• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crysis custom cfg:

Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
After all is said and done, there's one thing that really sticks out no matter what level of visual quality you have set, and that is the aliasing of flora/trees. Supersampling AA should help this, and fortunatley with the 280 there's no hit on performance, however it's not nearly as potent as Edgeblurring set to level 2. It really does do justice to the scenery as the trees no longer stand out. Yet you can't run it with FSAA on, which means you suffer all the other 'jaggies.'

That really really really dissapoints me; the one thing I really wanted fixed, and it's a massive compromise.
 

Jrob

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
48
System Name Cooler Master
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Extreme striker
Cooling zalman
Memory Corsair Dominator pc-8500
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTX 768, sli
Storage WD Raptor 2-150gb, array-0
Display(s) dell
Case cooler master cosmos
Software Vista ultimate
I agree, can't have both though. Same goes for AF, you have to disable r_usepom=1 to get AF to work which sucks, cause most like the parallax occlusion mapping on the ground textures.

you could buy three 280's and play @ 1680x1050 with 16Q :)
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
I don't know about the AF, I haven't disabled POM, and just forced it through the driver.

Is it in turn forcing pom off? How do I check again?

Though I'm getting some odd problems now. Textures are late loading and popping up all over the place and the game crashes randomly.
 

Jrob

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
48
System Name Cooler Master
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Extreme striker
Cooling zalman
Memory Corsair Dominator pc-8500
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTX 768, sli
Storage WD Raptor 2-150gb, array-0
Display(s) dell
Case cooler master cosmos
Software Vista ultimate
No it wont turn pom off, but I dont think AF will work with pom enabled...Try restarting if textures are loading late crysis can get screwy after messing with the cmds.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,956 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,076
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
I'm sure you know what you're doing Jrob, I was wondering if you messed with the Geometry Instancing and texture/water occlusion lines and if they did any good? Your Extreme 1.2 is working so well now I haven't even wanted to open it up!

I may try 16AF, but I'm getting solid 35FPS, peaking around 50 and dipping to low 20's on occasion...lol the reason I was in the 25-30range was due to the fact I was Folding w/the GPU2 client! :D

Keep up the good work man! Also, I meant to mention this earlier, I dig the text art man! :toast:
 

Jrob

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
48
System Name Cooler Master
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Extreme striker
Cooling zalman
Memory Corsair Dominator pc-8500
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTX 768, sli
Storage WD Raptor 2-150gb, array-0
Display(s) dell
Case cooler master cosmos
Software Vista ultimate
Thanks for teh :love: man :)

Im working on some wicked art for warhead.
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Your cards broke then cause I got 2x free aa in all games.
Could you run a bench of Crysis with and without AA please, I'm curious to see if it is broke:laugh:
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
When I get it back from rma I would happy to :p
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
When I get it back from rma I would happy to :p
Ohh yea, haha...forgot about that:laugh:

I'ma post some no-AA/2xAA bench's, maybe I'm just seeing things:ohwell:
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit




I sure wish I had this free 2xAA:(
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Try other games with 2x AA and tell me how that goes! I hope I dont get one without the magic 2x aa.. crap..

Maybe its vista cause your on XP..
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,956 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,076
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
Still not shabby results man, and I'm sure in future drivers things will improve.

Well he's in vista, maybe there's an ATI trick for the DX10 version? That or his sys specs is incorrect..or he dual boots. I'll have to run that bench on mine, I'm running very high + 1.2 extreme high mod, and getting around 35FPS in game...granted the bench will probably score lower, but this 260 is a decent graphics cruncher...might have to OC it though, if I hit the EVGA FTW 260 speeds, I could see close to stock GTX280 performance from what I've read...I'll find out for sure tho!
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Still not shabby results man, and I'm sure in future drivers things will improve.

Well he's in vista, maybe there's an ATI trick for the DX10 version? That or his sys specs is incorrect..or he dual boots. I'll have to run that bench on mine, I'm running very high + 1.2 extreme high mod, and getting around 35FPS in game...granted the bench will probably score lower, but this 260 is a decent graphics cruncher...might have to OC it though, if I hit the EVGA FTW 260 speeds, I could see close to stock GTX280 performance from what I've read...I'll find out for sure tho!
I'm running XP. DX9 with all DX10 Cvars and MotionBlur=5 is the same as DX10 on Vista. For that bench, I ran my own simple .cfg, so I can run MotionBlur=5....I can't with Jrob's.

@Shadow, I ran Vista 64, and 32 with this card....same thing, just lower results:(
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
What about other games tho?
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Awesome.. The games I tested and worked were, World in Conflict(maxed out DX10), Team Fortress 2(and Hl2 Ep2, same engine w/e), Call of Duty 4 and 2, STALKER, Crysis and Hellgate.
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Awesome.. The games I tested and worked were, World in Conflict(maxed out DX10), Team Fortress 2(and Hl2 Ep2, same engine w/e), Call of Duty 4 and 2, STALKER, Crysis and Hellgate.
I have....Crysis, and I just finished CoD4. That's all that I have ATM....Net has been half out for a week, or I would have HL2 and all my steam games, can hardly download a 2MB file:banghead:
 

Jrob

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
48
System Name Cooler Master
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Extreme striker
Cooling zalman
Memory Corsair Dominator pc-8500
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTX 768, sli
Storage WD Raptor 2-150gb, array-0
Display(s) dell
Case cooler master cosmos
Software Vista ultimate
I'm sure you know what you're doing Jrob, I was wondering if you messed with the Geometry Instancing and texture/water occlusion lines and if they did any good?
Its already set at r_GeomInstancing=1 by default, I would leave it at that. I havn't messed with those cmds much.

If you guys find the waves of the water effects to much like in small ponds, change the cmd.

e_phys_ocean_cell=0.2 to 0.5


Thanks for all the feedback guys, im leaving out of state on business tomorrow, I'll try to answer any troubles you may have with the config when I get time. I'll have my lappy:)

Here is a nice spreadsheet of the cmds by MADBoris;
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/8375/crysiscvarsvy9.gif
 

Jrob

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
48
System Name Cooler Master
Processor Q6700
Motherboard Asus Extreme striker
Cooling zalman
Memory Corsair Dominator pc-8500
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTX 768, sli
Storage WD Raptor 2-150gb, array-0
Display(s) dell
Case cooler master cosmos
Software Vista ultimate
*updated first page with BBCode: so its easy to see which cmd to change if getting kicking while playing online with the configs.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Getting my HD 4850 back from RMA today. Gonna do some vanilla 1.2.2 crysis runs then Extreme then Extreme Lite.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Its awesome trust me! Your rig should probably use the lite version tho. Probably pushing it with a AMD!
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
ill push this little chip to its limits :D You never know, it might die, "Forcing" me to buy a Q6600. I cant imagine how heart-destroying that would be :D
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
What's the variables behind Crysis losing frames when you're moving; not necessarily side to side - setting off motion blur - but simply forward and backwards? I sat still and was holding 30 fps, then moved along a path and it dropped by at least 8; sit still again and it shoots back up?

I was thinking motion blur on objects, but it's not seen by the naked eye, so it's worth removing; I have a variable in mind that might be linked to it, just wondering if anyone has an idea?
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
What's the variables behind Crysis losing frames when you're moving; not necessarily side to side - setting off motion blur - but simply forward and backwards? I sat still and was holding 30 fps, then moved along a path and it dropped by at least 8; sit still again and it shoots back up?

I was thinking motion blur on objects, but it's not seen by the naked eye, so it's worth removing; I have a variable in mind that might be linked to it, just wondering if anyone has an idea?
its because its having to render things as you move - stood still its free to render just what in your FOV and nothing else - in movement you FOV is adjusting every second, add particles + motion blur and you have one hell of a high demand for computing power, hence the drop.