• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Frame loss across the board. PLEASE HELP

Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
40 (1.08/day)
I am getting very frustrated trying to get more frames in game. Specifically warzone. I am seeming to get locked at 100-120. I have all in game settings set as low as they get. No gsync enabled, no overlays, etc.
PC Specs:
Ryzen 9 3900x 4.00GHz
EVGA Geforce RTX 2080Ti Overclocked
64GB Gskill RAM - (4)16GB sticks @ 2133
PCIe Gen3 1TB
PCIe Gen4 2TB
Samsung Odyssey 32" G7 monitor 240Hz refresh
**This is a triple monitor setup**

Dont beat me up on this thread please lol.. I only know enough to be dangerous but I am not super techy...

In any case, can someone help? I feel I should be well off with this equipment but I am not getting the performance I expect. Maybe I'm expecting too much?? Thanks for any help offered!!
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
608 (1.46/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
That RAM speed is really slow. What speed is your kit rated for? Ideally you'd want 3600. What does CPU and GPU usage look like in game?

Edit: Performance seems in line with what I'd expect running at 1440p with that low memory speed. Used this video for an example of 3900X/2080Ti performance. He's running 3600 C14 RAM and at 1440p high settings getting 135ish FPS average. See if enabling XMP/DOCP in the BIOS will get your memory running faster
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,730 (2.62/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
That RAM speed is really slow.
With 64GB spread over four slots the official supported speed from AMD is 2933 MHz. Use to be 2666 MHz. It also depends on single rank vs dual rank sticks.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
40 (1.08/day)
Didn't know the ram speed was low. I can upgrade that if its the deciding factor. No idea what its rated for... CPU usage doesnt go above 40%... How do I check GPU usage in game?

**Face Palm** GPU usage is right in the task manager... lol
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
608 (1.46/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
With 64GB spread over four slots the official supported speed from AMD is 2933 MHz. Use to be 2666 MHz. It also depends on single rank vs dual rank sticks.
Yeah for sure. But the fact that it's running at 2133 is a sign that XMP isn't enabled.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
608 (1.46/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Didn't know the ram speed was low. I can upgrade that if its the deciding factor. No idea what its rated for... CPU usage doesnt go above 40%... How do I check GPU usage in game?
You could use the RTSS overlay that gets installed alongside MSI Afterburner to monitor GPU usage. There also might be some way in-game to enable metrics like that. But I don't think low GPU usage is the root cause.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,730 (2.62/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Didn't know the ram speed was low. I can upgrade that if its the deciding factor.
You don’t need to buy new RAM, just hop over into the BIOS, and try setting a manual clockspeed of 2666 MHz. If that works try the next step of 2933 MHz, might require a bump in SoC voltage.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
172 (2.65/day)
Good luck getting above 2933 MHz with 4 sticks of 64 GB. I'm surprised that my 3900X even managed to run my 4 sticks of 32 GB at 3600.

The performance problems are 99% due to the RAM speed. 2133 is horrid for Ryzen. 3200 or above is recommended especially for third gen (Zen 2) Ryzen.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
40 (1.08/day)
if it helps.... running the asus tuf gaming x570 plus motherboard. (I know thats a cheaper one)
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
172 (2.65/day)
wth is XMP lol
Xtreme Memory Profile (called D.O.C.P. by ASUS. on ASUS boards it's on the AI Tweaker tab -> Ai Overclocking mode -> DOCP). The thing you have to enable in BIOS to get your RAM to run at its advertised speed. But if your ram is advertised as 2133 then not much you can do other than manually getting the sticks to 2666/2933 (which I predict will be extremely hard) or buying a new kit altogether, preferably 2x 32 GB @ 3200 this time, if you need that much RAM.

The reason why RAM speed is this important on Ryzen is due to Ryzen's Infinity Fabric interconnect architecture which connects all the parts of a CPU together. Infinity Fabric clock speed is tied to memory clock speed (for example 3200 MHz RAM = 1600 MHz Infinity Fabric). The higher the Infinity Fabric clock speed, the higher the overall system performance. At 2133 MHz RAM, you have 1066 MHz Infinity Fabric, which is NOT a lot and will severely bottleneck your system.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
608 (1.46/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,730 (2.62/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
wth is XMP lol
Intel’s Extreme Memory Profile, usually it’s the speed you see the sticks advertised as when you’re shopping. There’s the JEDEC safe profiles in the ROM of the sticks that the board boots with.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
172 (2.65/day)
Advertised speed of these sticks is 3200Mhz
Enable DOCP in the BIOS as I've told you. Reboot the PC, press F2 repeatedly to get into the BIOS, search for "D.O.C.P." (should be on the main page of the "Easy" layout) and select "Profile1" under it. Then save & exit. See if the PC boots. I'll be very surprised if it does.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
40 (1.08/day)
Here is the order for the ram.

Also, if it doesnt boot, I can just reset to default and boot as normal?
 

Attachments

  • RAM ORDER.png
    RAM ORDER.png
    64.7 KB · Views: 36
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
172 (2.65/day)
It is G.Skill... should be more to Ryzen's liking. My kits are Trident Z Neos.

If it doesn't boot about 3 times it should reset back to default and bring you into the BIOS again, or into Windows.

If it doesn't boot at all and you get a black screen, you can shut off the PC and follow your motherboard manual to do a CMOS reset.
I have taken the instructions from the manual:

 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
608 (1.46/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Worth mentioning that OP has two separate kits of 2x16. No guarantee both kits use the same ICs which could affect stability also.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
172 (2.65/day)
Worth mentioning that OP has two separate kits of 2x16. No guarantee both kits use the same ICs which could affect stability also.
Wasn't aware of that.. Yeah, that could throw any notion of stability out the window.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
40 (1.08/day)
So for now, best course of action would be to enable the DOCP in bios and cross my fingers? Should I be looking to upgrade the RAM to something better? Or motherboard?

You all know WAY MORE than me, so thank you all so much for all your help thus far...

Also, should I have my PC backup handy in case the PC doesnt boot?
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
172 (2.65/day)
Give DOCP a try. If it doesn't work (which I assume is the case since you use two different RAM kits, but worth a try anyway), do the CMOS reset steps I posted above. Shouldn't need any backups.

I would try to return the RAM if it was bought recently and look into your motherboard's memory qualified vendor list to search for a kit at a speed of 2933 or higher preferrably, if you need 64 GB. If not, you can go to 32 GB and get a 2x16 GB 3200/3600 CL16 kit instead which I'm sure will be fine, especially if it's Trident Z.

I'm not seeing any 2x 32 GB kits in the list so I would not risk it.

Motherboard should be fine.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
14,535 (6.17/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
The amount of topics surrounding COD Warzone are really numerous.

Maybe we should have a sticky help topic for it, so the knowledge can be shared more broadly and reach a bigger audience...and prevent us from repeating the same troubleshooting many times.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,730 (2.62/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Also, should I have my PC backup handy in case the PC doesnt boot?
If the PC doesn’t POST then clear the CMOS via connecting the 2 pins then remove the jumper/metal object or remove the coin cell battery. The system will come back at default settings. Nothing to worry/stress about.
 
Top