• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Testing please: GPU-Z Resizable BAR Support Report

planet1

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2021
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Good evening,

here is beer :toast: but without alcohol :(:


It's ON
rBAR_ON.gif
NOT QUITE
rBAR_ON_NOT_QUITE.gif

rBAR_forgetIT.PNG

@W1zzard
Maybe a third Resizable BAR status e.g. "system ready" on GPU-Z's front section, would curb certain expectations. ;)
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.02/day)
Strange, I have enabled Rezisable BAR in BIOS, but GPUZ reports it not being enabled:
bar.png
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
23,509 (3.72/day)
Location
Washington
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 13900k
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) 3x Gigabyte M28U (4k IPS)
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Hel 2 on ATH-R70x's
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO (White)
Keyboard Ducky One 3 Pure White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Joined
Oct 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.02/day)
Can you provide any other information? Such as system specifications?
Ah, I was distracted, forgot to add.
Motherboard - MSI PRO Z690-A DDR4
CPU - Intel i5 12600K
GPU - MSI GeForce RTX™ 3070 GAMING X TRIO
RAM (maybe irrelevant) - 2x16GB 3600Mhz - Kingston KF436C16RB1K2/32

OS - Windows 11
latest nVidia drivers - 512.59
All the settings including just enabling Resizable BAR should be correct, like disabled CSM and others.


Edit: Ah, found a solution - updated VBIOS with MSI Center from version 146 to 147 and now it seems to be working.
The BIOS version that's reported in GPUZ did not change at all which is strange though.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,879 (3.67/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Ah, found a solution - updated VBIOS with MSI Center from version 146 to 147 and now it seems to be working.
Lost of Ampere cards need a BIOS update to support Resizable BAR.

The BIOS version that's reported in GPUZ did not change at all which is strange though.
I looked into this and it's normal. Unfortunately NVIDIA isn't increasing the version number for ReBAR support, which is unfortunate, otherwise GPU-Z could tell you "Update your VBIOS" on the Resizable BAR requirements page
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
There are ways to acutally enable this soft lockout at the driver level

Shouldnt GPU-Z actually be checking properly instead of going through a whitelist
 

Attachments

  • 1.png
    1.png
    798.2 KB · Views: 54

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,562 (8.38/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.175V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
There are ways to acutally enable this soft lockout at the driver level

Shouldnt GPU-Z actually be checking properly instead of going through a whitelist
GPU-Z has to rely on w1zz finding where and how to check its enabled, and support has varied over time - like with BIOS updates that dont change version numbers
 
Top