• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[Updated]AMD/ATi 2D Clock Guide

Hamacher

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
The same

It works on latest drivers and 7000 series.
I have a 7970 with 13.3 beta drivers and I increased the minimum clock thanks to this guide.
Now I'm running at 400/300 instead of 300/150, hoping this eliminate the flickering problem.
Anyway... three years? This has been going on for three years and AMD didn't solve it. Pretty disappointing.
Hi guys i'm new here, i've fix the problem 3 times before. but now i'm trying to fix the same problem and I have sucess... 7970 and my sound is bugged

I used like this before... please help me! :(

<Feature name="AutoTuneSupport" />
<Feature name="CoreClockTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_3000174B&amp;REV_00_4&amp;B77C4C1&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want_0" value="40000" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="57500" />
<Property name="Want_2" value="85000" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="PowerControl_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_3000174B&amp;REV_00_4&amp;B77C4C1&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want" value="0" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_3000174B&amp;REV_00_4&amp;B77C4C1&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want_0" value="30000" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="150000" />
<Property name="Want_2" value="150000" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="CoreVoltageTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_3000174B&amp;REV_00_4&amp;B77C4C1&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want_0" value="850" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="1175" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="MemoryVoltageTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6798&amp;SUBSYS_3000174B&amp;REV_00_4&amp;B77C4C1&amp;0&amp;0008A">
<Property name="Want_0" value="0" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="0" />

http://pastebin.com/6S2b4zV9


HAhahaha FIXED the problem AGAIN, Using the same options, with 13.4 amd catalyst. Thanks for this Topic helpfull

Edit

Now the same problem back, why god, why!!!:banghead::cry::respect:
 
Last edited:

thracx

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name ThracxBox
Benchmark Scores http://pcpartpicker.com/user/thracx/saved/1rC5
HDMI Intermittent Audio Workaround

Raising the CoreClockTarget Want_0 value to 46000+ fixed this issue for me (PowerColor 7950, Radeon Catalyst Drivers v13.4 from 2013.04.24).

Below is the 'HDMI Sound Fix.xml' file that I am using as Catalyst Preset:
Code:
<Profile>
  <Caste name="Graphics">
    <Groups>
      <Group name="Overdrive5">
        <Feature name="TimeUnlocked" />
        <Feature name="OverclockEnabled">
          <Property name="OverclockEnabledProperty" value="True" />
        </Feature>
        <Feature name="AutoTuneSupport" />
        <Feature name="CoreClockTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_679A&amp;SUBSYS_30001787&amp;REV_00_4&amp;BAB4994&amp;0&amp;0008A">
          <Property name="Want_0" value="46000" />
          <Property name="Want_1" value="84000" />
        </Feature>
        <Feature name="PowerControl_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_679A&amp;SUBSYS_30001787&amp;REV_00_4&amp;BAB4994&amp;0&amp;0008A">
          <Property name="Want" value="0" />
        </Feature>
        <Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_679A&amp;SUBSYS_30001787&amp;REV_00_4&amp;BAB4994&amp;0&amp;0008A">
          <Property name="Want_0" value="15000" />
          <Property name="Want_1" value="103500" />
        </Feature>
        <Feature name="CoreVoltageTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_679A&amp;SUBSYS_30001787&amp;REV_00_4&amp;BAB4994&amp;0&amp;0008A">
          <Property name="Want_0" value="950" />
          <Property name="Want_1" value="1250" />
        </Feature>
        <Feature name="MemoryVoltageTarget_PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_679A&amp;SUBSYS_30001787&amp;REV_00_4&amp;BAB4994&amp;0&amp;0008A">
          <Property name="Want_0" value="0" />
          <Property name="Want_1" value="0" />
        </Feature>
      </Group>
    </Groups>
    <Adapter name="PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_679A&amp;SUBSYS_30001787&amp;REV_00_4&amp;BAB4994&amp;0&amp;0008A">
      <Aspect name="Overdrive5" />
    </Adapter>
  </Caste>
  <Caste name="Platform">
    <Groups />
    <Adapter name="PlatformAdapterUDID" />
  </Caste>
</Profile>
PS. Prior to using this Catalyst Preset method, simply having a game like Starcraft 2 running minimized in the background fixes the issue (since this causes the GPU Core Clock to stay well above the threshold needed).
 

nenedy

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Brasil
HD 5850 driver stops responding

Hello! I installed a HD 5850 and I'm having trouble playing BF3 (Directx Error) and use the flash player, the picture is all distorted.
Note: disable Flash Player in Chrome options in about :/ / plugins, NOT resolves, continue to distort the images and I can not see videos on youtube for example. Already tried lots os ATI drivers, using driver sweeper, none solves the problem. Already tested the card on another pc, it works fine.

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130318-1533)
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Extreme CPU X9650 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
PLacamãe: ASUS P5N-D
Memory: 4096MB RAM 4GB (2x2Gb) CORSAIR XMS2 DDR2 800Mhz
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
HD Samsung 840 SSD 250Gb
Fonte: OCZ 750W
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series XFX
Driver Version: 12.104.0.0

Edit: I made a profile, if Want_0 300 = BSOD, than i made Want_0 400 = BSOD again...

SOLVED! Just adjust the memory values on BIOS, 5-5-5-18-22, Done!!!
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
South West England
System Name Dell XPS 420 Overcharged
Processor Q6600 OC@3050Mhz
Motherboard Dell BTX
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB Crucial
Video Card(s) XFX HD5770 OC@960/1410
Storage 1TB
Case Dell XPS 420
Power Supply FSP Blue Storm Pro 500w
Software Windows 7
Great guide erocker thanks a lot +1! Helped me to fix the damn flickering every time my memory clocks change on my overclocked HD 5770.

However is there a way to get the custom profile to start automatically with windows or do I have to manually enable it every time?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
Thanks E, fixed my 2D clocks and IE stutter when opening a page.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2013
Messages
84 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
Location
Australia
System Name The FlaMING Flogger
Processor Devil's Canyon i7 4790k @ 4.7
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i (CPU) Kraken G10 with Corsair H55 (GPU)
Memory 16 GB G Skill Trident 2400
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 970 Reference running at 1500MHz Core / 1950MHz memory
Storage OCZ 248 GB SSD X 2 in RAID 0
Case NZXT H440 Red / Black
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX On board
Power Supply OCZ-ZT 650W Bronze Rating
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Hey erocker !

This didn't work for me using windows 8.1 on cat 14.4.

When I try and apply the settings nothing happens and the clocks stay at default.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Indeed. Btw, I noticed some flickering at the top of windows using 300/500. 300/575 works beautifully. :) Testing all kinds of video.. YouTube 1080p, Hulu, Blue Ray, everything is flawless. Not a single graphical glitch and not even a tiny sound hiccup.
Hi Erocker,

I have an MSi R9 280X 3G Gaming card and mostly during games, but sometimes during OS the screen jumps. It means that the screen jumps down ~0,5 inch and then back again for a moment. Sometimes it does 3-4 times in few seconds, but sometimes it doesn't happen for hours. Is it possible that your method of changing idle clocks solves this problem?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,606 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
Hi Erocker,

I have an MSi R9 280X 3G Gaming card and mostly during games, but sometimes during OS the screen jumps. It means that the screen jumps down ~0,5 inch and then back again for a moment. Sometimes it does 3-4 times in few seconds, but sometimes it doesn't happen for hours. Is it possible that your method of changing idle clocks solves this problem?
Sounds like the monitor anti burn in feature where it moves the screen in this matter every so often......or maybe a montior cable issue . GL
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Hi Erocker,

I have an MSi R9 280X 3G Gaming card and mostly during games, but sometimes during OS the screen jumps. It means that the screen jumps down ~0,5 inch and then back again for a moment. Sometimes it does 3-4 times in few seconds, but sometimes it doesn't happen for hours. Is it possible that your method of changing idle clocks solves this problem?
Try it and find out. You can always revert the process if it doesn't help.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Try it and find out. You can always revert the process if it doesn't help.
My card default clocks:
idle: GPU: 300 / Memory: 150
load: GPU: 1020 / Memory: 1500

What would be an optimal settings for 2D? 400/200?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Try 325/175 check voltage too, just bump it 25 mhz each time if you can.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
I set 325/175 with 0 power limit, and Afterburner shows still 300/150, and the screen jumps as well.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Keep on moving up in incriments
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Are you saving it each time and are you turning off gpu z
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Are you saving it each time and are you turning off gpu z
Yeah I always save the profile document, enable the profile and restart GPU-z and Afterburner. But nothing changed? Did I miss something? Power limit? Voltage?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Suraswami or erocker might be able to help with the setup
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Suraswami or erocker might be able to help with the setup
By the way why can't I install older drivers than 14.4? Maybe the cards factory driver on DVD would solve my problem, but I can't install drivers under 14.4. They says "Install package failure"
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
If you are installing older drivers than that due to a change in the drivers themselves you will need to run a driver cleaner, and then uninstall the device in your system--Devices and check "Delete driver software for this device"

Disconnect from the internet so windows doesn't try to download new drivers and reboot, then install the older driver package.

have you tried a different monitor and or cable yet?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
@Tibor Hazafi

I had this issue with some older drivers. The latest 14.9 beta driver resolved the issue for me.

Before you install these drivers, follow this guide to uninstall your old drivers: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/how-to-reinstall-video-drivers-quick-guide.52502/

Then test it out. If you are still having the problem, check monitor/cables.. or do that first. :)
I have already tested other cables and other monitor, but the jumping still occurs, so the problem definiately is with the card or driver. I installed 14.9 first, but in one thread I have read, that maybe the factory MSi driver solves the issue. If not, I will update my card's BIOS. By the way I found an issue with the EXACTLY SAME problem:
"There is a huge debate on the card (270X alone) among users in Korea. The symptom is the screen goes down and up by an inch very fast intermittently. The fluctuation is very fast; but, slow enough to notice. Many Korean users are complaining about this; but, no vendors have officially addressed the issue. "
The only difference is that my card is 280X.
They suggested older drivers or BIOS update.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
They may have sent out a bad batch with an issue in the TMDS timing output. I would RMA unless you are comfortable trying a BIOS update.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
I have already tested other cables and other monitor, but the jumping still occurs, so the problem definiately is with the card or driver. I installed 14.9 first, but in one thread I have read, that maybe the factory MSi driver solves the issue. If not, I will update my card's BIOS. By the way I found an issue with the EXACTLY SAME problem:
"There is a huge debate on the card (270X alone) among users in Korea. The symptom is the screen goes down and up by an inch very fast intermittently. The fluctuation is very fast; but, slow enough to notice. Many Korean users are complaining about this; but, no vendors have officially addressed the issue. "
The only difference is that my card is 280X.
They suggested older drivers or BIOS update.
Did you try 14.9 beta? I know of the issue. Like I said, the 14.9 beta driver fixed it for me.

Download it here: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMDCatalyst14-9-1BetaWINReleaseNotes.aspx

BIOS update won't do anything, you may get lucky with an older driver, but I wouldn't recommend it.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
158 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-4570 @3.2GHz
Motherboard MSI B85-G43 Gaming
Cooling -
Memory 2 * 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2214H / SONY KDL42W705B
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Cooler Master V550S
Mouse Logitech® G300S
Keyboard Logitech® Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
I bought it about a weeks ago, so there is almost 3 years warranty. Do you suggest me sending back the card instead of updating BIOS?