• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

galeuk

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
I have some news !!

SLi is ok with 190.62 drivers + sli string + slipatch 0.7a
SLi NOT ok with 195.xx or 196.xx + sli string + slipatch 0.7a

Edit :
3d mark vintage :
Single : P5360 CPU 18226 GPU 4339
SLi : P9559 CPU 18179 GPU 8254

Wahhhou !

It's good but now i would like to canhave the lastest driver for have more performance and more sli support !

How can i do ?
 
Last edited:

galeuk

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
I have installed 196.x over the 190.x and i loose SLi... i don't understand why... With old driver all is ok. With lastest SLi is not activated

and i re install 190.62 and all is ok....

May be there is a protection in 196 serie drivers..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.30/day)
I have installed 196.x over the 190.x and i loose SLi... i don't understand why... With old driver all is ok. With lastest SLi is not activated

and i re install 190.62 and all is ok....

May be there is a protection in 196 serie drivers..

what's your system specs?
 

galeuk

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Asus P7P55D LE
CHipset P55
Intel i7 860
4GB Ram
2 x 9600GT (16x + 4x)
WIn7 x64 + StingSLi + Slipatch 0.7a
With 190.62 drivers all is ok. If i install lastest drivers, impossible to activate SLi.
 

Darrenm72

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
I went through this process last night http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30 and everything went OK got SLI on the boot screen.

Then I enabled SLI with Nvidia Control Panel just to be on the safe side.

Then this afternoon when i boot my PC screen resolution went west and aero peek in windows wouldn't work and Nvidia control panel would not open?

If you need anymore information from me so that you could help please advize and i'll attach some pictures
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.30/day)
Asus P7P55D LE
CHipset P55
Intel i7 860
4GB Ram
2 x 9600GT (16x + 4x)
WIn7 x64 + StingSLi + Slipatch 0.7a
With 190.62 drivers all is ok. If i install lastest drivers, impossible to activate SLi.

i've heard P55 supports SLI
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.30/day)
I went through this process last night http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30 and everything went OK got SLI on the boot screen.

Then I enabled SLI with Nvidia Control Panel just to be on the safe side.

Then this afternoon when i boot my PC screen resolution went west and aero peek in windows wouldn't work and Nvidia control panel would not open?

If you need anymore information from me so that you could help please advize and i'll attach some pictures

attach please
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.04/day)
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7

Darrenm72

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
I've done a fresh install of windows 7 x64 and i will go through the process again when the SLI bridge connection comes.

These are the drivers i have so far
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 445

Darrenm72

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
PC and Cooling Silencer 610
Abit Motherboard AX78
Athlon 64 X2 5400+ BLACK EDITION 2.8 Ghz
Artic Cooling 64 Pro
Geil 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 PC2-6400 800Mhz EVO ONE
2 x XFX GeForce 8800 GS 384MB DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI 580 Mhz
NEC Optiarc AD-7201S 20x Internal DVDRW Lightscribe
Zalman GS1000 Titanium Professional Full Tower ATX Case
2 x Western Digital 250GB Caviar SE16 SATA II 300 7200rpm 16MB cache Hard Disk Drive ATI 2+0 Stripe/RAID0
Windows 7 Ultimate X64
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.30/day)
PC and Cooling Silencer 610
Abit Motherboard AX78
Athlon 64 X2 5400+ BLACK EDITION 2.8 Ghz
Artic Cooling 64 Pro
Geil 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 PC2-6400 800Mhz EVO ONE
2 x XFX GeForce 8800 GS 384MB DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI 580 Mhz
NEC Optiarc AD-7201S 20x Internal DVDRW Lightscribe
Zalman GS1000 Titanium Professional Full Tower ATX Case
2 x Western Digital 250GB Caviar SE16 SATA II 300 7200rpm 16MB cache Hard Disk Drive ATI 2+0 Stripe/RAID0
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

strange problem. have you run installsli.cmd from cmd or not? did you have UAC disabled?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.06/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,843 (8.36/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
so that means, when youre running on manual fan control, or even a 12v molex, nothing can happen? if the problem only exists during automatic mode?

you win a: nothing.

but you were right.
 

Darrenm72

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
strange problem. have you run installsli.cmd from cmd or not? did you have UAC disabled?

UAC disabled, but as running installsli.cmd I didn't do it from cmd I just clicked on the icon in the download package. Which brought up the black command screen is there a difference.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.06/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
you win a: nothing.

but you were right.

:laugh:
alright, then i will stay on the driver. i always use manual, because i dont like sudden roaring,or the sound of rushing air, during gaming
 

Darrenm72

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Ok i'm about to try and install SLi again, after fitting coolers to graphics cards, but before I do could you please tell me i'm doing it the right way. Thanks

1. I run this first Windows 7 64bit SLI Patch, version 0.7a, Reboot PC and during reboot select SLI enabled system and boot it

2. Then run SLI String installer v.2.0

3. Press ASUS, regardless of real motherboard vendor, to patch Windows registry with SLIC certificate

now I go to Section C as i'm running windows 7 64 bit

4. Disable UAC (Does UAC have to be enabled while going through steps 1-3, as I have already disabled UAC)

5. Copy modified driver file from bottom of article to c:/windows/system32/drivers
 

Attachments

  • 100_0527.jpg
    100_0527.jpg
    196.1 KB · Views: 404
  • 100_0531.jpg
    100_0531.jpg
    195 KB · Views: 351
  • 100_0532.jpg
    100_0532.jpg
    194.3 KB · Views: 333
  • 100_0534.jpg
    100_0534.jpg
    203.1 KB · Views: 367

oiluj

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (G0)
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (Intel P35)
Cooling Zalman CNPS8700 LED
Memory 4GB: Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 2x2GB kit
Video Card(s) 2x nVidia 8800GT in SLI (YES, I said "in SLI" with a P35 chipset!!)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150GB + 2x WD CaviarBlue 500GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226CW + LG Flatron F900P
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Analog Devices AD1988B HD-Audio (Integrated)
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Darrenm72, you have a real mess in your mind or my english is not good enough to understand you.

All you have to do is:

1.- Install Windows 7 x64
2.- Disable UAC
3.- Download and unzip in a folder the SLI Patch 0.7a (for Windows 7 x64)
4.- Open a Command Prompt window with Administrator Rights (type 'cmd' at "Start" menu, right click and select "Run as administrator")
5.- In the Command Prompt window, move to the folder where you unzipped the patch files and run 'installSLI.cmd' by typing it and pressing 'Intro'.
6.- Now you can see if everything is OK. If so, reboot, go to nVidia Control Panel and activate SLI.

SLI Patch 0.7a DOESN'T need any "SLI string installing", nor copying any modified drivers files.
 

Darrenm72

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Here are some attachments to see if I have done it right. Also if at any time I need to uninstalled I just reverse the process using cmd and 'uninstallSLI.cmd'
 

Attachments

  • SLI.jpg
    SLI.jpg
    40.6 KB · Views: 451

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.04/day)
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Here are some attachments to see if I have done it right. Also if at any time I need to uninstalled I just reverse the process using cmd and 'uninstallSLI.cmd'

Yes I would say you have it done correct. :)
Yes to the other question as well.

Have fun gaming & try some benchmarks, maybe post some scores without & with sil enabled. ;)
 
Top