• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The 4800 series Driver, OCing, Cooling and Tweaking Thread

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,918 (3.87/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Think this is safe?
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,358 (0.51/day)
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x8GB GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - 1TB Intel 660p
Display(s) Samsung 27" 144hz Curved 1440P - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case InWin A1+
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Steinburg UR44
Power Supply InWin 650w
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Use the locked setting, and edit table 7, it is a 3D table.

Edit: Those 2D clocks are the improved 2D ones, found on the MSI. I use them, no problems here.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,918 (3.87/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
How do you know which are 3d?
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,358 (0.51/day)
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x8GB GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - 1TB Intel 660p
Display(s) Samsung 27" 144hz Curved 1440P - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case InWin A1+
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Steinburg UR44
Power Supply InWin 650w
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
3D clocks would not work if I didn't set that table to 3D.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,918 (3.87/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-


Bout to save and flash, look good?
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,358 (0.51/day)
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x8GB GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - 1TB Intel 660p
Display(s) Samsung 27" 144hz Curved 1440P - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case InWin A1+
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Steinburg UR44
Power Supply InWin 650w
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Looks good, flash it.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,018 (0.25/day)
Location
New York
System Name Filtration tower
Processor i9 7900@4.4ghz
Motherboard ASRock X299 Taichi
Cooling Air
Memory 64g 3200 quad channel
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500gb Nvme, 200gb SSD, 1700gb HDD
Display(s) 34" Acer Predator 3440x1440
Case Thermaltake v71
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 T2
hey Shadow,, i got similar bios clock settings,, except "clock info 00" i set it to default
625/993 got to work
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
This news is interesting if true about furmark. As I've said before, I do not recommend anyone using this program with a 4800 series card. Things may change with Cat 8.8
source


I know that HD4870 runs very HOT - about 70-79c at idle, how much percentage you can crank up the fan - before you start hearing noise from fan, but with reduce heat from GPU at idle for the card?
I've fixed the fan speed at 35% with a custom CCC profile (it doesn't bother me much, really).
The other thing is a new BIOS with reduced idle GPU voltage, I've flashed, and reapplying tin layer of AS5 to the heat-sink. The final addition was a 120mm side-case silent fan, blowing air straight to the card.
Now, after all this, my idle temps (as viewed in GPU-Z) are 47/58/47° idling and 77/83/76° under the spinning FurMark (way above average game load).

By the way, speaking of FurMark, ATi's driver team obviously decided to axe the notorious "heater" application, by detecting the executable at startup, halving down the performance and thus the heat output, in the latest Catalyst 8.8 beta leak.
Just so lame...
For some who don't know, the issue is the vrm not the gpu.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
127 (0.03/day)
System Name Shadow Warrior
Processor 4670k @ 4.1
Motherboard Asus Z87-C
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 500rpm
Memory 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 280x (Arctic Cooling S1+)
Storage 512GB MX100, 256GB SSD, 13TB WD green and 6TB external
Display(s) Asus MG279Q
Case Antec P180 (2x500rpm fans +modded of course.)
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Antec rm650i
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure
Software Win10 x64 / Win7 x64
They really need to fix this the way it should be fixed with the next series of cards. Better default cooling. Larger heatsinks and larger fans.

3870 was perfect for after market coolers. All you needed to do was to remove the cooler and it left heatsinks for the RAM and the VRM still in place. Now all you had to do was to attach your own cooler for the GPU...
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
@EastoCoast - I actualy agree with this decision. Furmark was way over any normal load that you could achieve in games or benchmarks. Good to heat up the card, but I'm still avoiding it with my 4870 cos I simply don't want it to burn out or something. If it's stable in all games and 3dmarks and similar, it's good enough for me.

@4870 idle BIOS settings - had anyone yet tried flashing with lower voltage and GPU clocks lowered to let's say 200MHz? Like 4850's have..
I've compiled data from all factory BIOS files I could get, and only one had lower voltage in 2D (1.203V) and none had lower than 500MHz GPU in 2D. I believe 200MHz could be fine, and with 1.203V it would be much less power consumption, and thus less heat, but it is really weird noone yet made a BIOS like that. I'm even unaware of home-made BIOS that would be similar to these specs..
As much as I've figured out, you just have to keep GDDR5 clocks always the same, otherwise card gets unstable when changing between 2D & 3D.
If anyone had tried, pls post what were your findings, tnx!
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
@EastoCoast - I actualy agree with this decision. Furmark was way over any normal load that you could achieve in games or benchmarks. Good to heat up the card, but I'm still avoiding it with my 4870 cos I simply don't want it to burn out or something. If it's stable in all games and 3dmarks and similar, it's good enough for me.

@4870 idle BIOS settings - had anyone yet tried flashing with lower voltage and GPU clocks lowered to let's say 200MHz? Like 4850's have..
I've compiled data from all factory BIOS files I could get, and only one had lower voltage in 2D (1.203V) and none had lower than 500MHz GPU in 2D. I believe 200MHz could be fine, and with 1.203V it would be much less power consumption, and thus less heat, but it is really weird noone yet made a BIOS like that. I'm even unaware of home-made BIOS that would be similar to these specs..
As much as I've figured out, you just have to keep GDDR5 clocks always the same, otherwise card gets unstable when changing between 2D & 3D.
If anyone had tried, pls post what were your findings, tnx!
It is my understanding that it's not necessary the GPU clock but the combination of the GPU voltage and memory clock that is contributing to power consumption while idle. If you noticed, the HD 2900 and 3800 series cards down clock in idle (2D mode):
-GPU Clock Rate
-Memory Clock Rate
-GPU voltage
-memory voltage (I believe)
This is not happening with the 4870 cards that I know of. The only thing getting reduced is the GPU clock rate in 2D mode. Memory Clock Rate and GPU voltage remains the same.

If I am correct (and I believe I am at the moment) there is no reason for this what so ever. We may need to start a new thread to verify what is a good bios to flash with lower GPU voltage and memory clock rate in 2D mode only (leave the other 2d mode alone as is) if the driver team doesn't address it IMO. Many have changed bioses to reduce this with no ill effects so we need to pool these people together so we can have 1 unified way of executing this, hassle free. Also, to make sure there are no ill effects when updating from one Cat version to another.
 
Last edited:

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Note:
Has anyone tried auto tune on their 4870 to see if it will go higher then 790? This test may take a while though.

Side Note:
It doesn't appear that auto turn allows you to OC above 790 on a stock/unmodified bios.
 
Last edited:

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.15/day)
Power savings in IDLE (2D) for the HD4870 don't come from lowered GPU clocks, but rather lowered MEMORY clocks.

2D IDLE
Going from 500/900 to 160/900 saves only 1W.
Going from 500/900 to 160/225 saves 39W.

The only problem is that you can't use modified MEMORY clocks in the bios as you will get on-screen flashing as PowerPlay randomly moves from 2D to 3DLP/HP states, and vice versa, even when not gaming.

To take advantage of lower GPU/MEMORY clocks, use the AMD Gpu Clock Tool which allows you to set when you want 2D clocks, and when you want 3DLP/HP clocks, avoiding the random on-screen flashing.

Changing the default voltage of 1.263 to 1.203 in the BIOS for 2D IDLE state resulted in no decrease of power consumption or temperatures. It just isn't working right now for the HD4870....
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Power savings in IDLE (2D) for the HD4870 don't come from lowered GPU clocks, but rather lowered MEMORY clocks.

2D IDLE
Going from 500/900 to 160/900 saves only 1W.
Going from 500/900 to 160/225 saves 39W.

The only problem is that you can't use modified MEMORY clocks in the bios as you will get on-screen flashing as PowerPlay randomly moves from 2D to 3DLP/HP states, and vice versa, even when not gaming.

To take advantage of lower GPU/MEMORY clocks, use the AMD Gpu Clock Tool which allows you to set when you want 2D clocks, and when you want 3DLP/HP clocks, avoiding the random on-screen flashing.

Changing the default voltage of 1.263 to 1.203 in the BIOS for 2D IDLE state resulted in no decrease of power consumption or temperatures. It just isn't working right now for the HD4870....
Interesting, if you reduce the gpu voltage and didn't notice any reduce temps or reduce power consumption then I honestly don't believe your video card was actually at 1.203V.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
System Name Homemade :)
Processor Ryzen 3900X@4.35Ghz
Motherboard Asus X570 Prime Pro
Cooling Alphacool Eisbear 420 + 6x Silent Wings 3
Memory 2x16GB A-Data Gammix D10 3200-15-15-15-31@3733-19-18-18-38 1:1
Video Card(s) Palit GameRock GTX1080Ti +110 core +200 mem
Storage WD SN750 1TB + 3x Crucial MX200 500GB RAID0
Display(s) 4k TV + Benq XL2730Z
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) AIM 808
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 LTSC
It wasn't, because bios voltage changing for 4870 is not working. I don't have a multimeter but from temp readings (tested with AMD GPU Tool changing core and mem frequency) at set fan speed @ 20% (to more easily show differences), setting core frequency lower than 450 did not result in lower temps. On the other hand lowering memory frequency did lower temps. Right down to 250, any lower and I could not get any change in temps. Anyway I found memory speeds lower than 300 to be unstable. In one case where memory was set at 900 and core at 160 the system flipped. I would regularly blackscreen and see artifacts when starting any 3d app. I wonder if voltage is not lowered automaticaly with core clock? Why else would so low core clock result in blackscreen (there was no changing clocks by powerplay since AMD GPU Tool disable that function when started), when I set core to 500 in the same situation the problems wanished.
I read somewhere that 4870 has 4 power states that are used automaticaly when core clock changes. But maybe that was wrong.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
If I am correct (and I believe I am at the moment) there is no reason for this what so ever. We may need to start a new thread to verify what is a good bios to flash with lower GPU voltage and memory clock rate in 2D mode only (leave the other 2d mode alone as is) if the driver team doesn't address it IMO. Many have changed bioses to reduce this with no ill effects so we need to pool these people together so we can have 1 unified way of executing this, hassle free. Also, to make sure there are no ill effects when updating from one Cat version to another.
I'm all for a new thread if there are more people wanting to give their opinion, so we don't choke this thread. Driver team won't do it cos it's fixed in BIOS as much as I know :/

As soon as I get some more tools I'll try to take a BIOS like ASUS TOP, than tweak 2D clocks/voltages lower, plus adjusting fan speeds.. Aiming for a "perfect" all-in-one BIOS solution for all HD4870's problems.

Note:
Has anyone tried auto tune on their 4870 to see if it will go higher then 790? This test may take a while though.
Side Note:
It doesn't appear that auto turn allows you to OC above 790 on a stock/unmodified bios.
No, it drives you to 790/1100, than backs down to 780/1090 cos it notices that it had hit the "wall" but doesn't "know" it's artificaly set by BIOS and not a result of unstable card.
On ASUS TOP/Diamond XOC people confirmed that AutoTune drives them all the way where card is stable (I've seen even 870MHz GPU on one ASUS flashed board, and I think it was 1150MHz memory on XOC flashed one..)

Power savings in IDLE (2D) for the HD4870 don't come from lowered GPU clocks, but rather lowered MEMORY clocks.

2D IDLE
Going from 500/900 to 160/900 saves only 1W.
Going from 500/900 to 160/225 saves 39W.

The only problem is that you can't use modified MEMORY clocks in the bios as you will get on-screen flashing as PowerPlay randomly moves from 2D to 3DLP/HP states, and vice versa, even when not gaming.

To take advantage of lower GPU/MEMORY clocks, use the AMD Gpu Clock Tool which allows you to set when you want 2D clocks, and when you want 3DLP/HP clocks, avoiding the random on-screen flashing.

Changing the default voltage of 1.263 to 1.203 in the BIOS for 2D IDLE state resulted in no decrease of power consumption or temperatures. It just isn't working right now for the HD4870....
I've got some info on memory/voltage. Seems like it's working in SOME BIOS files at very least: BIOS dated 06/17/08, version 113-B50701-105, ATOMBIOSBK-ATI VER011.003.000.001.029335, for a reference board, 1.203V in 2D
First tests on a regular HD4870 by the original poster (The_Firefox) show that a considerable power reduction in 2D can be achieved with the voltage and memory frequency switching supported in this bios:
GPU @ Voltage, MEM freq, VRM (measured in EVEREST)
500 @1.263, 900, ~26A
550 @1.1, 900, ~22A
550 @1.1, 500, ~14.25A
Sooo, lower voltage DOES help in this BIOS (see 1st and 2nd line having same clocks, but 2nd having lower amps cos of lower voltage even though clocks are actually a bit higher). You're right, memory clocks seem to have largest effect. (I'm spekaing under assumption that Everest is monitoring it correctly).

As for 2D/3D flickering... doesn't 4870 have "low 2d"/"high 2d"(or do you call that "low 3d"?)/"full 3d clocks"? So shouldn't card just be swapping between "low 2d"/"high 2D" clocks? And it those are same, there should be no flickering except when going to 3D which is neglible as you're probably looking at loading screen of a game, plus perhaps resoultion changes and other "flickerings" anyway.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,181 (0.24/day)
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
As for 2D/3D flickering... doesn't 4870 have "low 2d"/"high 2d"(or do you call that "low 3d"?)/"full 3d clocks"? So shouldn't card just be swapping between "low 2d"/"high 2D" clocks? And it those are same, there should be no flickering except when going to 3D which is neglible as you're probably looking at loading screen of a game, plus perhaps resoultion changes and other "flickerings" anyway.
I've noticed my 4870 will switch between low and high 3D even when gaming. And at the desktop it will switch between 2d and low 3d power states. The flickering was bothering my eyes so I set all my power states to the same memory clocks. I guess if you really wanna save power and avoid the flickering with a 4870....you could just set the mem clock at 600 in all of the power states and still have a faster memory subsystem then a 4850.
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
The 4870 does have a low 2D mode and a high UVD mode. I would not mess with the high 2D mode just the low 2D mode using lower gpu and memory clocks and lower gpu voltage. The problem is that the voltage for all is still 1.263V.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,875 (0.44/day)
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
The 4870 does have a low 2D mode and a high UVD mode. I would not mess with the high 2D mode just the low 2D mode using lower gpu and memory clocks and lower gpu voltage. The problem is that the voltage for all is still 1.263V.
You sure this is from the AMD Over Drive program,notice the 450mhz low 2d and the volts,Also when the 3d kicks in it goes to 1.276 volts.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
In case someone missed it - new "low 2D" thread is over here.. I mean, I've missed it so I'm hoping I'm not the only "blind" person around :D
 

Bingo the Clown

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
System Name Bob
Processor AMD X2 4800+
Motherboard ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe
Cooling TT Big Typhoon + 4x 80mm case fans.
Memory 4Gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4850 Stock cooling (for the moment)
Storage Seagate SATA II 320Gb 7200.10
Display(s) Phillips 109B5
Case Antec Mid
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Software Vista Home Premium SP1 64bit
Vreg heatsink pin to pin measurement

Does anyone happen to know off the top of their head the exact measurement from pin to pin of the Vreg heatsink on a 4850?
I'm looking for a readymade HS if i can find one with the same pin to pin (mounting) holes

Thanks for any info.

Bingo
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,358 (0.51/day)
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x8GB GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - 1TB Intel 660p
Display(s) Samsung 27" 144hz Curved 1440P - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case InWin A1+
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Steinburg UR44
Power Supply InWin 650w
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
I would say 1.5 inches, don't know exact...I doubt you will find a aftermarket one, but you never know. Just get a pack of Zalman heatsinks, it comes with 4 big ones, and 4 normal sized ones.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Well I installed Crysis again and played it for a few minutes at very high just to see how it ran and I got a driver reset about 5 minutes into the game......wondering if that's from unstable memory or GPU...I haven't put my sinks on a few memory chips yet (water block is in the way from GPUs)......
That's at 750/1125 AFAIK. I'm stable in everything else...
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.29/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
You sure this is from the AMD Over Drive program,notice the 450mhz low 2d and the volts,Also when the 3d kicks in it goes to 1.276 volts.
I wasn't talking about amd over drive program. There is no option for 2d low/uvd/3d. I was talking about the bios settings using RBE.
 
Top