• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SPDTool: Read, Edit and Flash your Memory's SPD

Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
yes you will replace with the intel bios !! you should make SURE that the hp MB is the EXact mb that the bios is written for. you should be able to work with with hp bios if it,s a clone intel
try opening up the hp bio see if there's any thing to unlock
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
yes you will replace with the intel bios !! you should make SURE that the hp MB is the EXact mb that the bios is written for. you should be able to work with with hp bios if it,s a clone intel
try opening up the hp bio see if there's any thing to unlock

ok Thanks,

the mobo was made for HP by ASUS but intel has a mobo just like the ASUS non OEM board, but all 3 boards look identical sept for the HP mobo has a few things layed out different its a flavor of the HP/ASUS P4SD mobo.

i have extracted the BIOS from the download from HP for my motherboard but itk wont open it. i dont know what program to use to open the HP bios.

i know that the bios chip on the mobo is a Winbond W39V040FAP and its 512K × 8. the Super I/O is a SMsC LPC47B387-NC. i did try and search for a non OEM mobo that had the same super I/O and bios chip that i could use its bios to flash to but i came up empty, i know that the P4SD LA (yale) could be flashed with a bios from the ASUS P4G800-V, but my mobo dont have the same super I/O so i didnt even try.

i did use Thaiphoon over SPDtool because a few things didnt look right. but SPDtool has so many settings over Thaiphoon. Like in SPDTool it shows number of dimm ranks as 3 when it should be 2 and a few other things.

but i still want to unlock my bios so i could set the memory timings and voltage and other things in the bios.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
What bios chip is on the mb if it's an asus/hp should be ami??? can you upload a copy if the hp one & i'll have a look
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
This is it ???
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
if it's an award bio the you need these tools for editing prop tool8 rc1.rar
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
What bios chip is on the mb if it's an asus/hp should be ami??? can you upload a copy if the hp one & i'll have a look
the chip on the mobo is a winbond bios chip, i did extract the bios file out of the .exe from HP's site and extracted the bios and used modbin to look at it, it seemed to open fine, so that means its a award bios right. i can give you a direct link to the HP page. HP D530 SFF v2.43 BIOS download page

it looks just about identical to that BUT mine has a few things different, the only way to see the one i have is to search for 323091-001, but here is a link to the photo of mine. http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg53/madmax_2069/My PC/9e5d_1.jpg

as you can see the battery and SATA isnt in the same place, and a few other things are just a bit different. i do know that the SUPER I/O isnt the same as on a P4SD-LA (there are 4 or 5 flavors of the P4SD-LA but mine are not any on them, Yale, stingray, oxford, cobra and another) mine has a broadcom gigabit ethernet chip for the onboard ethernet. plus if you can see it, on the left side of the mobo nezt to the PCI slot there is a black connector poking out of the side of the mobo, that conector is so you can add 2 more PCI slots (for the D530 CMT)

if it's an award bio the you need these tools for editing prop tool8 rc1.rar
since it opened with modbin it might be Award, but looking in that lost me cause i am not really sure on what to look for
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
will have a look at it on the rig that has the tools loaded will post back with info
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
K.... modbin will load the file but the checksum on the file is incorrect and you can't edit it . might be a bad file.. can you upload a copy of the extracted bios that you opened???
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
thanks
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
still can't get it to work :banghead:
try starting a new thread in motherboards with links back here mabe one of the others can help
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Ram type

What could happen if my change my fundamental memory type from ddr2-sdram to pipeline nibbles, i know from another sources that pipelined nibbles is a extension of EDO RAM.Mean this i can't boot my pc if change of the ddr2-sdram default?.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Frogger thats an la puffer motherboard.My brother gave one to me.I have never seen any1 have any luck with that board.I personally ripped that machine apart and used the hd 160GB and a few other parts.It wont flash to the asus brand.Its soley configure for hp.
W1ZZARD can u put a short tutorial in here.I downloaded ur newest and just dont want to frog my ocz ddr3 up.I mean rly short like 4 or 5 screenshots.Memset is great and i know the speed JDEC recomends,but a short overclock the way u do it would be great<;-}
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
i've shortly found, the minumum sdram access from clock should be like the row precharge time?.

once, i got some broken computers with the spdtool, is there some spd/eepromm reset possible?-
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.34/day)
Likes
132
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
ok when I try to open this it says incompatible sm bus??? I dont really get it it is working on other P45's?? also in dev manager it says I have no sm bus installed but I dont know where to get the drivers??
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
any news on spdtool being updated to support ich10r ? (p45) i cant get it to run

EDIT: NM just seen 0.63 on first page :slap:
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I have read most of this thread but I still cannot figure out what the optimal way of editing my SPD would be.

The situation is as follows: I have two sticks of OCZ XTC Gold PC6400 1GB which don't boot at SPD settings on an Asus P5B. This is really annoying because each time I have to reset the BIOS, I have to put in a stick of Kingston ValueRAM PC5400 alongside it to make it boot so I can make the necessary adjustments to the BIOS.

Anyway, I thought it would be a good idea to edit the SPD of one of these sticks so they boot at 667MHz by default instead of 800MHz. At that setting, they work absolutely fine without any voltage increase.

Currently the timing tables are as follows:
1: 400MHz 5-5-5-15 (and the rest)
2: 333MHz 4-5-5-13
3: 266MHz 3-4-4-10

I would like them to look like this eventually:
1: 333MHz 4-5-5-13
2: 266MHz 3-4-4-10

Right now, I perfectly understand how to edit the current tables but I'm not sure how to remove one completely.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated :) If it helps, I'll post a dump of the SPD contents.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.03/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
Ha this is what I've been waiting for :respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect:
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Spdtool 0.63 is seemingly craptacular. It will not write edited spd data to the memory modules on either my P45 boards or on a nvidia chipset based board I have. If I use spdtool 0.62 on a friends nf570 board I can edit spd data without any issues at all. Heres a nice clipshow of all the errors;
 

Attachments

bnborg

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name Hyper-V-One
Processor Phenom II x4 1090T
Motherboard MSI 870A-G54
Cooling 3 fans & stock HSF
Memory 16 GB DDR3 1333 (G-Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL)
Video Card(s) Two Radeon HD 4650's in Crossfire
Storage 2x 500 GB mirrored & a 1.5 TB all Seagate SATAII
Display(s) 24" Sceptre LCD
Case Ultra clear side
Audio Device(s) onboard AMD HD Audio
Power Supply 600w OCZ
Software Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 Ent., Hyper-V enabled
Thank you for sharing this tool.

I have used it to edit the SPD on three different sets of DDR2, 2G modules.

Too bad the upload feature does not work.