• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[Updated]AMD/ATi 2D Clock Guide

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
No, I suggested what I wrote in the post above you.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
No, I suggested what I wrote in the post above you.
I have asked that from Steevo
If the BIOS update won't do anything, and you don't recommend older driver, then what should I do? :/ I have to try an older driver because this is very annoying and disturbing problem. If this won't help then I don't know how should I solved this. Maybe I will try again the CCC preset. Any idea why were the core and memory clock still 300/150 in GPU-Z in 2D after I set 350/200 in the CCC preset? Of course I save the document, evoke the preset and reopen AB and GPU-z.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Omg take the card back and exchange it. Stop worrying and just do it. Smfh.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Omg take the card back and exchange it. Stop worrying and just do it. Smfh.
But he's explaining a problem that is driver related, that others have experienced.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Sounds like the monitor to me or refresh/resolution sync issue. Bet a hard format with fresh drivers resokves this instead of trying to screw with driver removal tools...
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
DId you do this?

Did you try 14.9 beta? I know of the issue. Like I said, the 14.9 beta driver fixed it for me.
Download it here: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMDCatalyst14-9-1BetaWINReleaseNotes.aspx
BIOS update won't do anything, you may get lucky with an older driver, but I wouldn't recommend it.
Yeah I have tried 14.9 beta driver but the screen still fluctuates/jumps. Why won't the BIOS update solves this issue? By the way is it normal that the core and memory clocks fluctuate just like on the picture below in desktop?
9nd.png


As you can see the clocks of the core and the memory fluctuate. But the screen jump doesn't occur at every fluctuation, when the clocks go up and suddenly down, or backwards. So I don't understand why this jumps happen at all :/

EDIT:
I also used Driver Sweeper and then I successfully installed the driver from the MSi CD. The problem still occurs. But now I can set clocks with the CCC preset. During games (1020/1500) the screen DOESN'T jump (only in menus), but I think I shouldn't set the 2D profile to 1020/1500, because it won't be good for my bills and my card. What do you think? What clocks should I set? Should I maximize the memory clock in CCC for example 350/1500?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Its starting to sound like youre in a situation it be best to dump the os get newest mobo and gpu drivers. By the way im unsure but is your card in the top most pcie 16x slot?

Also just bump it in incriments.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Its starting to sound like youre in a situation it be best to dump the os get newest mobo and gpu drivers. By the way im unsure but is your card in the top most pcie 16x slot?

Also just bump it in incriments.
Yes it is in the upper pci-e x16 slot.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,450 (0.85/day)
Likes
769
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
try upping the voltage to 1V instead of 0.851 usually it's a voltage thing it happens when the clocks go up but the voltage takes longer to respond and causes the jump seen on you monitor
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
try upping the voltage to 1V instead of 0.851 usually it's a voltage thing it happens when the clocks go up but the voltage takes longer to respond and causes the jump seen on you monitor
1V with the deafult idle clocks? 300/150?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,450 (0.85/day)
Likes
769
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
yes try that if it still flickers then try a wee bit higher on the clocks and 1V I've found that by setting the voltage first and then the clocks you find a clock speed that works and keep temps down when idle
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
yes try that if it still flickers then try a wee bit higher on the clocks and 1V I've found that by setting the voltage first and then the clocks you find a clock speed that works and keep temps down when idle
I have set the clocks 501/1500 at 0,95V (official Blu-ray clocks of the card - http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/R9_280X_Gaming/30.html) and the jumps have just finally disappeared. Is it harmful for the card, that the memory clock is always at 3D load stage? Or should I try a lower memory clock? Temperatures and fan speed changes:
300/150 at 0,85V: 39°C - 18%
501/1500 at 0,95V: 44°C - 20%
I think it's not harmful, but I would like to hear an (or more) expert's opinion.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
It's fine. Lowering the memory won't hurt either. Your card seems to have an issue with voltage switching.. which is a hardware defect. What you're doing will fix it for now, but it might not last. The rest is up to you.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
only thing is to RMA it
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
It's fine. Lowering the memory won't hurt either. Your card seems to have an issue with voltage switching.. which is a hardware defect. What you're doing will fix it for now, but it might not last. The rest is up to you.
only thing is to RMA it
If it does the jump one more time again, I will definiately RMA it. By the way thank you guys!
@erocker
Can cause the issue with voltage switching any other symptom than screen flickering/jumping? Just for confirming the hardware defect, because everything is fine now, so I'm not sure whether it's a hardware issue or not.
 
Last edited:

GigaP

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello, I've been wondering if my card was behaving correctly and I stumbled upon this forum/thread.

I have the Sapphire Toxic R9 280x. The core and memory clock are at 300/150 on idle, but they display similar spikes (going up to 500/1600) as with Tibor Hazafi's situation. Is this normal? Sometimes, not always, when watching a youtube video, the clocks stay at maximum (500/1600) for the duration of the video, then go down again. While the video is playing, high clocks also have an effect on the temp and GPU-Z shows it can go up to ~55c from 42c. I was previously an Nvidia user and never experienced anything like it, so I'm a bit confused.

This is a screenshot taken while I was writing this:



I've read in this thread that it has something to do with PowerPlay, but I'm not familiar with its intricacies.

Overall, the card seems very reactive to any kind of change. The clocks can go up and down, concurrently the temps fluctuate very rapidly. The previous card I owned (GTX 660Ti) seems very lethargic in comparison.

EDIT: I just played a 1080p video to see what is going on and the clocks fluctuate every second or two, going from 300/150 to 500/1600. The temps go to 47c. Is this normal?
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Disable hardware acceleration in your browser. It seems to be an issue with HTML5/Flash and the drivers. No fix that I know of other than disabling hardware acceleration.
 

GigaP

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Seemed to do the trick, now it stays on 300/150 99 percent of the time while browsing (also while watching youtube). Thank you, one thing less to worry about :)
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi, first of all, thank you a lot for the guide. It helped me alot with the older games i have been playing, since the amd drivers wouldnt work well with them.

I have been using this method for a while without a glitch. But recently, i have reinstalled my gpu drivers (clean install) and having a tiny problem with the 2d clock profiles that i have created once again.

The problem is, i now need to reactivate the custom profile twice to take effect. I'm not sure if I am missing something. But when I activate same custom profile twice, it works as it should be working. I just dont get why I have to do it twice. Any opinions?
Thanks in advance

Edit: Only gpu clock settings needs me to activate the profile twice, all other settings takes effect immediately. I have to activate it one more time to make gpu clock take effect.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2015
Messages
29 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Argentina
System Name Kernel Panik
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-4BXL
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Intel 320 40GB & WD CB 1002FAEX
Display(s) Acer S232HL Abid
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64bits
I followed the guide to the letter to no avail, my clocks remain 400/1200. Using the 14.12 on W7 64.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Processor intel xeon x3460 (same as i7-860; 3.74ghz, turbo boost off)
Motherboard gigabyte ga-p55a-ud3 (bclk 187mhz)
Cooling zalman cnps10x performa + arctic cooling f12 pwm rev.2
Memory 8gb ddr3 1870mhz 9-9-9-27 1.5v (crucial blt4g3d1869dt2txob 2x4gb)
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 1060 mini itx oc 6g
Storage hitachi hds721050cla362 (500gb), toshiba dt01aca200 (2tb)
Display(s) dell u2311h
Case thermaltake swing black (window)
Power Supply zalman zm700-sv (700w)
Mouse logitech g102, logitech g3
Keyboard logitech g213
Software windows 10 pro x64
I followed the guide to the letter to no avail, my clocks remain 400/1200. Using the 14.12 on W7 64.
Guide works, but needs to be updated. I use AMD Catalyst 14.12, and the profile is also not earned after the change. You need to enable the AMD Overdrive after changing the profile to make it work.

I have a graphics card msi 280x 3g, and the screen is flickering in 2d mode sometimes. I wanted to solve this problem and changed the memory clock in 2D. It was 300/150 and now is 300/575 after the change, but it did not help. Maybe I need to change a second profile for 2D (500/1500) and make it a 500/575? But I'm not sure where exactly I need to change it. Does the option MemoryClockTarget only for 2D? Or it works also for 3D? I do not want to play with the memory frequency 2300 instead of 6000 :p
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Guide works, but needs to be updated. I use AMD Catalyst 14.12, and the profile is also not earned after the change. You need to enable the AMD Overdrive after changing the profile to make it work.

I have a graphics card msi 280x 3g, and the screen is flickering in 2d mode sometimes. I wanted to solve this problem and changed the memory clock in 2D. It was 300/150 and now is 300/575 after the change, but it did not help. Maybe I need to change a second profile for 2D (500/1500) and make it a 500/575? But I'm not sure where exactly I need to change it. Does the option MemoryClockTarget only for 2D? Or it works also for 3D? I do not want to play with the memory frequency 2300 instead of 6000 :p
Thanks for the update!

Is your issue primarily happening while using an internet browser? If so, it may have to do with the driver and not with the clocks. It's been an issue lately with some folks.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Guide works, but needs to be updated. I use AMD Catalyst 14.12, and the profile is also not earned after the change. You need to enable the AMD Overdrive after changing the profile to make it work.

I have a graphics card msi 280x 3g, and the screen is flickering in 2d mode sometimes. I wanted to solve this problem and changed the memory clock in 2D. It was 300/150 and now is 300/575 after the change, but it did not help. Maybe I need to change a second profile for 2D (500/1500) and make it a 500/575? But I'm not sure where exactly I need to change it. Does the option MemoryClockTarget only for 2D? Or it works also for 3D? I do not want to play with the memory frequency 2300 instead of 6000 :p
Hi 448,
First of all, the method will work in both profile (2D/3D). You should definiately set the clocks to 500/1500 with enabled amd overdrive as you mentioned. The point is the memory clock has to be constans (min = max = 1500). It means this in the .xml file:

<Feature name="CoreClockTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_27751462&amp;REV_00_4&amp;CD6A312&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want_0" value="50000" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="102000" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="PowerControl_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_27751462&amp;REV_00_4&amp;CD6A312&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want" value="0" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_27751462&amp;REV_00_4&amp;CD6A312&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want_0" value="150000" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="150000" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="CoreVoltageTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_27751462&amp;REV_00_4&amp;CD6A312&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want_0" value="850" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="1200" />
</Feature>

It works absolutely fine for me with the same card (msi 280x). I hope it helps.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
150 (0.04/day)
Likes
52
Location
Chilliwack, BC
Processor AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX 1.01
Cooling Zalman 9900NT
Memory 16GB G Skill TridentX DDR3 2400@2133 CL9-11-11-31 F3-2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX Double D R9-280X-TDFD 3GB 384-Bit GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850Pro 128GB, WD VelociRaptor 600GB, Seagate 7200.14 500GB
Display(s) HP LP2065 IPS
Case Coolermaster Elite RC-330 ATX
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus
Power Supply Corsair TX850W V2 Single 70A Rail
Mouse Asus 0K100-00030200
Keyboard IBM KB-9930
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 1.21GW @88MPH
My 6970 jumps up and down lots, but it NEVER flickers the screen doing it.
The idle clocks are even lower than the R9 series.
From what I've read:
This flickering issue occurs on motherboards that are not compatible with the new Low/Idle power state features of the R9 Series.
Print Screen 2014193.jpg