 and Zotac 550 Ti, reported everything correctly
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,165 (1.97/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,747 (0.63/day)
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard ASRock X399 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling Alphacool LT240
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 4x8GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 1
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Mouse Razer Naga (2014)
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Everything seems to work fine (BIOS saving included) on GTX 970 other than a doubled default boost clock on the main page (2355MHz vs 1178MHz). Don't forget to change the copyright date too.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,101 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
that it needs to pause the graphics driver to read the BIOS, I selected No. Then it pops up with an error that says "BIOS reading not supported on this device."
That's expected if you say "no", good point on refining the error message

GTX 970 other than a doubled default boost clock on the main page (2355MHz vs 1178MHz)
oh that's a bug then. could you get me a screenshot please? just first tab
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.47/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
Works perfect on my Windows 10 Pro 64 system with an RX Vega 64.

Crashed immediately and asked to send an error report running in Windows XP Pro 32 on my dual boot(XP/7) system with an HD 4650 AGP. Error report sent and acknowledged as received. Refuses to open now in Windows XP Pro 32. Works perfect on the same system running Windows 7 Ultimate 32.

GPU clock @ 21 MHz!?
That's how they roll these days. My Vega 64 idles around 27MHz.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.47/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
Did you see the splash screen at least?
Yes. But it doesn't show up anymore after the first try. It still does show up, but it does nothing afterwards. My bad.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ Stock
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS/IPMI
Cooling Thermalright IFX-14
Memory 64GB DDR3L-1600 ECC Reg (8 x 8GB Hynix HMT41GR7BFR8A-PB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290X MBA (modded to 8GB VRAM Elpida 4032BABG + modded pure Copper heatsink)
Storage Intel 750 400GB AIC + 2 x 1TB WD RE4 Intel RAID0+1
Display(s) 32" BenQ BL3200 (2560 x 1440 via DisplayPort)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Int. ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Microsoft Curve 2000
Software Windows 8.1 Professional 64-bit
Works fine on R9 290X and Win8.1 x64 Pro. All the tabs, BIOS saving, everything looks okay... but...

Except one thing!!
When you simply capture the sensor tab screenshot using the built-in feature, it looks okay (see pic.3). But when you first take a shot of a smaller main window (pic.1) and then want to capture the sensors - you'll get a corrupted border (pic.2), looks like an incorrect variable in a capture function.

Tried twice and the problem remains. Could anyone try to reproduce the same issue?

1 1.gif 2 2.gif 3 3.gif
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,113 (4.30/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
All is well with my GTX1070, Bios saving is fine also on Win 10 x64 Home edition...…………………...

GPU-Z Test.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
706 (0.46/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
Works fine, system in specs, BIOS dump works too.
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
972 (0.34/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus TUF B450M-Pro Gaming
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP @3400 CL16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, Samsung 960 PRO 1TB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II / Logitech Z333 + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Xubuntu 19.04
Works fine on GTX 1070/GTX 1050Ti on Windows 10 64bit 1803.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
3,039 (1.02/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
Right off the bat with my mighty GTX 980 Ti, the first thing I've noticed is my boost clock has gone to impressive levels, same as Maban and tigger:

 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,254 (4.01/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x Micron 500GB SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett Solo on beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
1551142285337.png


Worked fine on my titan and my MX150. Was able to dump bios as well.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
284 (0.05/day)
Location
Southern California :)
System Name Big Beast
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Z170 M5 Gaming
Memory Patriot Viper 16GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon VII
Storage Lot's of it
Display(s) Samsung CHG70 27"
Case Antec Three-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 zs Gamer
Power Supply 600 watt
Software Windows 10 Profressional x64
Everything looks good. Memory Timings in the advanced tab drop-down is missing compared to 2.16.

GPUZ1.jpgGPUZ2.jpgGPUZ3.png
 

SydneySideSteve

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
This RTX 2080 Ti has a driver issue and a device manager error 43 which is why I downloaded GPU-Z for research purposes, the BIOS save works, and the Sensors and Advanced tabs lack information due to the driver error. Thank you for your work, version 16.0 has been running for hours without any unstable events.

GPU-Z with driver error 43.png
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
433 (0.17/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 32GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/DDR3 2133MHz Corsair Dominator Plat/RipJawsZ 16GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/LeadTek GTX1080 Hurricane OC/Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe M.2 + 2TB 860 QVO + 4TB 860 EVO + 2x 1TB 850 EVO + 6TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G703I/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Armaggeddon MKA-5R RGB Hornet/Logitech G613/Logitech K345
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
Something wonky's going on, here's a screenshot of the new GPUZ of my dual VEGA64, seems 2nd card isn't 'seen' or working with this new beta GPUZ
New GPUZ CF not working.JPG


Here's a screenshot of the same cards with the old GPUZ, the highest GPU clock reading for the primary card is all sorta wrong though. The memory clock for the primary card should be higher than or equal to the secondary card, shouldn't it?
Old GPUZ.JPG
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,101 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Something wonky's going on, here's a screenshot of the new GPUZ of my dual VEGA64, seems 2nd card isn't 'seen' or working with this new beta GPUZ
View attachment 117449

Here's a screenshot of the same cards with the old GPUZ, the highest GPU clock reading for the primary card is all sorta wrong though. The memory clock for the primary card should be higher than or equal to the secondary card, shouldn't it?
View attachment 117450
Do the missing sensor values appear when you put load on both cards? It seems the second card is sleeping in ULPS?

Memory Timings in the advanced tab drop-down is missing compared to 2.16.
I don't know yet how to read memory timings on Radeon VII, so the tab is hidden until it has some data it can show
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top