• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada
Processor AMD Opteron 165 (stock)
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D
Cooling 1*120mm in, 1*120mm out, 120mm ps
Memory OCZ Platinium EL Rev.2 DDR400 2*512Mb (2-2-2-5-1T)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon x800 gto2 256mb vga-dvi
Storage Seagate Baraccuda 7200.9 80Gb SATA2
Display(s) Sceptre P73V CRT (17in)
Case Antec slk3000b
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Antec TruePower2 550W
Software Windows XP Pro x64 edition
yay it worked! thanks infrared! you rock!:toast:
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
awsome! Good job, enjoy ;)
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2006
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
ShadowFlare said:
For the vivo + dual dvi version, it would be better if someone would send me their bios for that and then I could do the same mod on that bios.
Here is the Original Bios for Sapphire X800GTO2, Dual DVI, VIVO, Red PCB and power socket.

I hope U can help me to mod it...TQ
 

Attachments

Last edited:

dwaned

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2006
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Hey infrared, got a PCI graphic's card and managed to get my own card up and running again:) Thank you so much for your help.

Is there any point in me trying to flash my card again??? What bios should I use if I do try again???


Thanks again, your definately the best mod I've ever dealth with...:toast:
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
Thanks :D Glad it's workin again. The bios should have worked, so you might have just had a bad flash. You can give it another try if you like, if you can get 16 pipes working, it would be awsome!

~IR :)
 

J1M

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi all,

Could i active 16pipes with this graphic card? Shappire X800 GTO 256Mb AGP ... an image, and my actually bios:


http://perso.wanadoo.es/j1m/Shappire_x800_GTO_AGP_256.zip


Ill try to make like said in mod post but im only get an error and a black screen... fortunatelly ive restored my real bios and all OK .....:respect:

I think one change must be done in my bios, but i dont know how... if i get a modified bios (for my card... not for GTO2 (now ive learned it xDDD)) im only have to put:

flashrom -p -f -newbios 0 bios.bin

right???

thanks in advance :)
 

J1M

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Done with a bios found in this post! :)

And OC: 400@435/980@1000

It isnt a big OCable board but is a greaat diference betwen before and after! :D

regards
 

dwaned

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2006
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Hi Infrared, got it flashed:) Thank you.Now have 16 pipelines:)

I'm having problems with my video drivers, should I update the x800 or the x850t?

Thanks again
 

meridimus

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi Guys,

I bought this card in the UK from Overclockers.co.uk and was amazed to find that it was an exact r480 chip WITH the RAGE THEATRE CHIP!!! It had 16 pipelines active out of the box.

I have overclocks of 550 and 600(1200) on my card. I did buy an arctic cooling fan though and it's just the most awesome thing I've ever spent £110 on!!

If you get an arctic cooler get the one for the X850 Pro or whatever.
 

kohan69

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
59 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
A better bios for Connect3D x800 gto

SOme of my posts are a few hundred pages back. ;)

problem when overclocked for long while:


my wallpaper;


Well, this is what my screen looked like once.
I was playing a game, and it froze and went black, so I alt+trl+del -ed
And the funny thing is that my PC was still working fine. The sounds were there, and I could blindly run programs.


I shut-down, and I could see that blu bar moving, (the win2k loading bar) as it was shtting down.

When I restarted, The red msg poppup up that the power cable was disconnected. But it wasn't. So I reconnected it.

And recently, It happend again. The screen went black, and floze and the last 1/3 of the second of sound looped.

i was not overclocked either of those times.




Wondering if I could flas my Connect 3D x800 GTO at 16 pipelines w/ 2.0ns ram and atirage chip to some other bios, rather than the modded connect3d 16pipe one

:thankyou:
 

hntr

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi I'm new here,I read your posts and i thing that U can help me a lot.
i have a sapphire x800 gto 256/256 PCI-E and in ATI TOOL i have "f" in proper places so my card is moddable.
I flashed it with a following bioses:
first one is my orginal bios
PCI-E Sapphire X800 GTO samsung 1,6 (12 pipelines) 400/900 ||| 4468 - 3dMARK2005
AGP Sapphire X800 GTO samsung 1,6 (16 pipelines) 400/900 ||| 5098 - 3dMARK2005
PCI-E Sapphire X800 XL samsung 2,0 (16 pipelines) 400/900 ||| 5110 - 3dMARK2005
PCI-E Sapphire X800 GTO2 samsung 1,6 (16 pipelines) 400/900 ||| 5049 - 3dMARK2005
all were working correclty - even the AGP one
i tired with a few x850 XT and x800XT bioses but after flashing i had only black screen or some artefacts and bad pixels on my deskop.
Is there a posiibility to flash it to an upper VGA or do you have some bioses which will be working better on my card?
sorry for my broken English.
greatings to all
 

Scatman

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
R430 to R480 core..is it worth it?

Hello people, Today is my first day on this forum, and after reading the threads on the X800GTO2 overclocking etc i have some questions that i would be very grateful if you could help me with.
I have just purchased a Sapphire x800gto2 card, with dual dvi, vivo and the rage theatre chip on the back. I removed the heatsink as soon as buying the card to change the thermal paste to a higher performance one and i noticed that it has a R480 core. On using ATI Tool, i can see that it has 16 pipelines in use, and i have succesfully clocked the card to 520/570 without any bios updates or changes at all. It runs at about 55 degrees C and has had some hard use (10 hour sessions on Battlefield 2).
The questions i have are..ATI Tools reports the chip as being an R430, and i would like to know would there be any more performance gains if the chip were reported as an R480?
And if there are gains to be had, what bios would i have to flash it with?
I have read somewhere that someone said that the performance increased when the chip was reported correctly as an R480, but is that performance purely the change from 12 pipelines to 16, or is it some more performance again that i can squeeze out of this already great card

Thanks in advance
Confused :)
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
542 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ 2.0 GHz, max 2.6 GHz with Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu
Motherboard EpoX 9NPA+Ultra nForce4 Ultra with Zalman ZM-NB47J
Cooling All Zalman heatsinks (CNPS7000B-AlCu, ZM-NB47J, VF700-Cu)
Memory 1 GB (2x512 MB) DDR400 Corsair XMS C2 series, max 233 MHz @ 2-3-2-9 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X800GTO2 256 MB PCIe max 540/600, modded to 16 pipes
Storage Seagate 80GB SATA, Maxtor 160GB PATA, Maxtor 200GB PATA
Display(s) Dell 17" Trinitron CRT
Case Lian Li PC-60B Plus
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek chip
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE, 485 watts, active PFC
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows XP Pro x64, Windows Vista RC1 32-bit
Scatman said:
Hello people, Today is my first day on this forum, and after reading the threads on the X800GTO2 overclocking etc i have some questions that i would be very grateful if you could help me with.
I have just purchased a Sapphire x800gto2 card, with dual dvi, vivo and the rage theatre chip on the back. I removed the heatsink as soon as buying the card to change the thermal paste to a higher performance one and i noticed that it has a R480 core. On using ATI Tool, i can see that it has 16 pipelines in use, and i have succesfully clocked the card to 520/570 without any bios updates or changes at all. It runs at about 55 degrees C and has had some hard use (10 hour sessions on Battlefield 2).
The questions i have are..ATI Tools reports the chip as being an R430, and i would like to know would there be any more performance gains if the chip were reported as an R480?
And if there are gains to be had, what bios would i have to flash it with?
I have read somewhere that someone said that the performance increased when the chip was reported correctly as an R480, but is that performance purely the change from 12 pipelines to 16, or is it some more performance again that i can squeeze out of this already great card

Thanks in advance
Confused :)
I think there may only be a performance change from going between R423 and R480 in the bios.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2005
Messages
89 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
OC
System Name Intel Xtreem Rig
Processor QX6850
Motherboard ASUS P5KE
Cooling Custom water cool
Memory 4gigs Teem Xtreem DDR2 800mhz 4-4-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI HD2900XT
Storage x2 WD250g SATA2 16mb
Display(s) SCEPTRE 22'w
Case Acrylic
Audio Device(s) ASUS HD 8.1
Power Supply OCZ Modstream 850W
Software Vista Ultimate(legit)
who here holds the record for the fastest GTO2??? mine only hit 520/606 =(
 

Clocked

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
285 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Location
Toronto
System Name Evil Eye POS
Processor Intell Q6600 G0 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling DangerDen/SwiftTech water cooling
Memory 4GB OCZ SLI 800mhz @ 1260mhz
Video Card(s) 8800GTX x 2
Storage WD Raptor74GB in RAID/ 160GB Maxtor/ 80GB WD
Display(s) Samsung 740n 17"
Case SunBeam Evil Eye
Audio Device(s) Onboard POS
Power Supply PC Power n Cooling 1000W
Software XP Home/Vista Pro
mine is stable at 560/630...
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
585/642, but i'm gonna bump the vcore up to 1.6v soon, hopefully i'll exceed 650/642

I get 7300 in 3dmark05, with enhanced 1.6ns timings @ 595mhz mem, 7200 with stock timings @ 630

btw, mine is the old revision that required unlocking from 12 pipes.

EDIT: LOL, clocked,... having the same avarta is confusing as hell when i'm browsing the forums :D Keep it tho, i don't mind
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2005
Messages
89 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
OC
System Name Intel Xtreem Rig
Processor QX6850
Motherboard ASUS P5KE
Cooling Custom water cool
Memory 4gigs Teem Xtreem DDR2 800mhz 4-4-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI HD2900XT
Storage x2 WD250g SATA2 16mb
Display(s) SCEPTRE 22'w
Case Acrylic
Audio Device(s) ASUS HD 8.1
Power Supply OCZ Modstream 850W
Software Vista Ultimate(legit)
My ol MSI let me up the voltage in the bios, but now I have a ASUS and it wont let me. Infared, did u have to do a voltmod or sumtin to hit those speeds?? damm
 

Clocked

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
285 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Location
Toronto
System Name Evil Eye POS
Processor Intell Q6600 G0 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling DangerDen/SwiftTech water cooling
Memory 4GB OCZ SLI 800mhz @ 1260mhz
Video Card(s) 8800GTX x 2
Storage WD Raptor74GB in RAID/ 160GB Maxtor/ 80GB WD
Display(s) Samsung 740n 17"
Case SunBeam Evil Eye
Audio Device(s) Onboard POS
Power Supply PC Power n Cooling 1000W
Software XP Home/Vista Pro
lol...

Infrared, what are ur "enhanced 1.6ns timings"

my GTO2 is RMAed..... was running 600/630 for too long lol.... using my bud's 6800GS for now... i want my GTO2!!
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
Oo_Skyline_oO said:
who here holds the record for the fastest GTO2??? mine only hit 520/606 =(
mine isn't a record, but i'm pretty proud considering its in an emachines :laugh:

it's at 575/613 stable, although i've benchmarked at 580/620
 

Shens

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
i have a sapphire x800gto2 which already has 16 pipes open - i have the clock speeds set at 410/500 - I was wondering how much more i can up this without causing any damage to my graphics card whatsoever - i dont really want to use ati tool's find max clocks as i fear it may cause damage to the card


im using the fan that came with the card.

thanks
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2005
Messages
89 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
OC
System Name Intel Xtreem Rig
Processor QX6850
Motherboard ASUS P5KE
Cooling Custom water cool
Memory 4gigs Teem Xtreem DDR2 800mhz 4-4-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI HD2900XT
Storage x2 WD250g SATA2 16mb
Display(s) SCEPTRE 22'w
Case Acrylic
Audio Device(s) ASUS HD 8.1
Power Supply OCZ Modstream 850W
Software Vista Ultimate(legit)
Shens, if you remove your heatsnik, I think you'll be suprized of the quality they made it our of. and as long as you don't overheat your graphics hard, no damage will really be done. Compared to my x800's stock cooler, I'm hitting 70c overclocked. on my stock GTO2, I never get above 55c oc'd
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
ATI rates the chips at an absolute maximum of 120c before serious damage is done, and i've been close to that a few times by forgetting i'd turned the fan off, no damage done. Just set the fan @ 100% and keep an eye on the temperature, and when/if it exceeds 80, stop overclocking. But ATITool should find errors before that point anyway.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2005
Messages
89 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
OC
System Name Intel Xtreem Rig
Processor QX6850
Motherboard ASUS P5KE
Cooling Custom water cool
Memory 4gigs Teem Xtreem DDR2 800mhz 4-4-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI HD2900XT
Storage x2 WD250g SATA2 16mb
Display(s) SCEPTRE 22'w
Case Acrylic
Audio Device(s) ASUS HD 8.1
Power Supply OCZ Modstream 850W
Software Vista Ultimate(legit)
yea, and when your playing games, your absolute max clocks mite have artifacts cos the card is too hot, so if I dont have proper cooling, what I usually do is se it about 5-10mhz lower on both memory and gpu of its max, till I get proper cooling, btw infrared, you seem like a frikin pro at this. How long u been oc'ing, and how old are you(if its not too personal)
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
lol, thanks Skyline :D

I'm 17 years old, and have always been intested in the hardware of computers and overclocking them :) In comparison to some elders on the forum, i'm fairly new to the scene of overclocking, but i seem to learn things, and gain experience very quickly. I'm very daring when it comes to voltmods and such, but like to make sure i understand completely what i'm doing before trying it.

I just wish i had a well paid part time job while i'm in college, so i could afford to mess with high end cooling, and better hardware, but then again, who doesn't.

Btw, for those interested in trying out the enhanced timings for the x800gto2, here they are:

TRCDRD: 7
TRCDWR: 3
TRP: 5
TRAS: 13
TRRD: 4
TWR: 6
TR2W: CL+2
TW2R: 4
TW2R_SAME_BANK: use TWR rule
TR2R: 2
WR: 1.5
CAS: 7
CMD: 0
STR: WR latency
REFRESH RATE: 0x75
TRFC: 23

Using these will lower the maximum memory clock by about 40mhz, but you will gain 100-200 points in 3dmark05. Set your cards clocks back to default before applying these, then do the find maxes again. I've fiddled with these timings a lot, and everything i've tried resulted in lower scores. At the moment i'm trying to find the timing that has the biggest impact on mhz, the loosen it off a bit, which should help. I'll post if i find anything better anyway. Thanks go to Trog for originally posting these timings.

The default timings are as follows:

TRCDRD: 7
TRCDWR: 4
TRP: 6
TRAS: 14
TRRD: 5
TWR: 7
TR2W: CL+3
TW2R: 3
TW2R_SAME_BANK: use TWR rule
TR2R: 2
WR: 1.5
CAS: 7
CMD: 0
STR: WR latency
REFRESH RATE: 0x3B
TRFC: 27

Post your results ;)
 

Shens

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
hey again - my card (sapphire x800gto2) for some reason has the x850xt stock cooler supposedly (it has the fan which is covered by a shell which blows the air out of the back of the pc

under no load whatsoever with speeds of 415/510 my card runs at between 33-35 degrees c.

however when i search for artifacts it jumps rather quickly to between 55-58 degrees c.

would searching for artifacts be classed as a high load? or just normal? playing world of warcraft jumps my temperature to about 40-44 degrees c

i am just wondering how much more i can give this card without hurting it.