• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

tyrael64

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#26
unlocked one ok
now i need to try it

thanks santa!


update: apparently works well
Now I'll have to upgrade The other

is already overcloked the bios right?
figure that is already running at 880 and 1350

update: playing stacraft 2 10min with the crossfire, computer shut down and the cooler of the vga go 100%
i dink too hot
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#27
Try underclocking back down to 6950 speeds?
 

tyrael64

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#28
i leave the clocks the same, but increase the fan speed, and apparently was corrected
There is one card that is very close to the other and becomes very hot
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
#29
I have a Sapphire HD 6950 and got a "Could not erase ROM" message.

Used the "atiwinflash -unlockrom 0 followed by atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.bin" method it worked.

Before and after pictures attached.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#30
$293 free shipping at Amazon (no tax in CA) for Sapphire and HIS versions...

Why did I get that silly 6870? It's straight to Ebay for that card...
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
227 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Grand Prairie Texas
System Name Little Girl
Processor Intel Q9650 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte x48 DQ6
Cooling liquid cooling
Memory 4gb (2x2) OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 unlock to Asus 6970 specs
Storage Crucial CT128M225 128gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 27" LCD @ 2048x1152
Case DIY (spit & glue, ducktape, cardboard)
Audio Device(s) On-board HD Audio
Power Supply ABS Tagan 850w
Software Win7 64bit
#31
So after this card is flash to hd6970. I should always stick with hd6970 driver from now on?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#34

Tifone

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Italy
System Name Tifone's AMD Rig
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE Stepping C3
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory 8 GB (4x2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600Mhz CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6970 2GB GDDR5
Storage 3x 320GB Western Digital HDD in RAID0
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T260HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) X-Fi MoBo
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise x64
#35
Hey guys! I have a Sapphire 6970 now. If i buy a 6950 flash the bios to a 6970 can I use it in CrossFireX with my existing card without problem? What do you think?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,069 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,977
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#36
Hey guys! I have a Sapphire 6970 now. If i buy a 6950 flash the bios to a 6970 can I use it in CrossFireX with my existing card without problem? What do you think?
yep, should work fine
 

Tifone

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Italy
System Name Tifone's AMD Rig
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE Stepping C3
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory 8 GB (4x2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600Mhz CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6970 2GB GDDR5
Storage 3x 320GB Western Digital HDD in RAID0
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T260HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) X-Fi MoBo
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise x64
#37

aquax

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
141 (0.04/day)
Likes
13
System Name aquax
Processor i7 920 4GHz HT ON
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
Cooling TRUE120
Memory 6GB TR3X6G1600C7
Video Card(s) ASUS TOP HD4770
Storage WD1001FALS / WD6400AAKS
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW soon
Audio Device(s) ALC889A
Power Supply Antec TPQ-850w
Software Vista Ultimate X64
#38
Nice, but will the pci-e molex 6pin + 6pin differ than the 6pin + 8 pin?
dual 6 pins on the 6950 are enough to use same 6970 specification for long time without issue?
 

Tifone

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Italy
System Name Tifone's AMD Rig
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE Stepping C3
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory 8 GB (4x2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600Mhz CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6970 2GB GDDR5
Storage 3x 320GB Western Digital HDD in RAID0
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T260HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) X-Fi MoBo
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise x64
#39
Nice, but will the pci-e molex 6pin + 6pin differ than the 6pin + 8 pin?
dual 6 pins on the 6950 are enough to use same 6970 specification for long time without issue?
Oh My I didn't think about it!!!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,069 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,977
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#40
Nice, but will the pci-e molex 6pin + 6pin differ than the 6pin + 8 pin?
dual 6 pins on the 6950 are enough to use same 6970 specification for long time without issue?
i updated the article about 2 hours ago with power consumption testing
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,069 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,977
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#41
updated the article with link to easy to use flashing tools that also includes the right build of GPU-Z
 

easyrider

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#42
Nice work W1zzard :)


Can I just clarify that running +20 is fine for gaming and benching on a day to day basis.

I have a 620w Enermax Liberty PSU
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,069 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,977
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#43
Can I just clarify that running 20 is fine for gaming and benching on a day to day basis
it's slightly over the spec, but in my well educated opinion that's perfectly safe.
 

voro12

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#44
If u got an Asus 6950 and mod it into an 6970, will you lose the Asus Voltage Tweak tool since you swich bios?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,069 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,977
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#45
If u got an Asus 6950 and mod it into an 6970, will you lose the Asus Voltage Tweak tool since you swich bios?
yes, use the ASUS 6970 bios from the vga bios collection in that case
 

ranom

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#46
i updated the article about 2 hours ago with power consumption testing
thanks W1zzard, I've just tried the flash_to_6970 batch file and found it to work with my XFX HD6950! (it was locked. I did get confused for a sec when it told me to switch to the "2" position just a typo, right?)
I've yet to test for artifacts, but I'll test it to see how it goes.

Besides the power consumption concern, I'm wondering how the HD6950's stock cooler will hold up. The ones on the 6970 do have a slightly larger fan, am I right?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#47

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,069 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,977
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#48
thanks W1zzard, I've just tried the flash_to_6970 batch file and found it to work with my XFX HD6950! (it was locked. I did get confused for a sec when it told me to switch to the "2" position just a typo, right?)
typo indeed. thanks for bringing it up. i fixed it in the download :)
 

easyrider

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#49
I really hope this flash is successful 24/7 its still early days on what if any problems may arise
 

B1gD4ddy

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems
Memory Corsair 6 Gb DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD 5870
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ
Display(s) LG W2361V
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply beQuiet Dark Power Pro 650
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#50
Hey guys,

because of that nice "feature", I'm thinking about buying a 6950 and unlock it to a 6970.

Now my question, can I use a 6970 together with my 5870 in crossfire ?

And finally, do you know where I can find a recent "crossfire yes/no matrix picture" ?

Thanks a lot !