• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z Test Build] Need large-scale beta testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,019 (3.61/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I got a preview build which has A LOT of internal changes, please test it on as many cards as you can.

Partial changelist:

- Radeon VII support
- GTX 1660 Ti support
- Fixed crashes during BIOS saving on older NVIDIA cards (please make sure to test BIOS saving)
- Please also check if the output in Advanced Tab -> BIOS shows expected values
- Fixed random crashes during GPU-Z runtime
- Sensor titles renamed
- Fixed "Could not write GPU_Query_External.exe" error
- New sensor infrastructure (check for missing items / wrong order of items)
- Affected by these changes/possible bugs introduced: all ATI/AMD/NVIDIA cards

Please test this on as many cards as you can and feedback here in the thread (both success and failure)

Edit: the test build dwonload has been removed from this post, since all its changes are now part of the final public 2.17.0 release
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,016 (1.73/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Ares OEM DDR4-3200 (B-die)
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Ti
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
GTX1060 6G everything seems fine, as usual. BIOS dump works, sensors work, all readings are correct.
I'll test it on some older cards and iGPUs in the office later on today.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
572 (0.53/day)
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/zotac-gtx-1080-amp.b3622 here.

1551103104958.png
1551103110836.png
1551103135019.png


Everything seems to be working as usual.

p.s. - I see the text "GPU Memory Clock" has changed into "Memory Clock"

Bios saving also worked:
1551103297371.png


-------------

Ancient card HD 4600, Windows 7; Saving also worked.
1551104457638.png
 

Attachments

  • GP104.rom.zip
    147.2 KB · Views: 193
  • RV730.rom.zip
    39.3 KB · Views: 219
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,247 (4.86/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
One thing I noticed when saving the GTX1080Ti BIOS was the first time when the box comes up saying that it needs to pause the graphics driver to read the BIOS, I selected No. Then it pops up with an error that says "BIOS reading not supported on this device."

I don't think that is the correct error message, because BIOS reading is supported on the device, I just chose not to do it. Maybe it should be reworded somehow to say something like "Unable to read BIOS because display driver was not paused."

Edit: Sorry, forgot to mention if I hit Yes at the first prompt, the BIOS dumps normally.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
664 (0.21/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X 12C24T/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X 6-12/LGA 1150 i7 4770K 4-8
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 16GB Patriot ViperRGB 3600CL17/16GB Corsair Dominator Plat DDR3 2133MHz/16GB RipJawsZ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 6900 XT/PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/Leadtek GTX1080 Hurricane OC
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe M.2 + 2TB 860 QVO + 4TB 860 EVO + 2x 1TB 850 EVO + 6TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Acer XR341CK 75Hz 21:9 Freesync/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/ HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Zelotes C-18 Vertical Mouse/Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Topre RealForce 103UBMistral BAROCCO MD600RGB/Logitech K345 + G603
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
Here's mine of the Raderon VII...seems to be working.
Radeon VII GPUZ.JPG
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
12,855 (2.26/day)
System Name Nothing new
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Pro s
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory 2x8gb 2400
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
tested on GT730 all working fine
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
246 (0.06/day)
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD 3800X
Motherboard Asrock x570 Taichi
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory G.Skill TridentZ NEO 3600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X RTX3060
Storage ADATA SX8200 1Tb, Samsung 950 Pro 256Gb
Display(s) Acer XV240Y, Acer KG240A
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 860W
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Win10 X64
Working fine with XFX RX580 and Zotac 550 Ti, reported everything correctly
 

Attachments

  • Capture013.jpg
    Capture013.jpg
    191.1 KB · Views: 417
  • Capture014.jpg
    Capture014.jpg
    164.3 KB · Views: 411
  • Capture015.jpg
    Capture015.jpg
    219.1 KB · Views: 357
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,192 (2.11/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,753 (0.55/day)
Location
Minnesota
Everything seems to work fine (BIOS saving included) on GTX 970 other than a doubled default boost clock on the main page (2355MHz vs 1178MHz). Don't forget to change the copyright date too.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,019 (3.61/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
that it needs to pause the graphics driver to read the BIOS, I selected No. Then it pops up with an error that says "BIOS reading not supported on this device."
That's expected if you say "no", good point on refining the error message

GTX 970 other than a doubled default boost clock on the main page (2355MHz vs 1178MHz)
oh that's a bug then. could you get me a screenshot please? just first tab
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.10/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
Works perfect on my Windows 10 Pro 64 system with an RX Vega 64.

Crashed immediately and asked to send an error report running in Windows XP Pro 32 on my dual boot(XP/7) system with an HD 4650 AGP. Error report sent and acknowledged as received. Refuses to open now in Windows XP Pro 32. Works perfect on the same system running Windows 7 Ultimate 32.

GPU clock @ 21 MHz!?
That's how they roll these days. My Vega 64 idles around 27MHz.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.10/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
Did you see the splash screen at least?
Yes. But it doesn't show up anymore after the first try. It still does show up, but it does nothing afterwards. My bad.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ Stock
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS/IPMI
Cooling Thermalright IFX-14
Memory 64GB DDR3L-1600 ECC Reg (8 x 8GB Hynix HMT41GR7BFR8A-PB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290X MBA (modded to 8GB VRAM Elpida 4032BABG + modded pure Copper heatsink)
Storage Intel 750 400GB AIC + 2 x 1TB WD RE4 Intel RAID0+1
Display(s) 32" BenQ BL3200 (2560 x 1440 via DisplayPort)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Int. ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Microsoft Curve 2000
Software Windows 8.1 Professional 64-bit
Works fine on R9 290X and Win8.1 x64 Pro. All the tabs, BIOS saving, everything looks okay... but...

Except one thing!!
When you simply capture the sensor tab screenshot using the built-in feature, it looks okay (see pic.3). But when you first take a shot of a smaller main window (pic.1) and then want to capture the sensors - you'll get a corrupted border (pic.2), looks like an incorrect variable in a capture function.

Tried twice and the problem remains. Could anyone try to reproduce the same issue?

1 1.gif 2 2.gif 3 3.gif
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
24,284 (4.22/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-34 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores Reasonably respectable :)
All is well with my GTX1070, Bios saving is fine also on Win 10 x64 Home edition...…………………...

GPU-Z Test.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
711 (0.33/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1240v2 @3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 CO
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 4x4GB @1600 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050 Ti FTW ACX 3.0 4GB
Storage Crucial BX500 120 GB / WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Dell P2419H
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Arctic P12 PWM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Bitfenix Formula Gold 550W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
Works fine, system in specs, BIOS dump works too.
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
984 (0.28/day)
Location
Ireland
Works fine on GTX 1070/GTX 1050Ti on Windows 10 64bit 1803.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
3,515 (0.98/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory Team Group Dark Pro 8Pack Edition 3600Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Kingston A2000 1TB + Seagate HDD workhorse
Display(s) Samsung QN90A Neo QLED 50"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
Right off the bat with my mighty GTX 980 Ti, the first thing I've noticed is my boost clock has gone to impressive levels, same as Maban and tigger:

 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,548 (3.81/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Stardust
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential (White)
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
1551142285337.png


Worked fine on my titan and my MX150. Was able to dump bios as well.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
288 (0.05/day)
Location
Southern California :)
System Name Big Beast
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800x
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-I Gaming
Cooling NZXT AIO
Memory Patriot Viper 16GB 3666MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon VII
Storage Lot's of it
Display(s) Samsung CHG70 27"
Case NZXT H1
Power Supply 600 watt
Software Windows 10 Profressional x64
Everything looks good. Memory Timings in the advanced tab drop-down is missing compared to 2.16.

GPUZ1.jpgGPUZ2.jpgGPUZ3.png
 

SydneySideSteve

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
This RTX 2080 Ti has a driver issue and a device manager error 43 which is why I downloaded GPU-Z for research purposes, the BIOS save works, and the Sensors and Advanced tabs lack information due to the driver error. Thank you for your work, version 16.0 has been running for hours without any unstable events.

GPU-Z with driver error 43.png
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
664 (0.21/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X 12C24T/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X 6-12/LGA 1150 i7 4770K 4-8
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 16GB Patriot ViperRGB 3600CL17/16GB Corsair Dominator Plat DDR3 2133MHz/16GB RipJawsZ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 6900 XT/PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/Leadtek GTX1080 Hurricane OC
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe M.2 + 2TB 860 QVO + 4TB 860 EVO + 2x 1TB 850 EVO + 6TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Acer XR341CK 75Hz 21:9 Freesync/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/ HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Zelotes C-18 Vertical Mouse/Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Topre RealForce 103UBMistral BAROCCO MD600RGB/Logitech K345 + G603
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
Something wonky's going on, here's a screenshot of the new GPUZ of my dual VEGA64, seems 2nd card isn't 'seen' or working with this new beta GPUZ
New GPUZ CF not working.JPG


Here's a screenshot of the same cards with the old GPUZ, the highest GPU clock reading for the primary card is all sorta wrong though. The memory clock for the primary card should be higher than or equal to the secondary card, shouldn't it?
Old GPUZ.JPG
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,019 (3.61/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Something wonky's going on, here's a screenshot of the new GPUZ of my dual VEGA64, seems 2nd card isn't 'seen' or working with this new beta GPUZ
View attachment 117449

Here's a screenshot of the same cards with the old GPUZ, the highest GPU clock reading for the primary card is all sorta wrong though. The memory clock for the primary card should be higher than or equal to the secondary card, shouldn't it?
View attachment 117450
Do the missing sensor values appear when you put load on both cards? It seems the second card is sleeping in ULPS?

Memory Timings in the advanced tab drop-down is missing compared to 2.16.
I don't know yet how to read memory timings on Radeon VII, so the tab is hidden until it has some data it can show
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top