• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

RBE bug reports

Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
238 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard MSI Gaming Z370
Memory 16 GB Adata DDR4 3000 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1070 Ti Gaming OC
Display(s) 23" Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo LSL 3230T 1080p
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Hello,
My software:
- RBE 1.21
- Winflash 2017
- GPU-Z 0.3.4
- Win 7 Ultimate x64 rtm
Hardware: 1 Asus EAH4850 512MB on a Asus P5Q motherboard...details in Sys Specs

The issue: A friend got a Powercolor HD 4850 (not 100% sure it's a Powercolor but it's a HD 4850 512 mb single slot reference design), it had original HD 4850 BIOS with high temps, 625/993 MHz UVD clocks etc. I recommended RBE, told him about the risks, and after flashing his card with my updated Asus BIOS from their site (I sent him a GPU-Z saved bin) he reported strange&erratic fan reportings in GPU-Z (constant fan speed and such - I'll have to talk more to him about that, I read about it from his offlines).
I took another look and found some RBE erratic behavior myself: after loading a bin bios, then a rom Winflash aquired one, the "Fan settings" page showed messed up info, wrong values in the look up table and so on.
You can replicate the situation by acquiring the BIOS with Winflash and then loading a bin BIOS on "Fan Settings" page. Not sure if it's just the visuals or it will influence a subsequent flash of the card with corrupted values.

I attached the 3 relevant BIOS, hope that it helps. Thank you for your hard effort in developing this app.

EDIT: Also uploaded a screenshot from RBE. Not only the graph is bugging, but the tick boxes (PWM ramp on) also. Not sure about other pages but Fan Settings.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
238 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard MSI Gaming Z370
Memory 16 GB Adata DDR4 3000 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1070 Ti Gaming OC
Display(s) 23" Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo LSL 3230T 1080p
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Not sure, but this could be caused by this incompatibility of Winflash driver atidgllk.sys and Win7.
 

Attachments

icegood

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Fun controls for mobility radeon 3650 are disabled. But via gpu-z i see bot temperature sensor and fan speed. And they interact very well - as fan speed gets higher, temp gets lower. I don't see physically on my toshiba that fun, but i bekeive it exists :).
Here is my original BIOS (yes, i've modified for overclocking too :) - great results!). I also uploaded it to bios coll a few days ago - i beleive it just under wizzard's queue.
Sorry, cannot upload - have no rights.
 

Puchta

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
RBE Invalid File Specified...

When I try and open a BIOS in RBE an error comes up "Invalid File Specified. Not An ATI BIOS? - Debug information 'CheckValid' Reported Error. Any ideas on how to fix this?
 

hsm06

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
ati 5870 voltage 3d the 1.125v edition to be unable in advance to penetrate the RBE 1.24 revision voltages. (ASUS 5870)

uses revises to 3D 1.20v, brushed still only then 3D 1.125v after ATI Flash 3.79.

Used other trade mark BIOS to be still same 3D to be highest only then 1.125v.

The ATI 5870 chips as if have two kind of editions,
the edition 1: 3D voltage 1.1250v
edition 2: 3D voltage 1.1625v
both BIOS all is same.
 

ljbade

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
There is a bug in 5850 overdrive limit signatures.

I downloaded the ASUS 5850 BIOS (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/58225/Asus.HD5850.1024.090925.html) with the increased 1200 core 1400 mem limits. (Standard is 775/1125)

I then saved the hash to a file.

I then opened my XFX 5850 Black Edition's BIOS (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/61746/XFX.HD5850.1024.091104.html). I then loaded the ASUS hash file.

Now under "Increased values" I get an upper limit of 5000/600! (it should be 1200/1400)
 

scamps

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
12
There is a bug in 5850 overdrive limit signatures.

I downloaded the ASUS 5850 BIOS (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/58225/Asus.HD5850.1024.090925.html) with the increased 1200 core 1400 mem limits. (Standard is 775/1125)

I then saved the hash to a file.

I then opened my XFX 5850 Black Edition's BIOS (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/61746/XFX.HD5850.1024.091104.html). I then loaded the ASUS hash file.

Now under "Increased values" I get an upper limit of 5000/600! (it should be 1200/1400)
it is no bug, but already mentioned several times that method 1 (hash) doesn´t work with 58X0 ... :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
System Name abuild
Processor fx-6100
Motherboard asrock deluxe5
Cooling nh-d14
Memory samsung 8g ddr3
Video Card(s) hd5850
Storage 3xhdd
Case haf 912
Audio Device(s) auzen forte
Power Supply ocz 750
Software win7 x64
Benchmark Scores -a gazillion points in everything
Hi,
I have powercolor hd5850 pcs+, and I have tried adjusting the voltage of the bios I saved using gpu-z, this is the same bios in the techpowerup vga-bios collection marked 2010-01-18 23:39:00 as the date compiled.
In the clock-/voltage settings table, I changed 1.038 to 1.25 @ 760/1050.
After flashing the modified bios onto the card using atiflash and starting windows (7-ultimate-x64) the video card becomes stuck at 760/1050 and I am unable to change clocks for both the core and memory.
I have tried changing the clock with ati overdrive and msi afterburner but neither of them work. Overdrive just disables itself and afterburner does nothing.. except stay at 760/1050. Any help with this would be much appreciated.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
System Name Noname
Processor Core i7 3930K @ 4500
Motherboard EVGA X79 SLI
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory Kingston 4x4GB 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R9 290X
Display(s) 3x 24" Eyefinity
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z
Power Supply XFX 850W Black Edition
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I have a Radeon 5970 card and edited the original bios using RBE (changed GPU clock, bumped 25 Mhz just to test), but when I try to flash my edited bios, ATiFlash shows new bios name and other fields as blank values. I'm using the latest version of RBE (1.25) and ATiFlash (3.79), the same ATiFlash I have used to update the original and buggy bios (without fan control).

What am I doing wrong? :(
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
System Name Noname
Processor Core i7 3930K @ 4500
Motherboard EVGA X79 SLI
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory Kingston 4x4GB 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R9 290X
Display(s) 3x 24" Eyefinity
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z
Power Supply XFX 850W Black Edition
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I don't get it, could you explain?
Sorry. Please look at this photo (It's not mine, I've edited the fields to show what is happening here)



ATiFlash will show a similar screen when I try to flash a bios edited in RBE 1.25 for my 5970.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
System Name Noname
Processor Core i7 3930K @ 4500
Motherboard EVGA X79 SLI
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory Kingston 4x4GB 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R9 290X
Display(s) 3x 24" Eyefinity
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z
Power Supply XFX 850W Black Edition
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64

mRkukov

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
BUG with "Voltage registers" and dynamic fan speed.


I have shapphire 4870x2 and accelero xtreme installed to it.
System is 100% stable with 830/1000 when voltages are 1.35 and fan 100%. (afterburner)

Now I try to edit my original bios to 830/1000, voltages to 1.35.
To do this I need to change 1.2625 ---> 1.3500 in "Voltage registers" or othervise the wizards 1.35 won't work (even when selected, the card will use 1.26 as it's the max in the register).

Ok until this everything is working. I have bios with 830/1000 and 1.35V.

Then the problem:
Dynamic fan settings from 45 to 55, target 60 cycle min: 30.
Now when I open furmark (or any other program) and stress the GPU the fans starts to spin faster... as they should.
BUT after few seconds they start to lower again until they are back to ~30%. At this point GPU0 is over 75c and VRM's are 110+c.

I have tested exactly the same settings except the "Voltage registers".
Without editing registers the voltages stays at 1.2625V and the fan speed goes up to 100% and stays there. Just like it should work.
Temps are low and system works... ~1 minute before crashing due to low voltages.

So if you could find a way to apply that 1.35V without messing the dynamic fan speed my bios would be 100% perfect. Now I need to apply that voltage setting with some other program every time I start the system. Then it's stable again.

E: RBE v1.25
 
Last edited:

MrLeopard

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Overvolting via GPU-Register 0x18 not possible on some HD5870 reference cards.

The BIOS can be written and flashed with altered clock-speeds and vGPU value but it will only keep the clock-speeds and discard any modification in GPU-Register 0x18 whatsoever. The resulting 3D vGPU value is always 1.125V (measured with MSI Afterburner or GPU-Z) though the 0x18 default is 1.1625V.

I myself know of several standard Asus HD5870 (besides my own), some standard Powercolor HD5870 and at least one standard XFX HD5870 affected by this problem.

Kind regards and, in advance thanks for your efforts!
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Aussie land
System Name Nautilus
Processor AMD FX 8350 @ 4.4
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems, 2x Koolance 12038HBK-184 Fans
Memory 16 gig corsair ddr3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 7970GHZ
Storage Sandisk SSD extreme 240G, 2 x 3T Hitachi, Kingston SSD 128G
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply 1000 Watt Seasonic Platinum
Software windows8 x64 Pro Edition
is there any reason why after modifying a bios with rbe that whilst programs note the increase in speed, when put to the test there appear to be no gains, and that the graphics card has somehow reverted to its lesser factory clocks after the bios has been flashed to the faster ones?
 

misterpro

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Overvolting via GPU-Register 0x18 not possible on some HD5870 reference cards.

The BIOS can be written and flashed with altered clock-speeds and vGPU value but it will only keep the clock-speeds and discard any modification in GPU-Register 0x18 whatsoever. The resulting 3D vGPU value is always 1.125V (measured with MSI Afterburner or GPU-Z) though the 0x18 default is 1.1625V.

I myself know of several standard Asus HD5870 (besides my own), some standard Powercolor HD5870 and at least one standard XFX HD5870 affected by this problem.

Kind regards and, in advance thanks for your efforts!
Same here, RBE can not overvolt GPU for the cherry 1.125v 3D 5870's. You can mess around with GPU register 0x18 all you want it does nothing. Very likely a 1.125v shipped 5870 is not 100% same hardware as a 1.1625v 5870. My guess is a chip is tested at 1.125v, if it passes it's will use GPU volt lookup tables #1 who have 1.125v as max, else it's tested at 1.1625v, if it passes it will use GPU volt lookup tables #2 that RBE currently is referring to, else it'll become a 5850.

So basically plz try to find 1.125 somewhere in a 5870 BIOS, and very likely you'll have found the spot a "cherry" 5870 looks at for his voltages. Current GPU volt registers only work for a 1.1625v shipped 5870.
 

chiLLZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I tried flashing with all kinds of 0x18 voltages, the only time it would change was when i used 1.15 the same as the memory. sometimes it would bsod for some voltages, and the rest just defaulted to 1.125. why would msi afterburner be able to change the voltages for these cards succesfully?
 

misterpro

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Because it doesn't modify the BIOS at all is my wild guess, it just forces it in on runtime.

I can put it to 1.25 or whatever I want with Afterburner
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Aussie land
System Name Nautilus
Processor AMD FX 8350 @ 4.4
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems, 2x Koolance 12038HBK-184 Fans
Memory 16 gig corsair ddr3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 7970GHZ
Storage Sandisk SSD extreme 240G, 2 x 3T Hitachi, Kingston SSD 128G
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply 1000 Watt Seasonic Platinum
Software windows8 x64 Pro Edition
I get a similar problem when i use RBE and clock up my 4890, the voltage increase and fan increase are noticable, and reported correctly, yet when i look at things like gpuz and gpu tool, they both report that the card still is running at stock clocks, and then when tested on something like furmark it would seem to qualify the reports from gpuz etc that my frequencies have indeed not changed, even though i have re-written them in RBE. I dont understand why this happens, as when i use gpu tool to OC in windows, the results are apparent in both gpuz reports and furmark benching also proves this increase. Any ideas???? Am I doing something wrong?