• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon X800 Non-Pro/X800 XL/X850 Voltmods

cubalis

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#26
that would be why it isn't working :eek:

Thanks for the help!

I'll come back and report how it went.
 

cubalis

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#27
Well, finally got it to work - 1.5v now.

final stable clocks on the powercolor x800xl vivo:
Core: 475MHz
Memory: 580MHz


Thanks again to everyone!
 

webbyboy

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#29
sorry to be dumb here, i am really totally noob on Vmods, Just wondering for pencil mods, how do we know how much we stroke on the resistors will increase how much voltage? i do not know have a voltmeter, so how am i going to set the voltage that i desired?
 

webbyboy

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#31
I've gotten a multimeter, and i just penciled the two points for the vgpu mod, but when i measure it, the voltage gone down the more i stroke, even i stroke lightly, the voltage stay at 1.40. I don't know what's going on..
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#33
webbyboy said:
I've gotten a multimeter, and i just penciled the two points for the vgpu mod, but when i measure it, the voltage gone down the more i stroke, even i stroke lightly, the voltage stay at 1.40. I don't know what's going on..
Webbyboy and Daysleeper, Guys read the article here to get a better understanding of the mod. It's on the same chips just in different locations on this series of cards...


Thanks W1zzard ... looks like I need to get in gear ... :)
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
#34
Urlyin said:
Webbyboy and Daysleeper, Guys read the article here to get a better understanding of the mod. It's on the same chips just in different locations on this series of cards...


Thanks W1zzard ... looks like I need to get in gear ... :)
thanks man....now i have x800 pro@xt vivo,so i know what happens with vgpu and vddr but igpu is new for me...
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#35
Unregistered said:
thanks man....now i have x800 pro@xt vivo,so i know what happens with vgpu and vddr but igpu is new for me...
Unless your are going to water cool or viperchill then you'll never reach the voltage needed to apply the IGPU... just for those applying high voltages to their GPU ...
 

webbyboy

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#37
Urlyin said:
Webbyboy and Daysleeper, Guys read the article here to get a better understanding of the mod. It's on the same chips just in different locations on this series of cards...


Thanks W1zzard ... looks like I need to get in gear ... :)

Yes i've already read it, but there's no indepth explanation of using the multimeter to measure the voltage, the calculations and the conversion. Care to elaborate more?
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#38
webbyboy said:
Yes i've already read it, but there's no indepth explanation of using the multimeter to measure the voltage, the calculations and the conversion. Care to elaborate more?
Did you read the "Getting started" & " Pencil time" sections... simple but should get you going.
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#39
daysleeper said:
jep i got watercooling...so exactly when should i raise the igpu??.or should i consentrate only in vgpu and vccd?
Day... You'll know when to use the IGPU... the card will kick out on you... don't quote me but I think I remember it being around 1.65v on the VGPU vmod ... I'm trying to find time to start and finish the vmod write up... but it's based on the same settings here using the steps under the GPU overvolt protection ...
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
#40
Not getting anywhere with the pincil mod either, voltage isn't moving. My card has no resistor there, and bridging with a pencil seems to do absolutely nothing. I've checked and rechecked with the voltmeter. 1.35 at start, 1.35 still no matter how many swipes I make.
 

h017ah

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2005
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#41
I've got some silver varnish with practically no resistance...
Will I achieve better results if I use this instead of a pencil? And is it safe?
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#42
h017ah said:
I've got some silver varnish with practically no resistance...
Will I achieve better results if I use this instead of a pencil? And is it safe?

no....
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#43
Unregistered said:
Not getting anywhere with the pincil mod either, voltage isn't moving. My card has no resistor there, and bridging with a pencil seems to do absolutely nothing. I've checked and rechecked with the voltmeter. 1.35 at start, 1.35 still no matter how many swipes I make.

are you checking the resistence before and after you pencil?
 

Advil

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#44
I'm the "unregistered" guy a few posts up. :)

Yes, I measured resistance. Before the pencil, there was no contact between the points. Afterward I could get it around .4? (as in .42 to .46 depending on how many passes) but still no major voltage change. Do I need to reduce resiatance more? And what else can I use besides a pencil? I could put a resistor on it, but I'd like to not physically alter the card.
 

funkflix

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2005
Messages
104 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Germany
#46
h017ah said:
No to what?
About safety or about resistance...
U need resitance for the mod, thats the precept how a mod works!

That's not only an direct connection between two points, know what i mean? ;)
 

Advil

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#47
How about a trimmer? I have a handfull of 20k-50k variable trimmers, but I REALLY didn't want to physically alter the card.

Are there any other gurus here who can verify the pencil mod on an X800XL without any resistor at the VGPU?

Also, mine is the RED PCB, CompUSA business purchase from a week ago.
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#48
Advil said:
How about a trimmer? I have a handfull of 20k-50k variable trimmers, but I REALLY didn't want to physically alter the card.

Are there any other gurus here who can verify the pencil mod on an X800XL without any resistor at the VGPU?

Also, mine is the RED PCB, CompUSA business purchase from a week ago.
Read the article here to get an Idea of how to do the pencil mod... W1zzard updated the pics so make sure you review them again ...
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Haapavesi,Finland
#50
well i still don't know that when i pencil vgpu (yep no resistor there) so how i know when i got some pencil in it?.How many ohms should there be?.I'ts much easier when there is a resistor and you can measure that the value has gone down but when there is no resistor.... :eek: