• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

The far cry 2 thread!

Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Anyone know how to make single player maps in the map maker? I cant get online yet*COUGH COUGH* and I have some good ideas for some campaigns.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
I still can't understand how they've made it look as/more beautiful than Crysis and maintain a decent framerate.

Anyways, can someone please help me. I keep finding these tapes and I don't know where the guy is who needs them. There was a writer/author who was in 'Mike's Bar' who said he wanted them, but I have no idea where he is now :confused:

Thanks :)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
I still can't understand how they've made it look as/more beautiful than Crysis and maintain a decent framerate.

Anyways, can someone please help me. I keep finding these tapes and I don't know where the guy is who needs them. There was a writer/author who was in 'Mike's Bar' who said he wanted them, but I have no idea where he is now :confused:

Thanks :)
I think you take them to those power tower things.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Crytek didn't even have an open world. They were just levels.. Open them up in the map maker, each level is different and its not even that open. FarCry 2 is one huge map and it still runs 10x better which is pitiful on crytek's part.
 

entsyymi

New Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
Finland
Processor E4600 @ 3,3Ghz
Motherboard Abit IB9
Cooling Noctua NH-U9F
Memory 4Gb G.Skill DDR2-800Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD4870
Storage Western Digital 640AAKS
Display(s) Eizo FlexScan S2201WSEK
Case Acase A+ CS-188A
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio (Integrated)
Power Supply LC-Power Titan LC6560T
Software Vista 64-bit
I know. I feel so sad everytime I see the logo. :shadedshu
Who mentioned my avatar? :DD

Anyway, the game rocks. Only thing that bothers me is that it randomly just shuts down to the desktop, with no errors. Great to lose an hour of not saving the game =/. Might be because my "real" version is still on mail ^^.
 
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.27/day)
Likes
71
Location
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
System Name Rampage 3.0
Processor i7 3770K 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair 110 (280mm rad)
Memory 16GB G.Skill Sniper F3-1866 10-11-10 CR1
Video Card(s) 2 X gigabyte 7970 ghz edition @1100mhz / 6000mhz
Storage samsung 500 GB + 128GM crucial M4 ssd
Display(s) LG IPS235P 23in IPS 1080p
Case corsair vengance c70 - white
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair HX-750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
hmmm it looks like my rig is running this like shit, i dont have screenies of the bechmarks as i am at work, but from what i rember with my e8600 @ 4.33 ghz and gtx280 at stock with 8 GB or ram with the test ran at 1680#1050 i was scoring a max of 57fps, Min of 20 and average of 30 .... i am on slightly dated drivers so it looks like i will have to give the new beta's as go when i get home - - - are they ment to give much of a boost ?

bty im about 2 hrs in and haveing lost of fun with the flare gun ... ... dose anyone know what the ammo upgrades do ??? i thought they added more to the MAX you could carry but i havent seen what it dose
 

CY:G

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
173 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
System Name CYGNUS X4
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67Pro
Cooling ThermalRight Ultra 120 Extreme
Memory 2 * 4GB DDR 3 1600MHz = 8GB
Video Card(s) 2 * 6950 2GB In Crossfire and a 3870
Storage 2 * 640 GB WD AAKS in RAID 0
Display(s) 4 * 24" Dell LCDs
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair HX650
Anyone else having problems loading custom maps in the editor?, mine throw a weird error when i hit continue it loads the stage without any of the scenery changes i have made, it only shows the objects...
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
hmmm it looks like my rig is running this like shit, i dont have screenies of the bechmarks as i am at work, but from what i rember with my e8600 @ 4.33 ghz and gtx280 at stock with 8 GB or ram with the test ran at 1680#1050 i was scoring a max of 57fps, Min of 20 and average of 30 .... i am on slightly dated drivers so it looks like i will have to give the new beta's as go when i get home - - - are they ment to give much of a boost ?

bty im about 2 hrs in and haveing lost of fun with the flare gun ... ... dose anyone know what the ammo upgrades do ??? i thought they added more to the MAX you could carry but i havent seen what it dose
ahve you tried running your system at stock speed?
Ive been reading issues with the game the whole day and a lot of people seem to have issues with overclocked gfx cards... (cpu's possibly too not sure)
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,912 (1.11/day)
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
My 3870's are running at 840/1141 and it seems to be working fine for me. I wonder if its just an NVidia issue? Thats really strange how an overclocked card can hinder performance in a specific game.
 
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.27/day)
Likes
71
Location
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
System Name Rampage 3.0
Processor i7 3770K 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair 110 (280mm rad)
Memory 16GB G.Skill Sniper F3-1866 10-11-10 CR1
Video Card(s) 2 X gigabyte 7970 ghz edition @1100mhz / 6000mhz
Storage samsung 500 GB + 128GM crucial M4 ssd
Display(s) LG IPS235P 23in IPS 1080p
Case corsair vengance c70 - white
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair HX-750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
ahve you tried running your system at stock speed?
Ive been reading issues with the game the whole day and a lot of people seem to have issues with overclocked gfx cards... (cpu's possibly too not sure)


GfX card is at stock and i have played and tested with stock cpu speed (3.33 ghz) and benchmark scores were down buy a few fps with the slower cpu
 
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
1,262 (0.36/day)
Likes
65
System Name Geometro
Processor i5 760 @ Stock (need 1156 brackets for my cooler)
Motherboard MSI P55A-G55
Cooling Kingwin RVT-12025 HDT
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Blackline Frostbyte 1600 C9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX 275 MSI Twin Frozr OC
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW 23"
Case Lancool PC-K62
Power Supply Corsair VX550W 550W ATX 12V
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Arch Linux x64
The game is freaking amazing and the graphics are great as well.
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
Well it certainly runs better than crysis but it doesn't look half as good.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
538 (0.14/day)
Likes
64
Location
Round Rock, TX
System Name Teh Beast
Processor 8700k @ 4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X @ 3466
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 TI
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Display(s) Asus Swift
Case Corsair Air 740
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Software WIndows 10 Pro
I think it does, in some ways i think it looks better than crysis.

Well it certainly runs better than crysis but it doesn't look half as good.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
TBH, didn't bother me that much at all...it's noticable, but could've been worse. I was too busy enjoying the game. Doesn't have to be perfect, and no game ever will be! But I bet it'll be patched sooner than later! :D
Yes, but it's also a matter of principle. It's about time developers stopped using this method to filter textures; I suppose it's not as bad as the sprites popping up.

Crytek didn't even have an open world. They were just levels.. Open them up in the map maker, each level is different and its not even that open. FarCry 2 is one huge map and it still runs 10x better which is pitiful on crytek's part.
Can't agree there on two fronts.

1. "Open world," is an over-used term, that's never really true. And it should never be a selling point except for an adventure or MMO type game. The majority of people are not going to be 'exploring,' and for those that do, they eventually tire of doing nothing but running around the same old scenery.

2. Crysis came out well before FC2 as you know, enough time has passed for them to learn about and make necessary adjustments regarding DX10. Warhead for me runs a tad smoother than FC2, but they both run at acceptable/competitive frame rates. Which shows Crytek has capitalized just as much as Ubisoft.


I'm still surprised at how many people think FC2 looks better than Warhead. Maybe in their 'minds eye,' but in reality, it has now where near the attention to detail, depth or density that Warhead does. The fact that Warhead can provide that much content and have comparitive frames to FC2 I think says more positive about the CryEngine than it does Dunia.


The more I play, although I enjoy it a lot, the weapons and the action and movement feels like it's a total conversion mod for one of the older Call of Duty games - except with modern physics properties. So it doesn't impress me, but it doesn't have to :) Tacos don't impress me, but I sure like eating them.
 
Last edited:

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
I think it does, in some ways i think it looks better than crysis.
You two are on my hitlist for disagreeing with me :laugh: So far imo the game didn't wow omg this is better than cocaine kinda intro and when I started playing i was kinda like where is it going is it linear or open ended story mode.
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
2.

I'm still surprised at how many people think FC2 looks better than Warhead. Maybe in their 'minds eye,' but in reality, it has now where near the attention to detail, depth or density that Warhead does. .
I like Warheads graphics, but gameplay and weapons didn't thrill me.........so I'm curious whether you prefer WH or FC2 for gameplay and weapons?
 

jaxxxon

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
174 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
Wales
Processor Intel Core 2 quad 6600 @ 2.7 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 4core1600-D800
Cooling Air
Memory 4GB 6400 800
Video Card(s) Ati 4850 GPU 700Mhz Mem 1050Mhz
Storage 1 X 750 GB, 1 X 500 GB, 1 X 250GB
Display(s) 19" Viewsonic 2ms
Case XBLADE
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 700W Antec
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3dMark2006 12816
I'm very impressed so far, game runs fine at high settings on my X1900XT! Upgrading to HD4850 tomorrow, I'll be able to go DX10 then :)

Is there much diff between dx9 & 10? Can anyone do a comparison?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
So far for me DX10 results in stuttering. DX9 works fine.
 
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
1,262 (0.36/day)
Likes
65
System Name Geometro
Processor i5 760 @ Stock (need 1156 brackets for my cooler)
Motherboard MSI P55A-G55
Cooling Kingwin RVT-12025 HDT
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Blackline Frostbyte 1600 C9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX 275 MSI Twin Frozr OC
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW 23"
Case Lancool PC-K62
Power Supply Corsair VX550W 550W ATX 12V
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Arch Linux x64
the game crash for no reason every 10-15 mins for me, it doesn't show any of the usual window you get when something crash, the game just close to desktop for no freaking reasons.
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
I had a few issues with the game crashing after an hour or so sometimes while during a quick load and whenever i attempted to change resolution but ever since i downgraded back to the 178.24 drivers its been perfectly fine again
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
I'm still surprised at how many people think FC2 looks better than Warhead. Maybe in their 'minds eye,' but in reality, it has now where near the attention to detail, depth or density that Warhead does. The fact that Warhead can provide that much content and have comparitive frames to FC2 I think says more positive about the CryEngine than it does Dunia.
Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.