• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

The Unofficial guide for overclocking the AMD64 line.

Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,527 (1.12/day)
Likes
6,075
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
45c is good for an overclocked CPU. 55c is what I'd call "the limit" (if you want to push your luck).

A 5000+ BE shouldn't make too much heat (but don't quote me on that).

When a processor is "rated" for a temperature, that's more like the maximum temperature it will handle before it shuts down. What we're talking about when we say "45c" is more like the maximum temperature you should try to keep it at. The hotter something runs, the shorter it's lifespan is (and the more errors it will produce when stressed). That's not to say that it won't run at 70c, it's just that it shouldn't.
 
Last edited:

JBolho

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Portugal
System Name JBPC
Processor AMD AthlonX2 5200+ @ 2.86Ghz
Motherboard Asus M2N-E (nForce570 Ultra)
Cooling CoolerMaster Gemini II
Memory 4GB DDR2 @ 818Mhz (2Gb Kingston-667 128bit + 2Gb Corsair XMS2-800 128bit)
Video Card(s) ATI RadeonHD 2600XT DDR4 @ 845Mhz(GPU)/2300Mhz(RAM)
Storage WD Raptor 36GB 10000rpm 8Mb + Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7200rpm 8Mb
Display(s) Asus VW222 (22'' widescreen LCD 16:10)
Case Replica of 2007's HP Desktop PC's
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy2 24bit and Creative X-Fi X-MOD
Power Supply 420W Silent
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 x86
Benchmark Scores 29.6s on SuperPI mod 1.4 11424 on 3DMark 05
Hi there, i have two little big questions...
I have an SKT AM2 AthlonX2 5200+ (2.6Ghz) that although it runs smoothly leaves me without answer on these:
1: everytime i change the vid manually on the mobo bios, even if its the factory standard, the pc does not boot. (overclock or not, it only boots with this on "auto")
2: on vista i cant get past 2.86Ghz without getting a blue screen sooner or later but under XP SP2 it goes all the way up to +/- 3Ghz, can someone give me an explanation other than "vista sucks"?
(check my system specs if you need)

PS: this is a suggestion taken from personal experience:

when overclocking your CPU on the FSB, if you use decent heat dissipation on the mems, you don't have to lower their speed and can even increase it to the next type (for example if you have DDR2 667, you can increase it to DDR2 800, put an extra 0.05v on the mem voltage and voila...)
I know because i did it on mine... (Kingston DDR2-667 ECC 128bit with Titan Copper Heatsink at 1.85v and 818Mhz, cool as an iceberg)
 

gtoforce

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon FX-60 @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8R32MVP-Deluxe
Cooling TT Golden Orb II + Arctic Cooling Mx-2
Memory Mushkin 3 x 1gb DDR400 Value Ram
Video Card(s) 2x Asus EAX1950PRO 256mb 256bit
Storage 400GB Seagate NL32.5 SATAII
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case CoolerMaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply FSP Epsilon GLN600FX + FSP BoosterX3 300w
Software MS Windows Vista Business 32bit
Benchmark Scores X1950PRO Crossfire 3dMark 06 - Default - 7234
Great Guide but failed my FX-60

I have this system

CPU: AMD Athlon FX-60 2.60ghz (939)
MB: Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe
GPU: 2x 1950pro
RAM: Mushkin 3gb Value Ram DDR400
PSU:FSP Epsilon 600w + FSP Booster X3
HDD:3x HDD
Optical Drives: 3x Opticals

Everything of the MOBO is updated to the latest
ASUS Cool n Quiet Latest
AMD Cool n Quiet Latest
Bios Update (August 2007 was the latest)

i have a problem with OC'ing my FX-60
they said i could just adjust the multiplier without adjusting the ram cuz its unlocked right?
however, somethings just do not make sense

theres something wrong with the motherboard o0r the bios i think
whenever i OC, even just add 5mhz to the FSB, the system will boot and say "Overclocking failed, press f1 to enter setup or press f2 to load default settings and continue"
whats that?
oh and another thing
even if i dont oc, that is i just leave the bios at its stock stage, the system will boot and say
"Overclocking failed, press f1 to enter setup or press f2 to load default settings and continue"

any ideas?
i cant increase the vcore, fsb or whatever because the system will either wont boot which i have to remove the battery or just reboot normally with "Overclocking failed, press f1 to enter setup or press f2 to load default settings and continue"
dont even start with memory tweaking on the numbers linked with TCD, TRCD etc...

still, im not new to OC as i OC my DFI P-965 Dark successfully to 2.8ghz with my P2D E2140 @ 1.6ghz (with some help on the ram dept cuz i have no idea how to determine the settings for memory)
what do u think?
 
Last edited:

gtoforce

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon FX-60 @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8R32MVP-Deluxe
Cooling TT Golden Orb II + Arctic Cooling Mx-2
Memory Mushkin 3 x 1gb DDR400 Value Ram
Video Card(s) 2x Asus EAX1950PRO 256mb 256bit
Storage 400GB Seagate NL32.5 SATAII
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case CoolerMaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply FSP Epsilon GLN600FX + FSP BoosterX3 300w
Software MS Windows Vista Business 32bit
Benchmark Scores X1950PRO Crossfire 3dMark 06 - Default - 7234
btw im using TT Golden Orb II and Arctic Cooling MX-2 for cooling
so nothing has been detected on the heat dept so far
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
So I got a 5000+ BE and have a question about the temps, in the main post is says keep the temps under 45c at max load, but from the AMD site it says the max temps are 55-68c and in another thread I read Brisbanes are rated at 72c, so my question is, how safe is it to go about 45c at full load during stability testing?
45c is cpu socket temp. 68c is core temp. Just keep your cpu (socket) temp under 45c and you should be fine.:)
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
thank you very much! i have just increased my 5000+ from 2.6 standard to 2.73 in a matter of minutes, and its running stable and ready for more! thank you!
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
I use Orthos to stress test my PC for overclocking, blend stress at priority 9, and I was wondering how I would know if an error that happens was RAM related or would that require me to do a run with memtest?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
i have a sempry LE-1100 and an asus m2v-mx se board, there is no option in the bios to change the fsb. What can i do now
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
Did you try hitting CTRL+F1?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
Haven't but i will right now, i'll let you know in a minute
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
didn't work, probably can't change the FSB huh? I can change my HTT, memory timings, multiplyer, but not the FSB
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
didn't work, probably can't change the FSB huh? I can change my HTT, memory timings, multiplyer, but not the FSB
Something doesn't seem right with that.... If you have those options, you should have a FSB option. I may be called something else, look for something with the number 200 in it.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
i'll check again and let ya know, but i'm pretty sure there's nothing like that. If i knew how to do a screen shot of my bios, i'd show ya. All right here is what i got:

Advanced Settings
A.1 CPU Configuration
A.2 AMD Overclocking Configuration
A.2a Processor Freq. Multiplier
A.2b Processor Volt.
A.3 Runtime Legacy PSB
A.4 Cool N Quiet
B.Chipset
B.1 Memory Controller
B.1a Memory Configuration
-Memclock mode
-CAS Latency
-TRCD
-TRP
-TRAS
-Command Timing (2T mode)
-MCT timing mode
-bank interleaving
-Enable clock to all DIMMS
-Memclock Tristate C3/ATLVID
-Memory Hole Remapping
B.2 AGP Bridge
B.3 SouthBridge
B.4 Hyper Transport Configuration
 
Last edited:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
A.2 should be were its at
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
A.2a(Processor Freq. Multiplier) and A.2b(Processor Volt.) is all that's in the AMD Overclocking Configuration 9.5 is the highest i can go on the multiplier, but still, there is nothing to change the FSB
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
whats under a1.cpu config
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
Here ya go

Here are some screen shots of my bios
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
anyone
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
I'm guessing the motherboard does not have a very overclockable BIOS.

My ASUS Motherboards all had the Jumperfree setting options which had all the tweaks to overclock the CPU.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
it's an ASUS board
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Yes it is an ASUS board.:laugh:

Which is why I stated all my ASUS boards had a Jumperfree setting, implying ASUS motherboard may not have this function due to the fact it's overclocking abilities are simply limited in what they can do.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
45c is cpu socket temp. 68c is core temp. Just keep your cpu (socket) temp under 45c and you should be fine.:)
so you can have a burning core and a socket temp of 45c and be fine? nah... I believe the core temperature is important.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
so you can have a burning core and a socket temp of 45c and be fine? nah... I believe the core temperature is important.
I believe there should be a poll on this.

Who follow socket temp and who follow core temp when overclocking.

My CPU used to run at high core temperatures and never skipped a beat.
My socket temp had always been a fair bit lower.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
806 (0.21/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon RoG RX 480 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX 850
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
aaronJohn, If you're having problems overclocking the answer to your problem is really quite simple: You have Cool n Quiet enabled in the BIOS, that messes up any overclocked settings you try, disable it and try again. Asus boards actually OC quite well, at least my M3A does.


oops just realized that last post was 6 months ago.. sorry
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,527 (1.12/day)
Likes
6,075
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
aaronJohn, If you're having problems overclocking the answer to your problem is really quite simple: You have Cool n Quiet enabled in the BIOS, that messes up any overclocked settings you try, disable it and try again. Asus boards actually OC quite well, at least my M3A does.
Chuck is right. Cool and Quiet usually does not play well with overclocking. Disable it and continue your overclocking adventure.