• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Conroe865PE thread... for AGP users... stock and mod

Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#51
ROFL!!!:D:rolleyes: I've just read thru the posts again from top to bottom - it's just sunk in that the RAM divider is set to 3/2 and to get it upto 1/1 im gonna have to speed up the bus to 300 instead of 266... I'll try it and set the RAM to 2.5 2 4 4 8. Here we go...:rockout:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#52
Its alive ALIVE!! Just dropped the CPU down to 6 an windows talking, just successfully booted for the first time! Gonna run some tests to see what speed things are running at (CPUZ) will keep you posted. :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#53
SUCCESS! It's ALIVE!!!!

Ok people, thanx to your wonderful knowledge and experience, I'm now typing this on the Conroe865PE/C2Q6600 Build!!!! :eek: Yea that's right I've cracked it - it was the RAM... or the speed of it to be precise. I discovered that because of the way the BIOS handles the clock speeds, the RAM as it turns out was getting OC'd to within an inch of it's poor life!!:twitch: So, after some calculations, I've sussed out the following, Conroe865PE boards DO NOT like CL3 RAM!!! CL2 or CL2.5 is fine - CL3 you get all sorts of problems, which is why I'm now half bald!!!:roll: Anyway here are some screen shots for you lovely folks! I declare this machine conquered - JOB DONE!! :toast::rockout::rockout::rockout::respect::rockout::rockout::rockout:
 

Attachments

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,717 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,622
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#54
Holy old thread...
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#55
Nice to see you got it running. Welcome to the club :rockout:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#56
We are the champions...

Hiya guys, first of all, let me say a huge THANKYOU to you all who've helped me and got me through this build. Without your knowledge and expertise, there is absolutely NO WAY that I'd be typing this message to you all. I'm so much more wiser and informed regarding building now - and to think that I told myself I knew enough - you never stop learning ever! OK well, HALLELUJAH - I've actually nailed it down now to a fine point of what was going wrong with the system all this time - it was an incompatible memory stick. As you can see from the screen shot, I'm now using a couple of 1Gb DIMMS that are both CL/CAS 2.5 and are locked down at 3 3 7. I have 4 DIMMS (4Gb) to use but 1 of them is ONLY CL/CAS 3 and NO LESS! This caused all sorts of errors and instability because ConRoe865 Boards will ONLY USE CL/CAS 2 or 2.5 DIMMS and I was using the CL3 DIMM all the time until I had the idea I was missing something. So... I read the entire thread again and thats when it hit me! Charlib wrote "When installing the q6600, the bios sets automatically the ratio fsb/memory to 3/2. Then the memory works at 177,77mhz only, for the standard fsb of 266mhz." Which straight away triggered my thinking about the RAM being OC'd way too much then Hat wrote "Since you said it doesn't work at all in dual channel and halfass works in single channel I'm thinking it could be a memory controller issue (board) most likely... checking your RAM settings is a longshot, but worth a try." RAM settings absolutely right! Then m1dg3t made me click with the quote "3/3/3/9 is not an actual timing option, 3/3/3/8 is. Most standard ddr400 RAM was specced @ 200Mhz 3/4/4/8." Then I remembered reading in the ASRock ConRoe865PE Manual that the board only likes CL2.5 or CL2 RAM ESPECIALLY WHEN RUNNING AT 1066!!! So, the upshot of all this is now that I know which DIMMS can run at CL2.5 (3 out of 4 DIMMS as it turns out) - I've put 2 - 1Gb DDR400 CL2.5 DIMMS onto the board which are in slots 1 and 3. I've set the FSB at 250 which gives me the the RAM running at DDR333 in DUAL CHANNEL MODE at stock LOW voltage on everything. Please take a look at my screen shot. The last word on this for me is that I'm getting a matched set of
OCZ Platinum PC3200 2 3 2 5 RAM which will run upto speeds in excess of DDR550 CL2.5! It's been fun guys, and I will keep you posted on the RAM when I get it. keep the faith! :toast::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout:
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#57
Early Upgrade

Allo! Just a quick update for ya, I've just ordered a matched pair of
'OCZ PC3200 1024MB EL DUAL CHANNEL 2 3 2 5 DIMMS'! :respect: They're CL2 at DDR400, so overclocking is absolutely on the table with these babies!!! :rockout: :rockout: :rockout:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#58
ConRoe 965PE BIOS MOD HERE!

Allo! This will be my final update for a while. OK so, after reading and searching for days on end for a BIOS Hack that'll run the divider at 1:1 or even 5:4 guess what - I FOUND IT! And took delivery of 2x OCZ 1Gb Platinum DDR400 2 3 2 5 Sticks!!! So I've install em and I'm as happy as can be! My PC is running smooth as a babies behind and fast too - stable a granite. I'm happy and for those who want it, here's that BIOS mod too. It's 1.50 modded to run at 5:4 divider. The attached file IS NOT A TXT FILE - ITS THE BIOS UPD - RENAME IT FROM TXT to ROM!!! ;) All the best. :toast::rockout::rockout::toast:
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#59
Here's my PC now! HAPPY!!!!! :toast: :toast::rockout::rockout::rockout:
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#60
Allo! This will be my final update for a while. OK so, after reading and searching for days on end for a BIOS Hack that'll run the divider at 1:1 or even 5:4 guess what - I FOUND IT! And took delivery of 2x OCZ 1Gb Platinum DDR400 2 3 2 5 Sticks!!! So I've install em and I'm as happy as can be! My PC is running smooth as a babies behind and fast too - stable a granite. I'm happy and for those who want it, here's that BIOS mod too. It's 1.50 modded to run at 5:4 divider. The attached file IS NOT A TXT FILE - ITS THE BIOS UPD - RENAME IT FROM TXT to ROM!!! ;) All the best. :toast::rockout::rockout::toast:
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!! :respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect:

Where did you find it? I must have spent like a month looking for it. Too bad it's the 1.50 bios but it supports my CPU so it should be alright. Testing. :rockout::rockout::rockout:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#61
Where did I find it!? If I told you, you'd never believe it... ahh what the hell - in an ex DARPA server! I'm still confused tho - I tried the BIOS yesterday an as shown in the screenshot, the system ran ok - then today I turned it on, it booted then everything I tried to run started to crash... I'm a little confused I must say again - so reverted back to BIOS 1.72 running with 3:2 divider - clocked up the FSB to 300 so the CPU is running at 2.7 instead of 2.4 and the RAM is running at DDR400 and I'm Still having problems... I'm getting a headache!
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#62
Maybe you could disable Intel SpeedStep and see if that helps?? Bios 1.60 had some bugfixes for it and the bios you found is 1.50.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#63
Yeah I figured that one so I've gone back to using 1.70 and setting the FSB to 300 so I get DDR400 (199.8) - at least it's stable... I'm not to sure what to make of 1.71 and 1.72 - they seem to be identical...
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.64/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#64
If you are brave, get an original 1.50 ROM, compare it to the hacked 1.50. Transfer those same edits to the newer 1.72

This is some work to achieve using a BIOS editor etc. But I'm sure quite do-able
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#65
hmmmmm... do-able I'll have a go! ;)
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#66
Wtf!??

Allo its been a while huh? Well I went as far as I could with ConRoe865PE-I realised this when I started to actually get into BIOS editing!? Nah not really...! So, I've just got a ASRock 4CoreDual SATA2 Rev 2.00 MainBoard, an Intel Q6600 (G0) and a matched set of OCZ Platinum 2Gb RAM (2x PC3200 1Gb 2 3 2 5) with a Sapphire HD3850 AGP card and a 400Gb IBM SATA2 HDD. I built the machine turned it on and it POST'd first time, so I flashed the BIOS to 2.20A thanx to a link off this site to PC-TRIEBER. Booted again and tried to run a W7 install a few times and failed as the Windows Setup Progam keeps crashing at expanding files saying a "File is Missing" which I know it's not and the HDD is 100%. I went back into the BIOS and UNDERCLOCKED the CPU to 250 FSB, left the RAM at DDR200 and locked up the AGP/PCI bus to 66 - auto voltages on everything, and I got it to boot of a CD into MINI W7 which is what im running now. I daren't try an install W7 onto the HDD in case of drive errors cos of the problem with the system clocks. Another thing, I noticed the System Time keeps jumping forward 3/4 hrs!!! It currently says in the task bar that it's 08:15am when it is in fact 4am!? And thats after I've performed a time update! Please help, I've been building systems since the days of DOS 2 and 286's and I'll be damned if I know whats going on, I thought it might be the RAM but as I've 2 sets of Dual Channel OCZ RAM and they're both 100% - I know the RAMS tip-top.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#67
I don't have experience with that board but I think that Jstn7477 has (or had) one. _JP_ too. You might want to give them a shout.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#68
Allo its been a while huh? Well I went as far as I could with ConRoe865PE-I realised this when I started to actually get into BIOS editing!? Nah not really...! So, I've just got a ASRock 4CoreDual SATA2 Rev 2.00 MainBoard, an Intel Q6600 (G0) and a matched set of OCZ Platinum 2Gb RAM (2x PC3200 1Gb 2 3 2 5) with a Sapphire HD3850 AGP card and a 400Gb IBM SATA2 HDD. I built the machine turned it on and it POST'd first time, so I flashed the BIOS to 2.20A thanx to a link off this site to PC-TRIEBER. Booted again and tried to run a W7 install a few times and failed as the Windows Setup Progam keeps crashing at expanding files saying a "File is Missing" which I know it's not and the HDD is 100%. I went back into the BIOS and UNDERCLOCKED the CPU to 250 FSB, left the RAM at DDR200 and locked up the AGP/PCI bus to 66 - auto voltages on everything, and I got it to boot of a CD into MINI W7 which is what im running now. I daren't try an install W7 onto the HDD in case of drive errors cos of the problem with the system clocks. Another thing, I noticed the System Time keeps jumping forward 3/4 hrs!!! It currently says in the task bar that it's 08:15am when it is in fact 4am!? And thats after I've performed a time update! Please help, I've been building systems since the days of DOS 2 and 286's and I'll be damned if I know whats going on, I thought it might be the RAM but as I've 2 sets of Dual Channel OCZ RAM and they're both 100% - I know the RAMS tip-top.
Swap out the Cmos battery, maybe check another CD drive!

loosen timings on the ram!
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#69
Well, I seemed to have cured the problem - I dropped the clock ratio from x9 to x8 - an now it runs like a dream!!!? The CPU is a Q6600 (G0) an is supposed to run at x9 ratio as standard!? Weird? Any thoughts...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,702 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,114
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#70
Well, I seemed to have cured the problem - I dropped the clock ratio from x9 to x8 - an now it runs like a dream!!!? The CPU is a Q6600 (G0) an is supposed to run at x9 ratio as standard!? Weird? Any thoughts...
what ratio, are you talking about the Multiplier which determines the CPUs operational state

aka FSB x Multiplier Number? or are you talking about a memory divisor?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#71
Well, I seemed to have cured the problem - I dropped the clock ratio from x9 to x8 - an now it runs like a dream!!!? The CPU is a Q6600 (G0) an is supposed to run at x9 ratio as standard!? Weird? Any thoughts...
i think maybe the power circuitry was having a hard time with that CPU! great that it's all good :)
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#72
Ooh sorry yea the CPU Multiplier... its set at 8x....
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
North-West, UK
System Name Bears PC mk 5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX6800 ES - SLACP (G0) Marked as QXWX ES!!
Motherboard ASRock ConRoe865PE Rev 3
Cooling TuniQ Tower 120
Memory OCZ Platinum 2.5-2-3-5 DDR 400 4 x 1Gb sticks
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD3850 512Mb AGP
Storage IBM Deskstar 400Gb SATA HDD
Display(s) AOC 24" 1080p LED TV
Case ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition PCI
Power Supply Corsair CX500 80plus Cert ATX-PSU
Mouse LogiTech G5 PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard PS/2 Standard 106 Key KB
Software Windows 10 Anniversary Ver 1607-Build 14393.105
#73
ROFL!!! I've just discovered that I've made an error with my BIOS settings - I left the Thermal Throttling function OFF in the BIOS - since I've turned it on and set the FSB to AUTO - Multiplier to x9 and memory to DDR400 with low voltage settings on all - it's as stable as a rock and runs fine... I AM A DOUGHNUT!!!! ROFL!!!! I'm still gonna try an OC it tho... Muwahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!! ;-)
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#74
mmm... so it throttles at stock speeds? You might need a better heatsink. What are you using?
 

ashoka

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#75
Mother board for Pentium D

mmm... so it throttles at stock speeds? You might need a better heatsink. What are you using?
TRWOV

I want Asrock ConRoe 865PE mobo for my Pentium D and DDR and AGP card. where to get?
I am from India. Any Mobo for Pentium D will do but this is best not wasting my existing
memory and DVD drive...