• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
From the way you talk about the code I'd almost suspect you might fully know how to bypass the SLI routines W1zzard but haven't done so for legal or motivational reasons :p. I really wouldn't doubt it since you are the one who has done so much digging in the driver code to develop GPU-Z and looked at specifications.

And I've tried many routes also, but what do we breakpoint hmm - and when? :)
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
check your check?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
if you claim you know where sli is enabled but there are so many code integrity checking functions just run with a debugger like softice. put a breakpoint on memory read on that code location so the debugger stops every time something tries to read from that memory address. then you sit in the code integrity routine because no other code will access the instruction bytes of the sli enable function.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,554
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
if you claim you know where sli is enabled but there are so many code integrity checking functions just run with a debugger like softice. put a breakpoint on memory read on that code location so the debugger stops every time something tries to read from that memory address. then you sit in the code integrity routine because no other code will access the instruction bytes of the sli enable function.
none of that means a thing to me, but i thank you for sharing that advice.
 

opieum

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
I know this thread is a bit dated, But is there any progress on this? Or is the attempt being abandoned until a cracker decrypts the routine? Apparently ASUS and certain other partners have unlocked versions of these drivers. So there has to be something that makes it possible at the driver level. I am guessing a BIOS hack is probably not the way to go as has been suggested elsewhere.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
to many changes to the drivers this project is on hold.
 

opieum

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Hmm shame. I am guessing once the x58 support is released it might be a little easier to hack? It would seem so since there will be setups in the wild that will be easy to compare against.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Hmm shame. I am guessing once the x58 support is released it might be a little easier to hack? It would seem so since there will be setups in the wild that will be easy to compare against.
no need to hack it in X58 both ATI and SLI are supported through physical chip and bios tattooing
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,554
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
no need to hack it in X58 both ATI and SLI are supported through physical chip and bios tattooing
i think his point was supposed to be that with x58 supporting it natively, people could simply compare x58 drivers to other chipsets, and make a hack to cover the changes.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
i think his point was supposed to be that with x58 supporting it natively, people could simply compare x58 drivers to other chipsets, and make a hack to cover the changes.
the drivers are no diffirent they just changed the integrity check methode to check for the chip (hasnt changed) and to check the bios (has changed) in eather case i cnnot hack a bios on the board to do that...i had originally thought i cold do his but apon attempting it with my early tests i came to the conclusion that not only was i unable to isolate the string in the bios that allowed it but i would need to mod the bios of every single system that someone asked me to mod it for because chipsets bios types and sizes vaery so much between boards that their was no way for me to make a "generic" change
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,554
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
the drivers are no diffirent they just changed the integrity check methode to check for the chip (hasnt changed) and to check the bios (has changed) in eather case i cnnot hack a bios on the board to do that...i had originally thought i cold do his but apon attempting it with my early tests i came to the conclusion that not only was i unable to isolate the string in the bios that allowed it but i would need to mod the bios of every single system that someone asked me to mod it for because chipsets bios types and sizes vaery so much between boards that their was no way for me to make a "generic" change
look at the vista OEM hack, that was a bootloaded that faked BIOS stuff. it may be possible to do the same.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
look at the vista OEM hack, that was a bootloaded that faked BIOS stuff. it may be possible to do the same.
good call but all in good time i have too many projects atm.
 

opieum

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Yea that was my point. To do a comparison. It should be MUCH easier to do a code comparison. I may wait till next payday and pick up an X58 setup to test out this theory. BIOS hacks of any kind almost seem more trouble than their worth BUT seeing how it worked so well at between the BIOS and OS level with Vista and even Mac OS (different implementations but same idea) it might be a more lasting solution to try. Hell if it could be rolled into the default Vista setup then it makes it so no matter the driver version (because if the key gets changed then it just a matter of installing a patch that updates to a new working key)

Solaris, if you have any pointers and what I could do to get started, I would be happy to try at this with some guidance :p It would be easier to just get this going over all. PM me if you have any docs or info that I can reference to get started (I have some ideas but anything you have with the work you have done is welcome as well) :D
 
Last edited:

opieum

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
HA Here is an update. Via what should be called a penecillin hack :p It was discovered by accident.

http://netkas.org/?p=91 This is a hacker for the Hackintosh scene. But he was working specifically on a hack for EFI and DSTD to enable a Mac Retail CD to boot unmodified and found out how the certification works. Have fun. Sounds like this could be universally applied (seeing as you can run Mac OS on white boxes because of some of his hacks) Mind you the discovery is OS independent. So that should apply across the board.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
So you can SLI on a 790FX/GX board with those?
 

zerg32

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I've repeated the steps from that post for GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI bios.

There is an interesting piece of code:
If (LEqual (FUNC, 0x41494C53))
{
Return (\_SB.PCI0.SLIC)
}

I've looked in the nvlddmkm.sys using IDA Pro for this hex code.
There is something that looks like a WMI call with this code. I'm not able to trace what this function does, cause I'm not experienced IDA user. But in my opinion for IDA/Assembler Guru it'll not be a problem to find how the protection works.

But for X58 it should work already, you just have to modify the acpi table. But I dont have required hardware to test with.

If anyone is interested I can write a short guide how to unpack the bios and edit this acpi tables.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,569 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,469
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
i'm interested on getting SLi running on my 790GX board any guide would be amazing
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
can you hook me up with quad SLI on p45?

if your really talented maybe you can get septo SLI working for me :D
Mine's easier. I need just regular Sli on my p45. It would be nice now that I have dual 260's:shadedshu
 

zerg32

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I'll try to write a guide for X58 boards, but it wouldn't be very usefull, because many of them have already sli support.

Is here anybody with X58 board without sli support wanting to try modded bios ?

P.S.
I have P45 myself and hope the some guru will hack the driver.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
if you hadnt read the news Gigabyte Recently enabled SLI across their Entire x58 Chipset Boards.
I've repeated the steps from that post for GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI bios.

There is an interesting piece of code:
If (LEqual (FUNC, 0x41494C53))
{
Return (\_SB.PCI0.SLIC)
}

I've looked in the nvlddmkm.sys using IDA Pro for this hex code.
There is something that looks like a WMI call with this code. I'm not able to trace what this function does, cause I'm not experienced IDA user. But in my opinion for IDA/Assembler Guru it'll not be a problem to find how the protection works.

But for X58 it should work already, you just have to modify the acpi table. But I dont have required hardware to test with.

If anyone is interested I can write a short guide how to unpack the bios and edit this acpi tables.
 

opieum

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
if you hadnt read the news Gigabyte Recently enabled SLI across their Entire x58 Chipset Boards.

Right but the point is the certfication or the so called "cookie" has been found and could be implemented on ANY board anywhere with the right tools. I am going to try this on one of my older non-sli boards I am not using. I will post an update once I have it working. If it works I can post a howto to enable anyone to do this on their own setup
 

opieum

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
@zerg Please write a guide. It will save everyone the time. Maybe over time this can be scripted to be simplified.
 

e.v.o

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I've repeated the steps from that post for GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI bios.

There is an interesting piece of code:
If (LEqual (FUNC, 0x41494C53))
{
Return (\_SB.PCI0.SLIC)
}

I've looked in the nvlddmkm.sys using IDA Pro for this hex code.
There is something that looks like a WMI call with this code. I'm not able to trace what this function does, cause I'm not experienced IDA user. But in my opinion for IDA/Assembler Guru it'll not be a problem to find how the protection works.

But for X58 it should work already, you just have to modify the acpi table. But I dont have required hardware to test with. Also there is no "nvlddmkm.sys" file on my system.

If anyone is interested I can write a short guide how to unpack the bios and edit this acpi tables.
This is only the return function. There is some more "code" with the cert ahead of it. Look at the UD4 BIOS (F3 and F4).

We only need to know now what else the driver is checking... since the driver is not only looking for the certificate...