• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to Radeon X800/X850 bios modding

Stonecold80

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
ok i now flash my AGP ATIcard, to X850XT now my clock is 520 core & 540 mem.
But ATI TOOLS Still show 12 pipe. So i flash the card again to X850XT PE But the guy who send me the bios didin't tell me it was PCI bios now i can see anything on my monitor. need help.
 

Stonecold80

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Need Help

:banghead: ok i now flash my AGP ATIcard, to X850XT now my clock is 520 core & 540 mem.
But ATI TOOLS Still show 12 pipe. So i flash the card again to X850XT PE But the guy who send me the bios didin't tell me it was PCI bios now i can see anything on my monitor. need help.
 

megabytedesu

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Another question abou my ATI Card

Another question about my card ATI X800 Built by ati, and original from ATI is this: my graphic card have GDDR3 memory but ATI Catalyst Control Center show DDR1 Memory. The information in the bios rom is the same DDR1, but Ati Systray tools show that GDDR3 memory is present in the hardware but not in the bios. Can anybody help me and explain something about this???
I can`t believe that ATI Tech will do this!!!
 

w2richwood

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
74 (0.01/day)
Location
Alta Loma Ca.
Processor intel 6400 core 2 duo
Motherboard asus p5wdh deluxe
Cooling x90 xp
Memory gskill 6400 hz 2x1 gb
Video Card(s) 1800xl ati
Storage 2xraptors in raido 36gig
Display(s) acer 19 in lcd
Case tc mambo black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply enmerax 535 watt
Software xp pro xp office
:banghead: ok i now flash my AGP ATIcard, to X850XT now my clock is 520 core & 540 mem.
But ATI TOOLS Still show 12 pipe. So i flash the card again to X850XT PE But the guy who send me the bios didin't tell me it was PCI bios now i can see anything on my monitor. need help.
well if you have a pci card laying around your in luck pull your agp card out and put in the pce aon boot go to bios boot to pci not agp then reboot and put in your agp and flash away
 

NyCShadow

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Hello, I currently have a radeon x800XT 256MB would I be able to modify this card or does it not need to be modified? Also which drivers should I use for this card for best performance to play an online game?
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,876 (0.93/day)
Location
South of England
System Name Box of Distraction
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling 2x 240mm rads, Corsair ML fans, EKWB pump/res and GPU block. XSPC Raystorm pro CPU block
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE. WC'd & TDP limit increased to 360W.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux) + WD Black 2TB storage drive.
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 27" 1440P 165hz Gsync
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Phillips Fidelio X2 headphones / basic Bose speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0 (mx red switches)
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.3
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/infrared
Hello, I currently have a radeon x800XT 256MB would I be able to modify this card or does it not need to be modified? Also which drivers should I use for this card for best performance to play an online game?
The x800xt already has all 16 pipelines open, so there's no need to do a bios mod.

Best drivers are probably the newest ones available, the Catalyst 7.3 and if you have any problems with those, try 6.12.

Both drivers are available from our downloads section :)

Another question about my card ATI X800 Built by ati, and original from ATI is this: my graphic card have GDDR3 memory but ATI Catalyst Control Center show DDR1 Memory. The information in the bios rom is the same DDR1, but Ati Systray tools show that GDDR3 memory is present in the hardware but not in the bios. Can anybody help me and explain something about this???
I can`t believe that ATI Tech will do this!!!
That card uses DDR3 memory ;)

Catalyst Control Center gets it wrong sometimes i guess.
 

Stonecold80

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Video Card

which card is better. the ATI RADEON X1650 Pro 512MB DDR AGP Graphics Card
or the ATI x850 Pro 256 AGP. :rolleyes:
 

Stonecold80

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
well if you have a pci card laying around your in luck pull your agp card out and put in the pce aon boot go to bios boot to pci not agp then reboot and put in your agp and flash away
what is the command line to flash bios again -i ????? please show how to type it exactly. Thanks :respect:
 

karlberg

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
what is wrong ?

i opend my bios with hexeditor and located the 0x7A

but it look a little strange.

i still have only 12 pipelines!!!

what is wrong?

srry for bad english.
 

Attachments

NyCShadow

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
So I'm guessing I should jsut use the regular ATI drivers not anything from like OMEGA or any modded drivers for my card for increased performance to game online?
 

w2richwood

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
74 (0.01/day)
Location
Alta Loma Ca.
Processor intel 6400 core 2 duo
Motherboard asus p5wdh deluxe
Cooling x90 xp
Memory gskill 6400 hz 2x1 gb
Video Card(s) 1800xl ati
Storage 2xraptors in raido 36gig
Display(s) acer 19 in lcd
Case tc mambo black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply enmerax 535 watt
Software xp pro xp office
what is the command line to flash bios again -i ????? please show how to type it exactly. Thanks :respect:
atiflash -f -p 0 biosname.bin or flashrom -f -p 0 biosname.bin
 

megabytedesu

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Very Thanks Amigo

The x800xt already has all 16 pipelines open, so there's no need to do a bios mod.

Best drivers are probably the newest ones available, the Catalyst 7.3 and if you have any problems with those, try 6.12.

Both drivers are available from our downloads section :)



That card uses DDR3 memory ;)

Catalyst Control Center gets it wrong sometimes i guess.
Now I know that is it, ATI FOREVER!!!
 

Stonecold80

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
atiflash -f -p 0 biosname.bin or flashrom -f -p 0 biosname.bin
i pull out the agp card out, I put a pci card in, went to Bios boot from pci, save it. than boot, than put the agp card in. BUt when i do that the computer won't Boot:cry:
it could be because it was flash to PCI E
 

Stonecold80

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
maybe because there two card in PCI & AGP is that why it won't boot, i have the PCI BOOT First
 

EFILNIKUFESIN

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
any help?

My ATI X800 XL is running 16 pipes.Is there a bios I can use to up my GPU and mem or am I as far as I can go?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

lpfreak

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
63 (0.01/day)
Location
Sydney, Australia
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S983
Memory Geil DDR667 2x1024MB
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce Gigabyte Turboforce 8800GT 512MB
Storage Western Digital SATA II 320gb
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 730BF
Case Antec Plusview II
Audio Device(s) Intel ICH9
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550w
Software Windows XP PROFESSIONAL SP3
what about me, 16pipes?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.27/day)
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
Now I know that is it, ATI FOREVER!!!
That's the exact card I have. Did you get it off eBay too? Anyways, AtiTool labeled it as DDR1 as well as CCC. Also, my speeds are 802mhz DDR overclocked on the ram and that is as high as I can get. Those are definitely not gDDR3 speeds...

Here is the data for our card from ATITool, labeled as "Radeon x800 Series":
Device ID: 554F
Chip Name: R430
Host Interface: PCI-E
Catalyst Version: Unknown (Using 7.3 Vista drivers)
Memory Size: 128MB
Memory Type: DDR1
Memory Bus Width: 256 bit
Active Pipelines: 12
Default GPU Clock: 390mhz
Default Mem Clock: 350mhz
Config_Die_Fuses: 0xFFFFDFFF
Config_Substrate_Fuses: 0xffffff9e
Config_Rom_Fuses: 0xA61
GB_Pipe_Select: 0xAD46

Unlockable to 16 pipes?

Attached is my BIOS.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

jcreel63

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
System Name Sony Vaio VGC-RA920G
Processor Intel P4 560 3.60GHz Hyper Thread
Motherboard ASUS PTGD-VX
Cooling Factory H2O Cooling
Memory 2GB DDR 400 PC3200
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X850XT PE PCI-E D256M
Storage 2-SATA WD Caviar SE16 320GB, RAID 0 = 600GB
Display(s) SONY SDM-HS94P DVI-D
Case NTSC
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply SONY 368watt
Software Microsoft XP Media Center Edition 2005
Proper Flash Tool

I have a ATI Radeon X850XT PE, want to flash the Bios to show the correct name when I install 7.3 software. It shows correct now with the v8.152 software from the GeCube site, but when I install 7.3 Catalyst it shows Radeon X850. I was told to uninstall the software flash the Bios and install 7.3, which flash tool should I use the ATI 3.35?


[SIZE="+1"]Required Tools[/SIZE]
  • If you will be modding your own bios, you will need a utility to get a copy of the bios from the card. ATITool can be used for that.
  • RaBiT is an essential utility for any these mods. As of this posting, the current version is 2.0a and may be downloaded here: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/283
  • For some mods you will also need a hex editor; any will do just fine. One I've found that looks like it would be very easy to find the right location for the values to change can be found here: http://www.mh-nexus.de/ It has a heading at the top which shows the offset for columns, not just rows. It also looks like a decent hex editor overall.
In addition to these tools, you will also need to know how to flash the bios after performing the mod. Instructions for that may be found elsewhere on this site.

Important note: For any of these guides, I recommend reading through the whole thing before attempting to perform the mods.

If you are not comfortable with performing these modifications yourself, there are many others who are also familiar with how to do these, especially after I posted this guide.


[SIZE="+1"]Mod #1 - Changing the Number of Active Pixel Pipelines[/SIZE]

This type of mod can be used for increasing the number of pixel pipelines to all of the ones that are available on your card or also reducing the number (of course, only for testing purposes ;) ). Here are the steps to performing this mod:

  1. If you are modifying your own bios, get a dump of the bios if you haven't already done so (this can be done with ATITool).
  2. Make a copy of the bios you are editing.
  3. Open the copy in a hex editor.
  4. Go to the value at offset 0x7A. If the bios is your current bios, the value at this location should look the same as the CONFIG_ROM_FUSES value that will show up in ATITool if you hold shift when clicking the settings button, except that the first two and last two digits will be switched. Below is an example of what you might see. A red box was added to show the location of the value.



  5. For the byte at 0x7A, leave the first digit intact and change the second digit to one of these values:
    0 = zero pixel pipeline quads disabled (16 pipelines enabled)
    1 = one pixel pipeline quad disabled (12 pipelines enabled)
    2 = two pixel pipeline quads disabled (8 pipelines enabled)
    3 = three pixel pipeline quads disabled (4 pipelines enabled)​
    For example, to change the one shown above from 12 pipelines to 16 pipelines, change the second digit of the value to a zero and this is what it should look like:



  6. After changing the value, save the bios.
  7. Open the modded bios in RaBiT. It will warn you that the bios may be corrupt. When this message appears, click "Yes" to continue.
  8. Save the modded bios. Overwrite the file you just opened, there is no need to create a new file. This step is to fix some checksum and CRC values in the bios so that it will work right.
  9. The modded bios is done.
After correctly flashing the modding bios to the video card, the last digit of CONFIG_ROM_FUSES will change to the same number you picked in step 5, and the number of disabled pipelines will be either how many you picked or how many are disabled in hardware, whichever is higher.


[SIZE="+1"]Mod #2 - Changing the Name and/or GPU Type[/SIZE]

This type of mod can be used to change the name detected for your card and/or the type of GPU detected. Changing the name just gives your card a different name, but does not change performance. In general, you should stay within the same general card class when changing it since it can change the detected GPU type if you don't (X800 should stay X800, X850 should stay X850).

Changing the type of GPU detected to R480 can increase performance for cards that have R480 chips but do not get detected as such (primarily some X800 GT cards and some few X800 GTO/GTO² cards). The GPU type should be kept the same for cards that do not have R480 chips as it can and likely will cause problems on non-R480 chips. (For more information on this and for some pre-modded X800 GT bioses, look here: Performance boost for X800 GT cards with R480 GPU)

There are a few of ways to identify whether the GPU is R480 or not:
  • If ATITool or other utilities say it is R480.
  • If that is not the case the most obvious way to find out, of course, is to take off the heatsink and look at the GPU. If it is R480, it will say so.
  • Another way is to look at the fuses data in ATITool that shows up when you hold shift and click on settings. If it is R480 or R430 then CONFIG_DIE_FUSES will look like 0xFFFF?FFF and CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES will look like 0xFFFFFF9? where the "?" can be any digit. After you determine that it is R480 or R430, to distinguish between the two you can check how high the GPU can be safely overclocked. Many (or most) R430 chips cannot reach 450 MHz and all (as far as I know) cannot reach 470 or above. If your's exceeds what the R430 is capable of and matches the pattern above, then your card very likely has the R480 GPU.
Here are the steps to performing the name/GPU type mod:

  1. Find out what type of GPU your card has (it will be in the format of R4xx). If it does not say R480 and your card is a Radeon X800 GT, GTO, or GTO² card, if you like you may use one of the methods above to determine whether it is R480 or not. If it is R480 and is not being shown as such, you may want to use R480 as the GPU type. Otherwise, just use the same GPU type.
  2. If you are modifying your own bios, get a dump of the bios if you haven't already done so (this can be done with ATITool).
  3. Open the bios you are editing in RaBiT.
  4. Find the driver information file for the driver version you are currently using. The location of it will be in the main installer folder -> Driver folder -> 2KXP_INF folder. There will be two of these file types, one for Windows 2000 (C2_?????.inf) and one for Windows XP (CX_?????.inf). Open one of them.
  5. Search the file for the desired name and proper GPU type. You may also search for an entry with the same SubVendor ID as your current bios. The entries are formatted as shown in this picture:



  6. Enter the information in RaBiT from the entry in the file. The values that you want to change are Device ID, SubSystem ID, and possibly SubVendor ID (depending on whether you found a vendor-specific entry in the file or not for the card type you chose). The locations of the values to use from the entry are shown above.
  7. Save the modded bios with a different name.
  8. The modded bios is done.
After flashing the modded bios, the next time Windows starts up it will detect a new video card with the new name.


If you have any questions about any parts of the guides or find any mistakes or incorrect information in them, let me know.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.27/day)
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
I tried doing that bios procedure on my bios (hexing the location 7A which was 61 to 60). I flashed the bios and booted back into Windows. Everything is the same and the location at 7A reverted back to 61. I know I flashed the right edited bios because I edited some fan speeds and the differences are showing, so how does that happen?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.39/day)
I tried doing that bios procedure on my bios (hexing the location 7A which was 61 to 60). I flashed the bios and booted back into Windows. Everything is the same and the location at 7A reverted back to 61. I know I flashed the right edited bios because I edited some fan speeds and the differences are showing, so how does that happen?
It is normal because you need 2 things in order to open some pipes on X8x0 core:
1. Correct fuses
2. Proper flash command line (flash program)

Without one of the above things you can have moddable card but to remain with limited pipe number.

The most important step is to determine that the fuse values are "correct" for unlocking and only if it is possible to decide how and what BIOS to flash ;) .
 
Top